Nine Types of Light - TV on the Radio
Nine Types of Light Image
Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 39 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 62 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Brooklyn art-rock quintet releases its fourth studio album.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. Apr 14, 2011
    100
    Nine Types of Light proves how hard this quintet can hit, experimental New Yorkers or love-sick idiots.
  2. Light, more than anything I've heard lately, sounds complete and self-contained, and like most of the TV on the Radio catalog, it largely transcends genre. No other context is necessary. Nine Types of Light simply is what it is.
  3. Apr 8, 2011
    88
    Though this is TV on the Radio at its most melodic and accessible, the music never succumbs to formula.
  4. Nine Types...will make those who over-contextualise TVOTR finally quit their chin-stroking and live a little.
  5. Apr 11, 2011
    80
    Maybe it's time to alter our exercitations for new TV on the Radio albums: We might not be blown away, but TV on the Radio's sonic environment is still one of the most interesting venues in music.
  6. May 19, 2011
    78
    Ultimately, Nine Types of Light offers a reminder that love's sometimes best at the bitter end.
  7. 40
    The sort-of-romantic themes and sort-of-funk grooves lend a greater unity than usual, but save for a few tracks, the general impression is of lots of bustling, itchy industry – the scratchy guitars, the scuttling beats, the dying-firework synths – to no particularly attractive end.

See all 39 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 15
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 15
  3. Negative: 2 out of 15
  1. Apr 21, 2011
    10
    Nine Types of Light is easily TV on the Radio's most accessible album to date. The album is less congested with experimental sounds and is much more cohesive than say 'Return to Cookie Mountain'. The level of quality has not dropped but the sound has definitely progressed since 'Dear Science'. The funk pop is still very strong in this album, with the inclusion of more love songs, which seems to be the base theme for NToL. The only amendment I would personally make to the album is to include the song 'Troubles' which is available only on the deluxe version to be included in the regular tracklist. If you're looking for powerful lyrics, sharply crafted songs and possibly even something to vibe to, I highly recommend Nine Types of Light. My personal favorite Album from 2011 thus far. Expand
  2. Sep 20, 2011
    10
    It's easy to see why this album might not sit well with some, as it is an album dedicated to one concept (Love). As a long time fan I see this as a great departure, very uplifting. Kyp & Tunde once again raise their vocal bars and set their selfs apart from one another in great fashion. Musical it's not too far from dear science's softer songs, Return to Cookie Mountain this is not. That being said I can't see any TVOTR fan not loving this. It's my favorite album this year Expand
  3. Apr 14, 2011
    10
    TV On The Radio simply just doesn't fail. Nine Types Of Light is almost as brilliant as Dear Science. Every track is brilliant and has amazing elements and layers of music that sounds so good. They always seem to change there style and with this album, they have more calm and patient songs than any other album they've come out with. "Will Do" is the stand out track. All In All, TV On The Radio has crafted there most calm album and also there second best record, in my opinion. A Expand
  4. Apr 12, 2011
    9
    As someone who never found Cookie Mountain to be inaccessible and Dear Science, to be a bit lesser than it, Nine Types Of Light is the perfect mix. This is the record that should be getting the universal acclaim because honestly, it feels like a complete representation of the band. It's a bit like how Yo La Tengo had "I Am Not Afraid Of You And I Will Beat Your Ass" which combined all of that band's work into one perfect record. Return To Cookie Mountain may always be looked at as TVOTR's highest point by most people but I'll be damned if this isn't right there with it.

    The best tracks are up to which qualities of the record you enjoy most but for me, it has to be either Forgotten or Will Do. Easily two contenders for song of the year and I expect the latter to be mentioned in that respect when 2011 comes to a close.

    This may not end up being your favorite CD if you disliked the band beforehand but it may very well be the easiest record you listen to all year.
    Expand
  5. May 9, 2011
    9
    Pretty good. Nothing amazing like "Dear Science" or anything, but still a great album. This album, I find, is a lot calmer overall (with more slow songs than previous albums). Even though I don't have very much to say about this album, I will say that this was a valiant effort from TV on the Radio. The best songs are "Second Song", "No Future Shock", "Will Do", "New Cannonball Run" and "Repetition". Not bad, but not phenomenal. Expand
  6. Apr 28, 2011
    9
    Hello.
    When I first listened to this, I felt disappointed - I wanted this album to be something else... I can't remember what that
    'something' is now because now it's not important. What is important though, is that this album is really, really superb! I'm not so great on defining genres etc., but there's lots of sound, and lots of depth in there. The tracks are all excellent in their own ways - for me there is no "stand out track" but there's something there for every TV on the Radio fan, particularly those who loved 'Dear Science'.
    My advice; don't give your final verdict on one listen. Give it a chance and you won't regret it.
    Expand
  7. Sep 25, 2011
    0
    Whenever I read reviews of Nine Types of Light I'm pretty sure I'm listening to a different album. So, I take it off the shelf and reread the cover and take the record out of the sleeve to make sure it does, indeed say TV on the Radio. TVOTR have gone from making some the most interesting and innovative rock n' roll I've ever heard with their first two albums to very traditional, easy-listening pop-rock. Very predictable, safe and, though sometimes catchy, ultimately boring music. I wanted to like this album so much. I listened to it over and over thinking maybe it just had to grow on me but this album is so mediocre. Even the three or four decent songs on it are just "fun". I'm not saying they've sold out. To me that means they specifically changed the sound of their music in order to sell more albums. No, I think this is the direction they honestly wanted to go in and that's great. That's fine. But it sure isn't as interesting. Collapse

See all 15 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. April's Best New Music - 2011

    April's Best New Music - 2011 Image
    Published: April 29, 2011
    This month's list includes albums by a 70-year-old singer-songwriter and a band that hasn't released an LP in two decades, a solo effort from an Animal Collective member, and a new post-hardcore classic.