User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 346 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 33 out of 346

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 11, 2014
    6
    I like this album more than the last two from U2 because I like the experimentation employed. The first two tracks are great, and the lyrics are interesting and have a sort of interesting cryptic quality to them. Some of the experimentation, however, gets a little silly. For instance the weird vocal phrases spewed out on Unknown Caller are just cringe-worthy (Force quit! And move toI like this album more than the last two from U2 because I like the experimentation employed. The first two tracks are great, and the lyrics are interesting and have a sort of interesting cryptic quality to them. Some of the experimentation, however, gets a little silly. For instance the weird vocal phrases spewed out on Unknown Caller are just cringe-worthy (Force quit! And move to trash!) The rest of the album can be a little boring as it progresses, but the album ends on a personal note as Bono tells stories of his childhood on White as Snow, and then delivers some haunting mantra-like lines on Cedars of Lebanon to close the album. Overall, it's an improvement from All That You Can't Leave Behind and How to Dismantle an Atomic Bomb, which were both atrocious, and it's good enough. Expand
  2. Nov 5, 2013
    6
    Their best album since Zooropa, No Line is an improvement on the direction they were trying to take on their previous two LP's. Eno creates a rich, dense sound that never distracts from the songs. However, the album loses momentum toward in the second half, and its ambitions overwhelm its accomplishments (which has plagued many of U2's albums). No Line is more of a step in the rightTheir best album since Zooropa, No Line is an improvement on the direction they were trying to take on their previous two LP's. Eno creates a rich, dense sound that never distracts from the songs. However, the album loses momentum toward in the second half, and its ambitions overwhelm its accomplishments (which has plagued many of U2's albums). No Line is more of a step in the right direction than a realization of a goal. Expand
  3. Jun 30, 2013
    8
    I believe it is one of U2's most underappreciated albums. Is it one of their best? No, I don't think so, but it is a great blend of experimental rock and more straightforward rock. I wish the band would have decided to go all out with the experimentation, but I like the change of pace the record has. Breathe is the only song I don't like on this album and I have to be in a certain mood forI believe it is one of U2's most underappreciated albums. Is it one of their best? No, I don't think so, but it is a great blend of experimental rock and more straightforward rock. I wish the band would have decided to go all out with the experimentation, but I like the change of pace the record has. Breathe is the only song I don't like on this album and I have to be in a certain mood for I'll Go Crazy if I Don't Go Crazy Tonight; White as Snow reminds me of Grace in the sense that it is at times a little too lifeless, but a good song if your in the mood for something mellow. The best songs are the first four tracks and I love how Bono experimented with his vocals on these tracks especially the title one. This album has really grown on me and I feel in the long run will be remembered as one of U2's best albums since Achtung Baby. Expand
  4. Jun 4, 2013
    5
    This album has a better user rating than Achtung Baby This band has been mailing it in since Zooropa. twenty years ago. Not a lot of spark. Boggles the mind.
  5. May 30, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. U2 Incrivelmente Os Melhores Mais Infelizmente Tem Duas Músicas Que Eu Não Consigo Ouvir Que São As White As Snow E Cedars Of Lebanon.
    Mas Mesmo Assim Um Album Muito Bom.
    Top No Line On The Horizon.
    1-Magnificent
    2-Unknown Caller
    3-I'll Go Crazy If I Don't Go Crazy Tonight
    4-Breathe
    5-Fez Beign Born
    Expand
  6. Mar 8, 2013
    8
    Nice album, some good songs (even if I don't like Fez and Cedars Of Lebanon), but the songs in How to Dismantle An Atomic Bomb were much better. I think U2 still can do better than this.
  7. Jun 25, 2012
    9
    out of the 9 points i give it, the first 8 come from a u2 album to finally showcase adamclaytons bass playing ability. the last point comes for the song "breathe"
  8. Jun 15, 2012
    8
    Although I feel this effort from U2 lacks a classic track or anthem, overall it's a very high quality record full of interesting ideas. A bit like their "Pop" record, I reckon this could have been a bit better if it was given a bit more time to mature before the band recorded it. Bono's vocals are as good as ever and the musicianmanship in general is top rate as always with this band.Although I feel this effort from U2 lacks a classic track or anthem, overall it's a very high quality record full of interesting ideas. A bit like their "Pop" record, I reckon this could have been a bit better if it was given a bit more time to mature before the band recorded it. Bono's vocals are as good as ever and the musicianmanship in general is top rate as always with this band. "Breathe" towards the end of the record is the stand out track for me and it should have been a massive hit single. As it turned out, the singles U2 released off this record were probably amongst the poorest tracks on the album. There is lots to admire and very little to dislike here and the fact that U2, after close to 30 years together can still put out records of such high quality has to commended. Expand
  9. j30
    Jan 30, 2012
    6
    U2 will never be the band they once were back in the 80's and 90's, that's a fact of life everyone needs to know. However No Line On The Horizon is one of their more solid efforts in some time making one wonder if there is a line and have they crossed it already.
  10. Apr 30, 2011
    10
    I'm pretty sick of people writing about how awful U2 albums like 'No Line On The Horizon' and 'How To Dismantle An Atomic Bomb' sound because they don't compare to this previous U2 album, or this album, or this album. Screw that. It's a great album. Maybe there won't be an album better than The Joshua Tree, but that doesn't mean the albums are awful. It means that they're different andI'm pretty sick of people writing about how awful U2 albums like 'No Line On The Horizon' and 'How To Dismantle An Atomic Bomb' sound because they don't compare to this previous U2 album, or this album, or this album. Screw that. It's a great album. Maybe there won't be an album better than The Joshua Tree, but that doesn't mean the albums are awful. It means that they're different and maybe not as good, but still great. I loved this album because it was very distinct, and a very new kind of U2. It's U2 in a way that I haven't seen before, but in a way that I like a lot. It's still similar to older U2 and certain songs on this album are experimental, but the album is magnificent because it has certain songs that sound like the old U2 and certain songs that sound very new, refreshing, and just incredibly artistic, creative, and catchy. This album is definitely worth buying if you're a U2 fan who REALLY knows U2. Expand
  11. Apr 23, 2011
    8
    When I first listened to the album I wasn't quite sure what to think, its not my favorite U2 music ever, but it did have a strange appeal. I let it sit for a while and have now gone back to it and listened more and its much better now. Its really an album that you need to keep going back to, it may take some time but the music begins to grow on you. Its definitely worth picking up.
  12. Jan 19, 2011
    8
    The only reason I don't give this album higher is probably because I am judging it against their other albums. I would say this album is probably on par with How to Dismantle an a Atomic Bomb, but no where near All that you can't leave behind. I have decided that all U2's music is brilliant and they are my favorite band ever but they only have one BLOW you mind out of the water crazyThe only reason I don't give this album higher is probably because I am judging it against their other albums. I would say this album is probably on par with How to Dismantle an a Atomic Bomb, but no where near All that you can't leave behind. I have decided that all U2's music is brilliant and they are my favorite band ever but they only have one BLOW you mind out of the water crazy music changing album a decade. Joshua tree, Actung Baby, and All that you can't leave behind. I know people will disagree with me and I might change my mind about that later but thats okay. We are into a new Decade now however so look out U2 fans. No line on the horizon was great and I am still hoping for the songs of decent follow up. Expand
  13. Sep 2, 2010
    6
    This is absolutely proof positive that the band believes it's own press. For a bit too long the band seems to have been under the impression that they can merely thump their chests and spew absurdities like Crazy Tonight and fans'll eat it up. Put this album up against a classic like All You Can't Leave Behind and it pales glaringly. It has it's moments but they are too few and too farThis is absolutely proof positive that the band believes it's own press. For a bit too long the band seems to have been under the impression that they can merely thump their chests and spew absurdities like Crazy Tonight and fans'll eat it up. Put this album up against a classic like All You Can't Leave Behind and it pales glaringly. It has it's moments but they are too few and too far between to save it from sheer mediocrity. Collapse
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 30
  2. Negative: 2 out of 30
  1. No Line on the Horizon partakes of that romance by trying to expose its inner workings. It's risky to expose those delineations; as the band said long ago, it's like trying to throw your arms around the world. But the effort has its payoffs.
  2. As far as exploration goes, U2 seem to have finally found what they were looking for.
  3. Upon first listen, No Line on the Horizon seems as if it would be a classic grower, an album that makes sense with repeated spins, but that repetition only makes the album more elusive, revealing not that U2 went into the studio with a dense, complicated blueprint, but rather, they had no plan at all.