Noel Gallagher's High Flying Birds - Noel Gallagher's High Flying Birds
User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 73 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 67 out of 73
  2. Negative: 4 out of 73

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    Brilliant album by Noel Gallagher. This album truly contains some brilliant songs with wonderful melodies. It is a shame that Noel Gallagher never seems to get proper credit in professional reviews despite making some fantastic songs. People expect him to top Definitely Maybe or WTSMG? every time he records and album. Those are outrageous expectations, but despite that Noel comes with brilliant songs and this album is proof of that. Collapse
  2. Nov 10, 2011
    8
    Noel's best work since Morning Glory. A class apart from Beady eye. A must if you're an Oasis fan, I'd still pick it up even if you're not. Only one stinker; Solider boys and Jesus freaks. Other then that a great modern album. A nice pick-me-up from the stress's of life.
  3. Nov 8, 2011
    8
    Truly a good product, even if Noel still looks at the past (Stop the Clocks would be better with Liam on vocals,Record Machine maybe not but misses Oasis' rest of the band). If I Had a Gun and Everybody's on the Run are instant classics,and the AKAs songs a pleasure in listening.. I believe in this Chief new thing
  4. Nov 9, 2011
    10
    Easily one of the best albums of the year, Noel Gallagher has proven once and for all that he deserves to be placed among the greatest songwriters of not only his generation, but all time. While many music fans and critics pine for the glory days of Oasis, Noel has consistently shown an ability to create high-quality, accessible tunes that beg to be listened to over and over.

    Often
    criticized for the simplistic nature of his songs, Noel seems to bask in throwing it in the face of those critics, realizing correctly that making great music does not mean having to reinvent the wheel. Noel admits freely that he is operating at the peak of his abilities at all times and nearly 20 years after he and Oasis burst on to the scene, most other songwriters struggle to keep up.

    I don't need to get into each track off the album, but if you want even more proof as to why Noel remains such a potent musical force, look no further than the B-sides that accompany the singles from this album. "A Simple Game of Genius" and "Let the Lord Shine a Light On Me" in particular stand as testaments to Noel's ability to almost nonchalantly pluck classic tracks out of thin air, and are better songs than most acts choose to release as singles.

    Simply put, Noel Gallagher's High Flying Birds is simply another step in the wonderful musical journey that Noel has led his legions of fans on for years. Hopefully his move to full-time solo artist will finally grab hold here in the United States where for too long people have dismissed anything written by Noel Gallagher not called "Wonderwall" or Champagne Supernova".
    Expand
  5. Nov 8, 2011
    9
    A real return to form ... the best set of songs by a Gallagher since the 90's. If you liked oasis glory days, don't miss this.

    Best songs: Everybody is on the Run (superb), If I Had a Gun, The Death of You and Me, AKA What a Life and AKA Broken Arrow
  6. Nov 8, 2011
    9
    Put simply, this is the best set of songs Noel has produced since (What's the Story) Morning Glory? The album's powerful opening with Everybody's on the Run sets the tone for the rest of the record. The songs Stop the Clocks and If I Had a Gun are the closest Noel comes to the original Oasis style, while the AKAs break new ground. Noel strikes a great balance between traditional Oasis and new material. The only real blip in the album is (Stranded On) the Wrong Beach, a song which I feel lacks punch, and would have been better omitted. Liam's rasping vocals are also missed at times, but some of the songs in Noel's newer style actually suit his cleaner voice better. All in all a triumph, and the album far surpasses Liam's effort with Beady Eye. Expand
  7. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    This is one of those rare albums that only seems to come along once every few years where every single track is golden. No filler whatsoever. It easily stands up next to Noel's best work. There's pretty good variety here with epic orchestral arrangements, softer numbers with heartfelt lyrics and vocal delivery, and some good old fashioned rock 'n' roll.
  8. Nov 26, 2011
    10
    This is a fantastic album. With no weak songs. For whatever reason some critics have it out for noel and would give a negative review no matter what the album sounded like. I also cant understand why this album isnt more popular in north america. This album is exactly what i expected from him.
  9. Nov 23, 2011
    9
    This is a really good album. Noel Gallagher's sticks to what he knows best - classic rock songs with strong melodies, all very well orchestrated. Two reasons this album loses a point from being a perfect 10 - a lack of experimentation and no energetic rockers.
  10. JFH
    Dec 20, 2011
    10
    This album is excellent. While I have always liked Oasis I was never really a rabid fan, but this album I prefer to a lot of the Oasis material. Every song on the album sticks in your mind and there is not one bad song on the entire album, which is something I rarely say even about albums I like a lot. Absolutely one of the best albums I have heard in a long time. Lots of catchy great rock songs. Expand
  11. Jan 23, 2012
    9
    This is the best album Noel has come up with in the past 15 years or so. The album is 'infectious'! It's so good that you won't take your hands off the replay button. 'If I Had a Gun...', 'AKA... What a Life!' and 'Everybody's on the Run' are simply the art of a genius!
  12. Dec 7, 2012
    8
    Noel Gallagher's High Flying Birds probably isn't an album for 20-year-old fans of Liam's sneering out the lyrics to Oasis' first hit, "Supersonic," or who crave the crunchy guitars on the title song of the band's great album. "(What's the Story) Morning Glory?"

    What Noel Gallagher's High Flying Birds is, is an album written and performed by a middle-aged rocker who's decided he's
    happier going it alone. Think Sting after his departure from The Police, though some may rightly argue that Oasis wasn't the Police and Noel is no Sting. Still, it's the kind of album that reflects aging, wisdom and maturity and that Oasis fans who've gone from mosh pit dancing to careers in mid-level management, from enthusiastic party-minded youths to parents with mortgages might find appealing. I certainly do.

    Certainly, NGHFB is high on sentimentality and the mournful notes of music reflect a longing sense of the past, from the amazing line, "Excuse me if I spoke too soon. My eyes have always followed you around the room," in "If I Had a Gun," to the strumming banjo notes of "I'd Pick You Every Time," but it's more than that, really. "AKA, What A Life" has a sense of sound that might give us a glimpse into the style of music Noel's second album might feature (hopefully!). "Everybody's on the Run" has those deeply, emotional notes, echoed in the strings that reverberate through the song, but in it, Noel seemingly thumbs his nose at his brother, Gallagher style, saying, "You've been drifting and stealing, try to walk in my shoes, but they don't belong to you."

    Certainly, NGHFB is mid-tempo music of a mid-tempo guy in the middle of his life and career. But to write this one off -- given the beauty of the lyrics and music and the known struggles of a guy departing what was, at one time, one of the biggest bands in the world -- as a mid-tempo slow rocker would be to miss the emotional impact it has. It shows a lot of growth from late-era Oasis and gives us a taste of Noel breaking the "Beatles and Stones" shackles his brother put in place. All in all, a terrific album and I look forward to hearing more from Noel in the future.
    Expand
  13. Nov 14, 2011
    9
    Fantastic solo album by Noel "God Bless" Gallagher. "Everybody's on the Run" opens as an instant classic. My favorite track "(I Wanna live in a dream in my)Record Machine".
  14. Mar 25, 2012
    8
    This is a great start for Noel Gallagher's solo career. Songs like 'Everybody's on the Run' and '(I Wanna Live in a Dream in My) Record Machine' are breathtaking. There are a few songs that aren't on the same level as the rest, but all in all this is a solid debut.
  15. DPR
    Nov 16, 2011
    9
    Noel's best album since Morning Glory. Even the b-sides and bonus songs are excellent (especially Alone On The Rope and A Simple Game Of Genius. The album is strong from start to finish. Dig Out Your Soul started off strong, but the second half of the album was pretty weak. The second half of this album is excellent, with A.K.A Broken Arrow, Soldier Boys and Jesus Freaks, and Stop the Clocks being stand out songs. Expand
  16. Nov 8, 2011
    6
    First off, the newspapers journallists that are friends with Noel should be ashamed with themselves. This is not a 10/10 or 5/5 album. I've always believed that Noel was the one with the real talent so have been eagerly waiting for a classic to blow Beady Eye away. But it hasn't happened. Truth is there's no bad songs on here but only three good ones and a very good song in "Stop the clocks" which is a decade old. It's early days in Noel's solo career so I can't write him off yet but my gut is telling me that his best years were 94-96 when he was off his face most of the time. Pipe and slippers for Mr Gallagher please! Expand
  17. Nov 8, 2011
    8
    Nothing really "new", nothing challenging & considerably better than expected - all the songs are likable. Best since the good old days and nice to know he still has some good tunes in him.
  18. Mar 7, 2012
    9
    First off this is a really good album taken on it own, however taking it in context I was expecting a little more. This is Noel Gallagher's first solo effort after almost a decade of being in a democratic Oasis where seemingly every band member gets at least one track on an album regardless of the quality of the song. Outside of a track or two on Don't Believe the Truth, neither Gem Archer or Andy Bell added anything to Oasis and if anything they held the whole thing back with there bland mid tempo rock alongs. So back to this record, I was hoping for a Noel Gallagher doing the things in the studio that he simply couldn't do with Oasis. Unfortunately he's not tread any new ground here. Most of the songs are strong but he's not made the most of the raw material here. Stop the Clocks being a prime example - it's an 8 out of 10 track whereas a little more imagination could have made it a 10 out 10. You wonder how much of the material on the record is really fresh, many of the tracks sound like Noel's really tired of them. This record is almost like The Masterplan Part II. Noel songs that didn't get the Oasis seal of approval. Still really good stuff but not quite fulfilling their potential. After all that criticism, it's still a 9 out of 10 record when it all comes down to it. Expand
  19. Nov 22, 2011
    10
    10, that's right, no doubt about it. This is bloody good! It's a well constructed thoughtful piece of work, there are no rubbish songs, any song from 1 to 10 could be released as a hit, however that's not why this is a 10. It's a 10, because it doesnâ
  20. Dec 5, 2011
    10
    This is the best album I've heard in years. It takes me back to my first discovery of my own tastes in music with Oasis' What's the Story (Morning Glory). Every track has its own great flavor and it keeps going throughout the entire album. I've already listened to it a few times and want to keep hearing it.
  21. Mar 16, 2012
    10
    One of the best album of the year; If I Had a Gun... is an istant classic, Everybody's on the run is epic, Aka...What a Life is my favourite track. I think this is Noel's best album since Morning Glory.
  22. Jun 20, 2012
    0
    This album is simply the best from Noel for a very long time,full of gentle hooky riffs and aaddictive melodies reminiscent of OASIS at the peak (morning glory).My favourite track 6 AKA What a life is already a legendary sporting anthem truly wonderful,the message to Liam is loud and clear I,m doin okay thanks Bruce ! .
  23. May 16, 2013
    5
    Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds is not only Noel Gallagher’s first post-Oasis album, but also the first of all his albums to have an at least slightly cohesive narrative. He’s insisting that he hadn’t planned on doing so while writing the songs, but it turned out to be something that you could find a connection in if you’re searching for one. But does that automatically make it better than the last four disappointing Oasis releases? It may seem so at the start, but after the finale Stop The Clocks a fake reinterpretation of classic Oasis song Champagne Supernova that has been bubbling around in Noel’s had already before the release of 2005’s Don’t Believe The Truth it’s another unfulfilling record. Noel Gallagher surprises with one fantastic song, entitled If I Had A Gun, that combines well-written and poetic lyrics with interesting instrument experiments, but most of NGHFB is plain vanilla. There’s actually no bad song on the album, but the whole vibe is a bit boring after all. Gallagher succeeded in making a new sort of music and getting away from the Oasis style, but didn’t succeed in making the music more special and interesting than in the recent Oasis albums. It may be a bit rash to say that there is no future for this new project of Noel, but I guess that he will soon realize that is days are over. Expand
  24. Aug 31, 2012
    8
    This album is better than Oasis' Dig Out Your Soul, but it is incomparable with Definitely Maybe and Morning Glory. PS I think that If I had a gun has the same chords of Wonderwall...However it's slightly better than Beady Eye's Different Gear Still Speeding.
  25. Oct 19, 2013
    8
    Let’s face it; Noel Gallagher is one of the the greatest songwriters England has produced, maybe ever. But after the lackluster last few Oasis albums Noel lazily threw songs on, we finally got to see the genius songwriter in his own element, and the long awaited curiousness did not disappoint. ”If I Had A Gun” is probably as close to “Wonderwall“‘s romanticism he’ll ever get, and “AKA…What a Life!” puts a new disco beat side to Noel’s musical palette. But the thing that hits you most in “High Flying Birds” is the absolute epicness of the album, something that never escaped Oasis, but seemed overblown and unneeded at the same time. Noel, not having his brother’s menacing stage prowess and strong Lydon-esque vocals, needed to compensate, and it worked marvelously. Expand
  26. Apr 20, 2014
    10
    the greatest debuts albums, this is one of the best debuts album, is from the chief of Oasis, Noel Gallagher, & the High Flying Birds, The Best Begin with NO END
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. Dec 22, 2011
    80
    Here, for the first time in years, the primetime Gallagher swagger is back, in a more mature form. [Nov 2011, p.94]
  2. Nov 28, 2011
    65
    The fact that this debut hews closer to the Noel we know certainly shouldn't be a disappointment.
  3. Nov 22, 2011
    70
    Wrapped in guitars, strings, brass and reverb like a psychedelic Union Jack, he's in full flashback mode.