Nightbird - Erasure
Nightbird Image
Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 22 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: 'Nightbird' marks the first disc of original songs from the duo of Andrew Bell and Vince Clarke in five years.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 14
  2. Negative: 1 out of 14
  1. Composed of more hits than misses, Nightbird soars. [21 Jan 2005, p.88]
  2. Smart, moving, approachable, and well constructed, Nightbird is Erasure's mature masterpiece.
  3. 40
    Seems dated. [Feb 2005, p.73]
  4. They've stuck the bleeps on autopilot, the beats on cruise control, and can only be bothered writing a handful of half-decent tunes. [5 Feb 2005, p.50]
  5. 40
    This is undeniably a better album than they've delivered in some while, but... there still seems to be a lack of conviction in their execution. [Feb 2005, p.100]
  6. 30
    Only a couple of tracks on Nightbird flicker with any sparks of life. [#67, p.96]

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 17
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 17
  3. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. FrankC
    Feb 9, 2005
    10
    After many listens this is a definite top 3 album from them alongside Chorus and the self-titled Erasure.
  2. IainS
    May 31, 2005
    10
    One seriously good album, Bell really does pull out some of the very best lyrics I've ever heard. And the '80's (Jarresque) style is simply brilliant, setting it apart from every other album in the charts today! Well done to Erasure. Collapse
  3. J
    Apr 26, 2006
    10
    Critics do not review an album based on the content alone, but rather try to compare the content with other albums. My point is that this is an amazing album. How can you give this album a bad review? Well, that's easy... compare this album against wonderland, circus, innocents, chorus, erasure self-titled, and cowboy. I really feel that we are the critics, because they are so damn negative all the time and it seems like they never appreciate fine art such as this. Expand
  4. MichaelL
    Feb 13, 2005
    9
    For those of us who enjoy good melodies and smart, introspective lyrics, Erasure has been a bastion in the muck of recent radio. This album delivers true Erasure, which is what fans want. This album is not an attempt to sound like a band they are not, or re-invent the wheel. It is simply a good album with good music. From start to finish the songs are real, fresh, and alive. The best album since their self-titled... Expand
  5. Anon
    Jan 18, 2006
    8
    This is their best album since 1995's "Erasure."
  6. Paulo
    May 7, 2005
    8
    I just saw them in concert in Miami last night and they delivered an awesome show...about 1 1/2 hours of non-stop music. If you are an Erasure fan this album will not disappoint. They have returned to their roots. Keep it coming Andy and Vince! Expand
  7. EdwardE
    Mar 2, 2005
    7
    A return to form for Erasure. Although it'll harkens back to 'I Say, I Say, I Say,' it's not a complete retread. 'Because Our Love Is Real' should have been dropped in the demo stages, but it's the only drawback to an otherwise superb release. Expand

See all 17 User Reviews