Nightcrawler

  • Record Label: Red Ink
  • Release Date: Aug 29, 2006
User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 26 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JurgisR
    Sep 2, 2006
    10
    This is a great album. If you're like me, Day I Forgot was mediocre, with each song sounding similar. This effort is a vast improvement.
  2. ZackH
    Sep 6, 2006
    10
    His most mature album to date. 14 solid songs and not an ounce of filler. I love it!
  3. HarryC
    Oct 1, 2006
    9
    As another reviewer said, this CD grows on you. "For Us" is right up there with Pete's best work ("Strange Condition," "Closet," "Pass Me By," Burrito," to name a few). And while "The Man" is a great slowball with Natalie Maines on backing vocals, "Ice Age" is a ballad on a par with "Turn of the Century" and "Crystal Palace." As with all of Pete's CDs, I don't like every As another reviewer said, this CD grows on you. "For Us" is right up there with Pete's best work ("Strange Condition," "Closet," "Pass Me By," Burrito," to name a few). And while "The Man" is a great slowball with Natalie Maines on backing vocals, "Ice Age" is a ballad on a par with "Turn of the Century" and "Crystal Palace." As with all of Pete's CDs, I don't like every track -- even musicforthemorningafter had a few that never really made their way into my heart -- it's a great listen overall. Expand
  4. Jon
    Aug 30, 2006
    7
    Nothing extraordinary but it's a solid album. Takes a few listens to really enjoy.
  5. C
    Sep 2, 2006
    6
    I'm a fan, but this album is dull.
  6. WadeT
    Sep 20, 2006
    7
    Pete Yorn's Nightcrawler seems to have the chance to be a record that slowly grows on you much like his first record. My first listen was that middle ground of not being overwhelmed by any one song while knowing a little seed had been planted in my head for future listens. Undercover is the album highlight showcasing Yorn stretching his core style as far as it can, and should be stretched.
  7. PezD
    Sep 5, 2006
    6
    I love Pete, but this album is quite unspectacular.
  8. Jenna
    Sep 9, 2006
    10
    Nightcrawler is a must have for both new and old Pete Yorn fans. Some songs reminscent of his work on Musicforthemorning after, but others, like Vampyre show a newer, deeper side of Pete than we've seen before. Ice Age and For Us are some of the standouts on this record. Pete Yorn is definitely one of today's best singer songwriters - pick up this album to see why!
  9. jasone
    Jan 31, 2007
    9
    grows on you. Undercover is an instant hit.
  10. jeffk
    Sep 21, 2006
    10
    ice age and broken bottle are the best songs Yorn ever released. and the man aint bad either.
  11. gregk
    Sep 5, 2006
    10
    I think it continues in THE YORN style of transferable, suggestive lyricism. It's his finest in my opinion.
  12. LeamanR
    Sep 6, 2006
    7
    Like "Day I Forgot," another very solid album with at least 4-5 outright gems. But as we know from listening to "Music for the Morning After," Pete Yorn is capable of being way more than merely solid. Some artists make better music when the sound is more stripped down/laid back, but Yorn seems to be at his best when the sound is generally more layered. Regardless, new music from an artist Like "Day I Forgot," another very solid album with at least 4-5 outright gems. But as we know from listening to "Music for the Morning After," Pete Yorn is capable of being way more than merely solid. Some artists make better music when the sound is more stripped down/laid back, but Yorn seems to be at his best when the sound is generally more layered. Regardless, new music from an artist like this is always a positive. Expand
  13. jaanh
    Aug 31, 2006
    10
    this record is ALL KILLER.
  14. VarunL
    Sep 12, 2006
    10
    Inspired by personal drama and music legends, Pete Yorn
  15. MattF
    Sep 12, 2006
    10
    Pete Yorn has definitely hit the spot with Nightcrawler. Though his last 2 records were good, they lacked a the rock sound that I look for in music- but in this album he definitely stepped it up. My favorite song is "For Us", but there's a range of musical styles- from the slower "Ice Age" to "Maybe I'm Right", which sounds much like John Mayer, to the upbeat "How do You go On". Pete Yorn has definitely hit the spot with Nightcrawler. Though his last 2 records were good, they lacked a the rock sound that I look for in music- but in this album he definitely stepped it up. My favorite song is "For Us", but there's a range of musical styles- from the slower "Ice Age" to "Maybe I'm Right", which sounds much like John Mayer, to the upbeat "How do You go On". Nightcrawler is an awesome CD worth every penny! Expand
  16. MattD.
    Sep 14, 2006
    9
    This one is more power pop than his others, and I'm a fan of that sound. Great CD, but sometimes he mumbles a bit, which made me give a 9 instead of a 10.
  17. VanneO
    Nov 27, 2006
    9
    best album yet
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 16
  2. Negative: 1 out of 16
  1. 70
    Pete Yorn’s songs sound so damn good, it’s easy to assume they’re not smart.
  2. Despite it missing the fire of his first record, it's a worthy piece of work.
  3. Taking no risks, "Nightcrawler" shows little growth and makes one wish for the morning after.