Nocturnes - Little Boots
Nocturnes Image
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 16 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The second release for the British electro-pop singer Victoria Hesketh as Little Boots was produced by Tim Goldsworthy with contributions from Andy Butler of Hercules and Love Affair and James Ford of Simian Mobile Disco.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. May 2, 2013
    90
    It sounds fantastic throughout; there's just the right mix of intense dance floor dynamics and reverential sounds.
  2. 80
    It’s a foot-tappingly bundle of disco-pop that is not ashamed of its influences and refuses to bore for even the shortest of moments.
  3. May 3, 2013
    80
    There's plenty of interesting stuff going on throughout.
  4. 70
    The second half of the album loses momentum due to the overly long, soggy pop of "Crescendo" and "Strangers," although Nocturnes recovers nicely on the flawless synth-pop jam "All For You," where Hesketh shows off her dramatic, emotive vocals. [Jun 2013, p.98
  5. May 7, 2013
    70
    Hesketh's shrewd choice of collaborators is often squandered on rather rudimentary song structures and lyrical ideas. That doesn't make Nocturnes any less enjoyable of a dance-pop album, but it's ultimately what will keep Little Boots from becoming the next Madonna, or the next Robyn for that matter.
  6. May 6, 2013
    60
    Little Boots’ hooks rarely fall flat but can’t fully take off, either--they’re chained to the dance floor.
  7. May 13, 2013
    40
    Choruses fizzle, lyrics fail to engage and every song is at least a minute too long. [Jun 2013, p.102]

See all 24 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 1 out of 5
  1. May 16, 2013
    10
    This is a such great album, even better than her debut "hands". Nocturnes shows a Little Boots more mature and full of experiences in clubs. Her experience as a dj is involved throughout the 10 tracks. besides creating hooks and pop songs creates a dance floor to be removed only shaking it. Expand
  2. Aug 23, 2013
    9
    I like this album, but Hands is slightly better in my opinion. In Nocturnes LB has seeked influence from seventies disco and house-music. I like all the songs, but my personal favourites are; Every Night I Say A Prayer, Broken Record, Motorway, Crescendo and All For You. Collapse
  3. Dec 3, 2013
    7
    A decent effort for her sophomore release. The aspects of disco mixed in with electronic music was an interesting premise but it doesn't push as much as it probably should have. Download: Broken Record, Satellite, Shake. Expand
  4. May 7, 2013
    7
    Some song really sound DIY, others sound just so over-done. The synths in every song are amazing.

    The only thing I could say against this
    album is that Little Boots sometimes sounds like the lyrics doesn't mean anything, kinda emotion-less. I guess that's just how she sings. But that's what takes the magic off it for me. I'd like to hear her moaning over the love she lost or just gleeful on the dance-floor.

    But anyway this is an superb album, and will get stuck in your head for sure.
    Expand
  5. May 19, 2013
    3
    Little Boot’s first album was released way back in 2013. To have a five year gap between first and second albums for a pop artists is a long period. Her first album, had it’s moments, but it just felt like it got worse over repeat listens. However, I was excited to see a new album, to see which avenues of pop she would venture down; she goes down none whatsoever.

    Every track is over four minuets apart from “Every Night I Say A Prayer”. Nocturnes is more of a dance album than anything taking inspiration from eras of Electronic music gone by to create an unattractive mix of Disco/House and soft Electro. I can’t get a hold on this album, at all. The album begins with “Motorway”, which is nice, but why open with that? Maybe it’s a new beginning, I just don’t know. The album doesn’t do anything for me. It goes on and on and on. Don’t get me wrong, Daft Punk have done similar Disco sounding tracks, just look at Discovery, and I love Daft Punk, but Little Boots doesn’t handle it well. She handles 80′s synth pop with layers of possibly modern dance.

    This album doesn’t suit her, it feels out of place. I didn’t actually want to go back for a second listen, I had to force myself, because whilst it can be nice at some point, even catchy on songs like “Satellite”, I can’t tell if it’s good music, or just annoying.

    I did happen to enjoy one song, “Crescendo”. But the song actually reminds me a lot of a song by Selena Gomez and the Scene featuring Pixie Lott, not exactly the zenith of pop music, but nevertheless, it’s enjoyable. The album from “Crescendo” onwards is easier to enjoy, but track nine “All For You” feel limp, and a closer at that. I was surprised to hear another track to finish the album off, it just wouldn’t end.

    Overall, there may be something for you in this album. It does have it’s warmer elements where it doesn’t try to hard, where it can become enjoyable, but there is little substance here, I feel like you can just hold on and stay sane.
    Expand