• Record Label: Polydor
  • Release Date: Jun 29, 2010
User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 46 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 46
  2. Negative: 1 out of 46

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 11, 2016
    10
    One of the 21st century's finest pop records. Stuart Price and the Sisters are a match made in pop heaven. From start to finish it's a thrilling piece of work. It has pop, rock, dance. euphoria, funk and electronica, the lyrics are clever, funny, cheeky, moving and down-right catchy. It's filled with melody, dance-ability, strong vocals and non-stop likeability. It's modern, yet highlyOne of the 21st century's finest pop records. Stuart Price and the Sisters are a match made in pop heaven. From start to finish it's a thrilling piece of work. It has pop, rock, dance. euphoria, funk and electronica, the lyrics are clever, funny, cheeky, moving and down-right catchy. It's filled with melody, dance-ability, strong vocals and non-stop likeability. It's modern, yet highly nostalgic, but never feels unoriginal. An epic pop album that deserves to sell a billion copies. Expand
  2. Apr 29, 2012
    8
    Scissor Sisters have given us the album of their career, and quite possibly one of the best pop albums of the last decade.You want pop? You want rock? You want funk? You want dance? You want electronica? Well here it is. All on one disc. Stuart Price and the Scisstors have made a pop masterpiece.
  3. May 25, 2011
    10
    I don't usually like the scissor sisters and found their previous albums dire but after hearing 'any which way' I downloaded this and was not disappointed - it was amazing. So I checked out their previous albums and now I'm an avid fan. LOVE.
  4. Aug 28, 2010
    10
    This CD brought me back 20 years ago. It sounds like Thompson Twins, Journey, Styx, Prince, Erasure, etc...It's allover the place but immensely original at the same time. You have to listen in a close environment so you can appreciate every sound. Certainly a MAJOR album...Bravo!
  5. EvanS
    Jul 1, 2010
    7
    The toughest thing facing Scissor Sisters is that it was released on the heels of Robyn's Pt 1. Side by side, Robyn wins by a landslide. Scissor Sisters is a downright dopey glitter bomb, but it's great fun.
  6. AndyC
    Jul 1, 2010
    10
    Pure perfection. This CD is the pop fix I have been anxiously awaiting for the past 10 years. Lady GaGa aside, the lack of good pop hooks in mainstream music is a crime. Night Work delivers the hooks in spades. With tempered beats, synth lines, and Shears' vocals, this album feels like a blend of Bee Gees, Human League, Pet Shop Boys, Frankie Goes to Hollywood, disco-glam, and a dash Pure perfection. This CD is the pop fix I have been anxiously awaiting for the past 10 years. Lady GaGa aside, the lack of good pop hooks in mainstream music is a crime. Night Work delivers the hooks in spades. With tempered beats, synth lines, and Shears' vocals, this album feels like a blend of Bee Gees, Human League, Pet Shop Boys, Frankie Goes to Hollywood, disco-glam, and a dash of rock opera. My only issue with Night Work, is that I cannot seem to stop listening to it. I guess I'm just a hopeless addict. Collapse
  7. Frankie
    Jun 29, 2010
    10
    Impeccable production to fill the dark, glittery discoball that was just needing that extra depth to propel them into Studio 54 instead of waiting in the queue!!!
  8. SteveB.
    Jun 29, 2010
    10
    Fun, hypnotic, interesting, anti-depressant.
  9. DeanE
    Jun 29, 2010
    8
    Generally, it's a strong dance album with an alluring premise -- had there never been Aids and its devastating toll on the gay community and the dance club, how would the music sound? Shears delivers on the energized beat and smooth lyrics. "Night Work," "Whole New Way" and "Invisible Light" stand out as strong songs, while "Something Like This" comes across as somewhat too dated. Generally, it's a strong dance album with an alluring premise -- had there never been Aids and its devastating toll on the gay community and the dance club, how would the music sound? Shears delivers on the energized beat and smooth lyrics. "Night Work," "Whole New Way" and "Invisible Light" stand out as strong songs, while "Something Like This" comes across as somewhat too dated. All together, however, a fun album. Expand
  10. RezJ
    Jun 29, 2010
    9
    I just fell in love with this Album. it's better than their Debut. a none stop hit album from this great Alternative band.
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Despair is very much with us. It'll blow up before it recedes. And this music is intensely committed to escaping it.
  2. The Scissor Sisters' third nightlife-themed album, Night Work, is a return to the glittery, flamboyant pop of the group's 2004 self-titled debut
  3. 76
    No surprise here-it's a dance album filled to the brim with beats that could make even a corpse twitch.