• Record Label: Sony
  • Release Date: Aug 4, 2009
User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 33 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 33
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 33
  3. Negative: 1 out of 33

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DerekG
    Oct 30, 2009
    10
    listen to this 10 times or more and tell me it's not fantastic.
  2. RogerS.
    Aug 5, 2009
    10
    This is the kind of music that other bands better listen to. Inspiration and listenable the Modest Mouse team save music and make a CD that you want to walk to the shop to buy. I love it and think you will too. Way to go and glad to see those losers who I don't like give it poor reviews. Draw your line in the sand and don't back down. I love Modest Mouse.
  3. JoeB.
    Aug 6, 2009
    10
    Amazing!
  4. Quinn
    Oct 6, 2009
    9
    I can't believe some of those reviews came from magazines where people have jobs...yet don't understand what an EP is. Obviously it's going to be a bit all over, especially when it happens to be the leftovers of two extremely different albums released a few years apart. When it's all said and done the extra release of these tracks is appreciated, and although I have I can't believe some of those reviews came from magazines where people have jobs...yet don't understand what an EP is. Obviously it's going to be a bit all over, especially when it happens to be the leftovers of two extremely different albums released a few years apart. When it's all said and done the extra release of these tracks is appreciated, and although I have the king rat vinyl and the dashboard single cd it also came on, I'm happy it is on a studio release EP as it will be one of the greatest songs they ever write in their career already spanning 16 amazing years. Expand
  5. mxl
    Aug 11, 2009
    9
    They can call it a filler and they can say that it only goes to show modest is only goin forward and backward at the same time musically but i dont see how either is a bad thing. a filler from these guys is an f'ing blessing and how can you not love a band that so unpredictable? ya never know how it can get better until you are actually there, witnessing or listening to it as its They can call it a filler and they can say that it only goes to show modest is only goin forward and backward at the same time musically but i dont see how either is a bad thing. a filler from these guys is an f'ing blessing and how can you not love a band that so unpredictable? ya never know how it can get better until you are actually there, witnessing or listening to it as its first coming. Collapse
  6. GlennP.
    Aug 8, 2009
    10
    9.5, but I can't, so I rounded up. Wish it was an LP, and not an EP, but I can't complain about that. Unfortunately, this means we now have to wait another 10000+ years for more Modest Mouse.
  7. Lynnie
    Aug 24, 2009
    9
    It's great. King Rat is something else. So darn great.
  8. Oct 8, 2010
    9
    Even though some of their songs on this album are from other albums or EPs that never really made it big it's still wonderful to listen too. Modest Mouse is one of my favorite badn and this album (even though not the best) still continues to make me love the. The song writing in brilliant and the sounds are bizarre at times but still modern and fresh. It's something I can just keepEven though some of their songs on this album are from other albums or EPs that never really made it big it's still wonderful to listen too. Modest Mouse is one of my favorite badn and this album (even though not the best) still continues to make me love the. The song writing in brilliant and the sounds are bizarre at times but still modern and fresh. It's something I can just keep listening too. I love it! Anyone who hasn't heard it has to listen to it. Expand
  9. Feb 22, 2015
    10
    The lead singer is essentially the president of ugly people...that being said i think you'll find yourself truly wondering if these angels could be the government.....a perfect 10 if you know what I mean
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Each of these eight leftovers can be divided into rote, by-the-numbers Modest Mouse rock jams and meandering pseudo-experiments that feel, uncharacteristically and disappointingly, like nothing more than filler.
  2. Given its years-spanning tracklist, No One's First obviously has a retrospective flavor, but it also seems to point the way ahead for Modest Mouse, if only to suggest that the band will continue moving in opposite directions--backwards and forwards--all at once.
  3. Boring when they're not acting out, but too jarring when hitting their groove, Brock and company are forced to toe a finicky line between normalcy and absurdity.