No Line On The Horizon

by
No Line On The Horizon Image
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 366 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The 12th studio album for the Irish rock band was produced with Brian Eno, Daniel Lanois, and Steve Lillywhite.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 30
  2. Negative: 2 out of 30
  1. 100
    No Line on the Horizon is U2’s third killer in a row--by now, it’s bizarre to remember that just 10 years ago, everybody thought they were headed toward the dinosaur band tar pits.
  2. No Line on the Horizon offers idealism spliced with new attitude and the same old grace, and is all the better for it.
  3. No Line on the Horizon is a considered and nuanced work with significant depth beneath the dense, sometimes thorny exterior. Getting there, though, requires some work.
  4. It has the pomp and arrogance of their best work, enough new sounds and interesting new avenues to satisfy the musos and, at its core, is a very good collection of very good songs played very well. A little more silliness would go a long way, though.
  5. All in all, a departure from recent forays into overt commercialism that doesn't always work but provides a little U2 juice to keep the true believers happy for a little bit longer.
  6. A person of a certain disposition might feel the will to live seeping from them at the very thought of a U2 song called Cedars of Lebanon, but it turns out to be one of the album's biggest successes: a beautiful, downbeat coda to a confused and confusing album, one that can't decide whether it's ironic or sincere, experimental or straight-forward, and instead attempts to be all things to all people, with inevitably mixed results.
  7. NOW Magazine
    20
    The problems that litter No Line fall into two categories: mind-numbing blandness on the part of the band or embarrassing, face-palm-inducing vocal choices by Bono.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 88 out of 116
  2. Negative: 15 out of 116
  1. ChrisW
    Mar 3, 2009
    10
    This album sits nicely in between Achtung Baby and Zooropa and is successful on what Pop had aspired to be. This is not ATYCLB or HTDAAB for This album sits nicely in between Achtung Baby and Zooropa and is successful on what Pop had aspired to be. This is not ATYCLB or HTDAAB for sure but it's still VERY U2. Personally, three tracks have me shrugging my shoulders, but otherwise, 8 songs knock it out of the park. Why a 10 then, because they knock those 8 songs waaayy out of the park. Expand
  2. DarenW
    Mar 26, 2009
    10
    Nick S, I'm right there with you, I've been a fan since War, early 80's, my college days... I wasn't expecting a whole Nick S, I'm right there with you, I've been a fan since War, early 80's, my college days... I wasn't expecting a whole complete album where every song is great, I was expecting a few, like their most recent. The first listen, hum, no bad... But after 10 listens, I can't get enough, it definitely grows on you, those are the best kind... Each song is unique... It's the best since Joshua Tree, but I'm now lending "that it's their best"! I bought the CD now I'm buying the Vinyl! U2 is back, never gone away just back to the top of my list... I'm excited to hear the next album is already done!! Expand
  3. Apr 30, 2011
    10
    I'm pretty sick of people writing about how awful U2 albums like 'No Line On The Horizon' and 'How To Dismantle An Atomic Bomb' sound becauseI'm pretty sick of people writing about how awful U2 albums like 'No Line On The Horizon' and 'How To Dismantle An Atomic Bomb' sound because they don't compare to this previous U2 album, or this album, or this album. Screw that. It's a great album. Maybe there won't be an album better than The Joshua Tree, but that doesn't mean the albums are awful. It means that they're different and maybe not as good, but still great. I loved this album because it was very distinct, and a very new kind of U2. It's U2 in a way that I haven't seen before, but in a way that I like a lot. It's still similar to older U2 and certain songs on this album are experimental, but the album is magnificent because it has certain songs that sound like the old U2 and certain songs that sound very new, refreshing, and just incredibly artistic, creative, and catchy. This album is definitely worth buying if you're a U2 fan who REALLY knows U2. Expand
  4. Jude
    Mar 3, 2009
    9
    This album has surpassed my former fav album (The Unforgettable Fire) from U2. I have been with this band since Boy. Was not a big fan of the This album has surpassed my former fav album (The Unforgettable Fire) from U2. I have been with this band since Boy. Was not a big fan of the last two albums, though they were serviceable. This album is for men (or women)...not the hipsters at Pitchfork who cling to the "obscure = hip = talented = cool" equation. NLOTH delves into universal themes in a way that hits on a personal level. Aside from all the big themes, each song is full of amazing melodies, hooks and memorable musical lines. Each band member is in top form. And this album is an album...not a collection of singles or one-offs. It makes me want to listen to it from beginning to end, in its existing sequence. Well done. Expand
  5. PencilNeckedGeek
    Aug 15, 2009
    8
    Very good, but takes a while to get used to. Kinda like POP in its level of inaccessibility. Definitely artier and more experimental than Very good, but takes a while to get used to. Kinda like POP in its level of inaccessibility. Definitely artier and more experimental than Atomic Bomb, but not as obscure and abstract as Passengers. I good, solid album that gets better with each listen. Expand
  6. Dec 26, 2014
    7
    O Mais fraco da década de 2000's. Possui uma obra-prima >>Magnificent.
    Top 5 No Line On The Horizon.
    1-Magnificent 2-Unknown Caller 3-I'll
    O Mais fraco da década de 2000's. Possui uma obra-prima >>Magnificent.
    Top 5 No Line On The Horizon.
    1-Magnificent
    2-Unknown Caller
    3-I'll Go Crazy If I Don't Go Crazy Tonight
    4-Breathe
    5-Fez Beign Born
    Expand
  7. CameronM
    Mar 11, 2009
    0
    U2 is the MOST OVERRATED band EVER! They suck PERIOD. When I hear the words "Lame", "Bland", "Basic", i think of bands like U2 and U2 is the MOST OVERRATED band EVER! They suck PERIOD. When I hear the words "Lame", "Bland", "Basic", i think of bands like U2 and Nickelback. Its such a shame to see these ultra crappy bands gain so much popularity when they come out with such filth. Thanks America for making people with sub-par musical filthy rich while all the true artist suffer. One of the many problems with this country. Like Ford cars. Expand

See all 116 User Reviews