• Record Label: Harvest
  • Release Date: Nov 19, 2013
User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 67 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 67
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 67
  3. Negative: 2 out of 67

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 14, 2013
    9
    No Love Deep Web seems more or less very inaccessible as opposed to the Money Store, but in fact, in my opinion, I found it to be way more accessible than The Money Store. The production seems way more stripped down and took a much darker approach. If The Money Store didn't seem to dark for you, No Love Deep Web will surely fix that. The best way I like to describe it is if The Money StoreNo Love Deep Web seems more or less very inaccessible as opposed to the Money Store, but in fact, in my opinion, I found it to be way more accessible than The Money Store. The production seems way more stripped down and took a much darker approach. If The Money Store didn't seem to dark for you, No Love Deep Web will surely fix that. The best way I like to describe it is if The Money Store was MC Ride contemplating suicide, No Love is him actually committing it. The lyrics are in your face and as abrasive as anything this band has ever done. All In All, No Love Deep Web is an album full of fantastic ideas and from a band that just keeps getting better. A- Expand
  2. Jun 23, 2013
    9
    No Love Deep Web is yet another great effort from Death Grips. From a production standpoint, this thing is solid, It takes the great production elements of both their previous albums and finds a nice combination. Another element that makes this album stand out is the lyrics, I can easily call this the darkest out of all the Death Grips albums. MC Ride's vocals stand out more as voice isNo Love Deep Web is yet another great effort from Death Grips. From a production standpoint, this thing is solid, It takes the great production elements of both their previous albums and finds a nice combination. Another element that makes this album stand out is the lyrics, I can easily call this the darkest out of all the Death Grips albums. MC Ride's vocals stand out more as voice is less buried in the instrumental track, this reveals some pretty frightening lyrics that sound conceived from sort of terrible drug trip. The lyrics amplify primal desires of MC Ride's person even more. Overall this was a great album even if it didn't seem as consistent as the Money Store. Expand
  3. Dec 13, 2013
    9
    This was the album that assured me that Death Grips were one of the best thing I've ever heard. A rebellion scream with the band's harsh, rugged and unique sound. One of the best bands of the decade shows what they can do when released from the tightened ropes of the music industry. Simply strange and amazing.
  4. Nov 25, 2013
    10
    No Love Deep Web is yet another great effort from Death Grips. great sound, good beat, style and rap.
    I do not listen to mostly rap, but that 'a concentration of malice and sheer power!
  5. Mar 22, 2015
    9
    9.5 would be more accurate. No Love Deep Web has Death Grips pursuing a wider array of sounds, and is a little quieter overall than Exmilitary, and a little slower paced than The Money Store. The production is more minimalistic, but that's about all that's cohesive on the album. Songs like Deep Web, take an atmospheric approach to vocals, No Love comes off as almost march-like, Whammy9.5 would be more accurate. No Love Deep Web has Death Grips pursuing a wider array of sounds, and is a little quieter overall than Exmilitary, and a little slower paced than The Money Store. The production is more minimalistic, but that's about all that's cohesive on the album. Songs like Deep Web, take an atmospheric approach to vocals, No Love comes off as almost march-like, Whammy is a little less dark, Hunger Games is super minimal and vocal driven, then finally, the last two tracks, Bass Rattle Stars Out the Sky and Artificial Death in the West employ an almost psychadelic sound.
    This album is Death Grips at their weirdest, but if you like DG, you'll love this album.
    Expand
  6. May 2, 2015
    9
    In my opinion, I think this was actually better than The Money Store. The main improvement over this album over The Money Store is that MC Ride's vocals are definitely more audible - and his aggressiveness shows even more. I don't think he has some of the best lyrics out there - but honestly, what matters more about MC Ride is his aggressiveness. The production here has also noticed aIn my opinion, I think this was actually better than The Money Store. The main improvement over this album over The Money Store is that MC Ride's vocals are definitely more audible - and his aggressiveness shows even more. I don't think he has some of the best lyrics out there - but honestly, what matters more about MC Ride is his aggressiveness. The production here has also noticed a great improvement - I like Morin's electronics, even more shows here than on The Money Store. They also show they are almost as original as they did on The Money Store - but not exactly quite, which leads to my main concern about this album: Not enough Zach Hill on this album. He can play the drums - but there are more 808's here than drum sets. But, overall, they have shown an improvement over The Money Store, even if Zach Hill was absent a lot. Grade: A. Highlights: "Come Up and Get Me", "No Love", "Stockton". Worst song: "Whammy" (that sample is irritating!) Expand
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Nov 18, 2013
    80
    As far as the argument over whether Death Grips are indie rap's great, destructive Dada Art crew or whether they are just the genre's Spinal Tap, the excellent No Love Deep Web suggests they're the sophisticated former.
  2. There's more space in these tracks, and unlikely hints of sweetening both orchestral and distaff that come as laugh moments whether the lunatics running the asylum think they're funny or not.
  3. Dec 7, 2012
    60
    His unfocused ire dominates every inch of space. It's frustrating because the best tracks here deftly whirl together seemingly disparate styles. [Dec 2012, p.61]