No Line On The Horizon Image
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 346 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The 12th studio album for the Irish rock band was produced with Brian Eno, Daniel Lanois, and Steve Lillywhite.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 30
  2. Negative: 2 out of 30
  1. 100
    No Line on the Horizon is U2’s third killer in a row--by now, it’s bizarre to remember that just 10 years ago, everybody thought they were headed toward the dinosaur band tar pits.
  2. No Line on the Horizon offers idealism spliced with new attitude and the same old grace, and is all the better for it.
  3. 80
    It's U2's least immediate album--but there's something about it that suggests it may be one of their most enduring.
  4. By this point, it's within their rights to utilize pieces of their past in building a new present for themselves, as long as they don't half-ass it and start turning out inferior remakes of their old tunes. That's not what's going on here, and if anything, No Line is ultimately a more visceral and memorable effort than either of the band's other two 21st century offerings.
  5. All in all, a departure from recent forays into overt commercialism that doesn't always work but provides a little U2 juice to keep the true believers happy for a little bit longer.
  6. A person of a certain disposition might feel the will to live seeping from them at the very thought of a U2 song called Cedars of Lebanon, but it turns out to be one of the album's biggest successes: a beautiful, downbeat coda to a confused and confusing album, one that can't decide whether it's ironic or sincere, experimental or straight-forward, and instead attempts to be all things to all people, with inevitably mixed results.
  7. The problems that litter No Line fall into two categories: mind-numbing blandness on the part of the band or embarrassing, face-palm-inducing vocal choices by Bono.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 89 out of 111
  2. Negative: 15 out of 111
  1. DonalM
    Mar 4, 2009
    10
    Best U2 album in 10 years. They might not be experimenting as much as we would like them too, but try "Breathe", "Unknown Caller" and "No Best U2 album in 10 years. They might not be experimenting as much as we would like them too, but try "Breathe", "Unknown Caller" and "No Line On The Horizon" and you have 3 tracks which venture into sonic terrotories not explored before. This is way better than their last 2 albums which were "safe" to a large extent. Standout tracks are "Unknown Caller", "Breathe" and "Magnificent". Expand
  2. MarsB
    Mar 26, 2009
    10
    Great Album!
  3. Apr 30, 2011
    10
    I'm pretty sick of people writing about how awful U2 albums like 'No Line On The Horizon' and 'How To Dismantle An Atomic Bomb' sound becauseI'm pretty sick of people writing about how awful U2 albums like 'No Line On The Horizon' and 'How To Dismantle An Atomic Bomb' sound because they don't compare to this previous U2 album, or this album, or this album. Screw that. It's a great album. Maybe there won't be an album better than The Joshua Tree, but that doesn't mean the albums are awful. It means that they're different and maybe not as good, but still great. I loved this album because it was very distinct, and a very new kind of U2. It's U2 in a way that I haven't seen before, but in a way that I like a lot. It's still similar to older U2 and certain songs on this album are experimental, but the album is magnificent because it has certain songs that sound like the old U2 and certain songs that sound very new, refreshing, and just incredibly artistic, creative, and catchy. This album is definitely worth buying if you're a U2 fan who REALLY knows U2. Expand
  4. BDP
    Mar 4, 2009
    9
    Fantastic album, but most definitely a grower. While some may dismiss this as more of the same, or as sounding "too U2", there is a depth and Fantastic album, but most definitely a grower. While some may dismiss this as more of the same, or as sounding "too U2", there is a depth and edginess here that was almost certainly missing on any album since Zooropa. The true strength in this work lies in the two-sided collaborations with both Eno/Lanois and Steve Lillywhite, giving this two distinct textures that blend together almost perfectly. While it can be tough to warm up to each jab these songs provide (and there is the occasional bit of tack, but then again it's Bono), this is easily one of the best albums I've heard all year, and most definitely one that is firmly muscling its way between "Achtung Baby" and "Joshua Tree" in the U2 pantheon. Watch this space. Expand
  5. Mar 8, 2013
    8
    Nice album, some good songs (even if I don't like Fez and Cedars Of Lebanon), but the songs in How to Dismantle An Atomic Bomb were muchNice album, some good songs (even if I don't like Fez and Cedars Of Lebanon), but the songs in How to Dismantle An Atomic Bomb were much better. I think U2 still can do better than this. Expand
  6. ChrisR
    Mar 4, 2009
    8
    I did something yesterday that I hadn't done with any U2 album since 'Achtung Baby' -- listened to it non-stop for the better I did something yesterday that I hadn't done with any U2 album since 'Achtung Baby' -- listened to it non-stop for the better part of a day. No, it is not a classic, and I would not put this on par with 'Joshua Tree' or 'Achtung Baby', but it is very, very good, and I think it surpasses the previous two records by a mile. This time around, I get why we fuss over U2. If it weren't for a couple of skip worthy tracks toward the end, it would be a classic. Expand
  7. CameronM
    Mar 11, 2009
    0
    U2 is the MOST OVERRATED band EVER! They suck PERIOD. When I hear the words "Lame", "Bland", "Basic", i think of bands like U2 and U2 is the MOST OVERRATED band EVER! They suck PERIOD. When I hear the words "Lame", "Bland", "Basic", i think of bands like U2 and Nickelback. Its such a shame to see these ultra crappy bands gain so much popularity when they come out with such filth. Thanks America for making people with sub-par musical filthy rich while all the true artist suffer. One of the many problems with this country. Like Ford cars. Expand

See all 111 User Reviews