by U2
User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 350 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 33 out of 350

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JohnnyG.
    Jan 29, 2010
    1
    This record is absolute rubbish! When I compare it to the landmark and groundbreaking records: Unforgettable Fire, October, War, Joshua Tree or Achtung Baby or Zooropa and even Pop... However, compared to ATYCLB and HTDAAB it looks relatively favourable - but then that's not really saying much is it now??? The vocal yelps and squelches that pass for melodies on the vast majority of This record is absolute rubbish! When I compare it to the landmark and groundbreaking records: Unforgettable Fire, October, War, Joshua Tree or Achtung Baby or Zooropa and even Pop... However, compared to ATYCLB and HTDAAB it looks relatively favourable - but then that's not really saying much is it now??? The vocal yelps and squelches that pass for melodies on the vast majority of the tracks are absolutely horrific! "I'll go crazy if I don't go *CRAZY* tonight"??? "I was punching in the numbers.. at the ATM machine..." ??? What is this drivel??? Ouch... it makes me whince when I listen to this stuff. I had to put on Promenade, Indian Summer Sky, etc... on directly after hearing this record to clean my poor ears out and also to remind me of Bono's once (and still) undeniable power, agility and sensitivity (towards a song) as the worlds leading stadium rock vocalist. The vocals are bad yes, but what is worse are his cheap and corny lyrics!!! Which at best are passe and insincere and at worst totally cliche and utterly bland, meaningless and mind numbingly stupid/downright silly! The guitar work too leaves a lot to be desired... The once sonourous Edge finds himself reaching hamfistedly into his ol' "bag of tricks" and rehashing the once instantly recognisable Edge riffs and sounding like a very very tired and "edgeless" copy of the U2 of the past. They have failed to impress completely on this record. Even more so than the previous 2 abortions of records.. They get a 1 simply for being U2. Expand
  2. IndroneilB
    Jul 5, 2009
    1
    The worst u2 album....Dissappointing!...Yet they will get th Grammy bcoz its U2!!....!
  3. TomE
    Mar 4, 2009
    3
    I have been a big U2 fan since Achtung Baby. There was no doubt I would buy this album, got it as soon as it came out and played it while having visitors all night long in the background. Nothing stuck... nothing jumped out... nothing even reminded any of us we were listening to music. We the all draw the same conclusion: hotel lobby music.
  4. JohnC
    Mar 5, 2009
    3
    Overproduced, mediocre generi-pop. sounds like they took ever U2 album since Joshua Tree, threw in a blender, and what poured out was this acoustical pap. Sad to believe this is the same band that gave us the albums War and Joshua Tree. Now they're just a completely over-comericialized sellout band today.
  5. JohnnyG.
    Feb 2, 2010
    1
    This record is absolute rubbish! When I compare it to the landmark and groundbreaking records: Unforgettable Fire, October, War, Joshua Tree or Achtung Baby or Zooropa and even Pop... However, compared to ATYCLB and HTDAAB it looks relatively favourable - but then that's not really saying much is it now??? The vocal yelps and squelches that pass for melodies on the vast majority of This record is absolute rubbish! When I compare it to the landmark and groundbreaking records: Unforgettable Fire, October, War, Joshua Tree or Achtung Baby or Zooropa and even Pop... However, compared to ATYCLB and HTDAAB it looks relatively favourable - but then that's not really saying much is it now??? The vocal yelps and squelches that pass for melodies on the vast majority of the tracks are absolutely horrific! "I'll go crazy if I don't go *CRAZY* tonight"??? "I was punching in the numbers.. at the ATM machine..." ??? What is this drivel??? Ouch... it makes me whince when I listen to this stuff. I had to put on Promenade, Indian Summer Sky, etc... on directly after hearing this record to clean my poor ears out and also to remind me of Bono's once (and still) undeniable power, agility and sensitivity (towards a song) as the worlds leading stadium rock vocalist. The vocals are bad yes, but what is worse are his cheap and corny lyrics!!! Which at best are passe and insincere and at worst totally cliche and utterly bland, meaningless and mind numbingly stupid/downright silly! The guitar work too leaves a lot to be desired... The once sonourous Edge finds himself reaching hamfistedly into his ol' "bag of tricks" and rehashing the once instantly recognisable Edge riffs and sounding like a very very tired and "edgeless" copy of the U2 of the past. They have failed to impress completely on this record. Even more so than the previous 2 abortions of records.. They get a 1 simply for being U2. Collapse
  6. CameronM
    Mar 11, 2009
    0
    U2 is the MOST OVERRATED band EVER! They suck PERIOD. When I hear the words "Lame", "Bland", "Basic", i think of bands like U2 and Nickelback. Its such a shame to see these ultra crappy bands gain so much popularity when they come out with such filth. Thanks America for making people with sub-par musical filthy rich while all the true artist suffer. One of the many problems with this U2 is the MOST OVERRATED band EVER! They suck PERIOD. When I hear the words "Lame", "Bland", "Basic", i think of bands like U2 and Nickelback. Its such a shame to see these ultra crappy bands gain so much popularity when they come out with such filth. Thanks America for making people with sub-par musical filthy rich while all the true artist suffer. One of the many problems with this country. Like Ford cars. Expand
  7. MichaelJ
    Mar 15, 2009
    1
    U2 hasn't released a good album in 10 years. Their last 3 albums have all been complete garbage, yet people still fawn over them like they're producing stuff like Achtung Baby, Boy and the Joshua tree. I'll give it a 1 for the 2nd track alone, otherwise it's another complete waste of time. I haven't purchased a U2 album since All That You Can't Leave Behind U2 hasn't released a good album in 10 years. Their last 3 albums have all been complete garbage, yet people still fawn over them like they're producing stuff like Achtung Baby, Boy and the Joshua tree. I'll give it a 1 for the 2nd track alone, otherwise it's another complete waste of time. I haven't purchased a U2 album since All That You Can't Leave Behind and that one has sinced been thrown into the trash. A roomful of monkeys could have written better lyrics than the abortion that is Beautiful Day. Expand
  8. MarliseG
    Mar 19, 2009
    0
    This is pure garbage for me, i miss The Joshua Tree, Rolling Stone, what happened to us?, 5 stars for this trash, I can't believe it.
  9. WilliamI.
    Mar 9, 2009
    3
    Who could put all of those B-sided songs into an album? Energy level is no more than hum. Must be last album...songs are lame, music lame....I own almost all of their albums...this one...the should pay me to listen to. Seriously, do not waste your time or money.
  10. DaveB
    Jul 7, 2009
    3
    A couple of decent songs but far too many embarrassing, dull, or directionless moments for this to be considered a good album. It seems they are spending too much time trying to figure out where they can fit into the market and not enough time coming up with some worthwhile ideas.
  11. JohnN
    Mar 7, 2009
    3
    Apart from a couple songs (the first two), this is a pretty boring album, which is sad considering their last one was insipid as well. At least they are trying to mix things up a little with their sound. But the hooks and songs just aren't here. Too bad.
  12. JoeD
    Mar 6, 2009
    1
    More nauseatingly self-obsessd, boring drivel from rock's most overrated band (you're off the hook for now, Coldplay). At least the last two albums had one or two classic songs to guarantee at least partial redemption (Beautiful Day, City of Blinding Lights), this is just another failed attempt to make a 'modern' album (didn't they learn anything from "Pop"?), More nauseatingly self-obsessd, boring drivel from rock's most overrated band (you're off the hook for now, Coldplay). At least the last two albums had one or two classic songs to guarantee at least partial redemption (Beautiful Day, City of Blinding Lights), this is just another failed attempt to make a 'modern' album (didn't they learn anything from "Pop"?), whith Bono becoming a more toe-curling lyricist by the song ("Playing with the fire/till the fire played with me"????) Expand
  13. Clarke
    Mar 9, 2009
    2
    Puppet Show and U2. 2 out of 10 for two good songs, rest is either dull or both dull and lacking any tonality. After the last three albums, it is clear there is no way the boys will ascend again to an 'Achtung Baby' level. At least there will always be that.
  14. tjmax
    Jul 11, 2009
    2
    The album sounds simultaneously overproduced and unfinished. It sounds fussed over and doesn't really come to life. The lyrics are really uninspiring. I love U2, but this one stinks.
  15. JuanP
    Mar 19, 2009
    0
    The worst album from U2, this album hurts me.
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 30
  2. Negative: 2 out of 30
  1. No Line on the Horizon partakes of that romance by trying to expose its inner workings. It's risky to expose those delineations; as the band said long ago, it's like trying to throw your arms around the world. But the effort has its payoffs.
  2. As far as exploration goes, U2 seem to have finally found what they were looking for.
  3. Upon first listen, No Line on the Horizon seems as if it would be a classic grower, an album that makes sense with repeated spins, but that repetition only makes the album more elusive, revealing not that U2 went into the studio with a dense, complicated blueprint, but rather, they had no plan at all.