• Record Label: Red Ink
  • Release Date: Aug 29, 2006

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 16
  2. Negative: 1 out of 16
  1. Entertainment Weekly
    Yorn and his lazy-day delivery... manage to hop between dance pop and lovely synth ballads with surprising ease. [8 Sep 2006, p.159]
  2. Paste Magazine
    More daring and challenging than anything he's done up to now. [Sep 2006, p.75]
  3. As with his debut, Yorn gets the highlights out of the way by the halfway mark. The rest is a bit of a coast, though it's a pleasant bit of coasting.
  4. 70
    Pete Yorn’s songs sound so damn good, it’s easy to assume they’re not smart.
  5. Despite it missing the fire of his first record, it's a worthy piece of work.
  6. The harmonies are more sophisticated, the sounds more complex, the music more fully realized.
  7. Spin
    The album's guitar- and keyboard-heavy production obscures some of his folky Britpop melodies, but it shows off his Bruuuce heart in a big way. [Oct 2006, p.105]
  8. Magnet
    He pushes himself into unfamiliar, often sonically jarring new terrain. [#73, p.112]
  9. Nightcrawler is the remedy to the collective uncertainty cast by Day I Forgot’s giant shadow of mediocrity: it’s a “solid record” that highlights Yorn’s potential as a songwriter and craftsman, underplays many of his weaknesses, and firmly situates him within the category of Rock Troubadours Who Are Still Worth Paying Attention To.
User Score

Universal acclaim- based on 26 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. jasone
    Jan 31, 2007
    grows on you. Undercover is an instant hit.
  2. VanneO
    Nov 27, 2006
    best album yet
  3. HarryC
    Oct 1, 2006
    As another reviewer said, this CD grows on you. "For Us" is right up there with Pete's best work ("Strange Condition," "Closet," "Pass As another reviewer said, this CD grows on you. "For Us" is right up there with Pete's best work ("Strange Condition," "Closet," "Pass Me By," Burrito," to name a few). And while "The Man" is a great slowball with Natalie Maines on backing vocals, "Ice Age" is a ballad on a par with "Turn of the Century" and "Crystal Palace." As with all of Pete's CDs, I don't like every track -- even musicforthemorningafter had a few that never really made their way into my heart -- it's a great listen overall. Full Review »