by
No Line On The Horizon Image
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 347 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The 12th studio album for the Irish rock band was produced with Brian Eno, Daniel Lanois, and Steve Lillywhite.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 30
  2. Negative: 2 out of 30
  1. 100
    No Line on the Horizon is U2’s third killer in a row--by now, it’s bizarre to remember that just 10 years ago, everybody thought they were headed toward the dinosaur band tar pits.
  2. No Line on the Horizon offers idealism spliced with new attitude and the same old grace, and is all the better for it.
  3. No Line on the Horizon is a considered and nuanced work with significant depth beneath the dense, sometimes thorny exterior. Getting there, though, requires some work.
  4. It has the pomp and arrogance of their best work, enough new sounds and interesting new avenues to satisfy the musos and, at its core, is a very good collection of very good songs played very well. A little more silliness would go a long way, though.
  5. All in all, a departure from recent forays into overt commercialism that doesn't always work but provides a little U2 juice to keep the true believers happy for a little bit longer.
  6. A person of a certain disposition might feel the will to live seeping from them at the very thought of a U2 song called Cedars of Lebanon, but it turns out to be one of the album's biggest successes: a beautiful, downbeat coda to a confused and confusing album, one that can't decide whether it's ironic or sincere, experimental or straight-forward, and instead attempts to be all things to all people, with inevitably mixed results.
  7. The problems that litter No Line fall into two categories: mind-numbing blandness on the part of the band or embarrassing, face-palm-inducing vocal choices by Bono.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 90 out of 112
  2. Negative: 15 out of 112
  1. ChrisW
    Mar 3, 2009
    10
    This album sits nicely in between Achtung Baby and Zooropa and is successful on what Pop had aspired to be. This is not ATYCLB or HTDAAB for This album sits nicely in between Achtung Baby and Zooropa and is successful on what Pop had aspired to be. This is not ATYCLB or HTDAAB for sure but it's still VERY U2. Personally, three tracks have me shrugging my shoulders, but otherwise, 8 songs knock it out of the park. Why a 10 then, because they knock those 8 songs waaayy out of the park. Expand
  2. DarenW
    Mar 26, 2009
    10
    Nick S, I'm right there with you, I've been a fan since War, early 80's, my college days... I wasn't expecting a whole Nick S, I'm right there with you, I've been a fan since War, early 80's, my college days... I wasn't expecting a whole complete album where every song is great, I was expecting a few, like their most recent. The first listen, hum, no bad... But after 10 listens, I can't get enough, it definitely grows on you, those are the best kind... Each song is unique... It's the best since Joshua Tree, but I'm now lending "that it's their best"! I bought the CD now I'm buying the Vinyl! U2 is back, never gone away just back to the top of my list... I'm excited to hear the next album is already done!! Expand
  3. Apr 30, 2011
    10
    I'm pretty sick of people writing about how awful U2 albums like 'No Line On The Horizon' and 'How To Dismantle An Atomic Bomb' sound becauseI'm pretty sick of people writing about how awful U2 albums like 'No Line On The Horizon' and 'How To Dismantle An Atomic Bomb' sound because they don't compare to this previous U2 album, or this album, or this album. Screw that. It's a great album. Maybe there won't be an album better than The Joshua Tree, but that doesn't mean the albums are awful. It means that they're different and maybe not as good, but still great. I loved this album because it was very distinct, and a very new kind of U2. It's U2 in a way that I haven't seen before, but in a way that I like a lot. It's still similar to older U2 and certain songs on this album are experimental, but the album is magnificent because it has certain songs that sound like the old U2 and certain songs that sound very new, refreshing, and just incredibly artistic, creative, and catchy. This album is definitely worth buying if you're a U2 fan who REALLY knows U2. Expand
  4. JohnB
    Mar 4, 2009
    9
    I'm really digging this album!. The title track is great, but Magnificent is an instant classic. In total there are 8 amazing to really I'm really digging this album!. The title track is great, but Magnificent is an instant classic. In total there are 8 amazing to really good tracks and only three throw aways. I'm not really taken with Unknown Caller, White As Snow or Cedars of Lebanon. I think NLOTH, Magnificent, I'll Go Crazy and Breathe all have single potential. And I really like the groove in Stand Up Comedy. Only time will tell how this will stack up against U2's other amazing offerings. Expand
  5. Apr 23, 2011
    8
    When I first listened to the album I wasn't quite sure what to think, its not my favorite U2 music ever, but it did have a strange appeal. IWhen I first listened to the album I wasn't quite sure what to think, its not my favorite U2 music ever, but it did have a strange appeal. I let it sit for a while and have now gone back to it and listened more and its much better now. Its really an album that you need to keep going back to, it may take some time but the music begins to grow on you. Its definitely worth picking up. Expand
  6. Sep 2, 2010
    6
    This is absolutely proof positive that the band believes it's own press. For a bit too long the band seems to have been under the impressionThis is absolutely proof positive that the band believes it's own press. For a bit too long the band seems to have been under the impression that they can merely thump their chests and spew absurdities like Crazy Tonight and fans'll eat it up. Put this album up against a classic like All You Can't Leave Behind and it pales glaringly. It has it's moments but they are too few and too far between to save it from sheer mediocrity. Expand
  7. CameronM
    Mar 11, 2009
    0
    U2 is the MOST OVERRATED band EVER! They suck PERIOD. When I hear the words "Lame", "Bland", "Basic", i think of bands like U2 and U2 is the MOST OVERRATED band EVER! They suck PERIOD. When I hear the words "Lame", "Bland", "Basic", i think of bands like U2 and Nickelback. Its such a shame to see these ultra crappy bands gain so much popularity when they come out with such filth. Thanks America for making people with sub-par musical filthy rich while all the true artist suffer. One of the many problems with this country. Like Ford cars. Expand

See all 112 User Reviews