Noel Gallagher's High Flying Birds - Noel Gallagher's High Flying Birds
Noel Gallagher's High Flying Birds Image
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 68 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Band members: Noel Gallagher
  • Summary: Noel Gallagher of Oasis returns with his debut solo album, which also includes Mike Rowe, former keyboardist for Oasis; Jeremy Stacy of The Lemon Trees; Lenny Castro; and the Crouch End Festival Chorus.
  • Record Label: Island
  • Genre(s): Britpop, Pop/Rock, Alternative/Indie Rock, Alternative Pop/Rock, British Trad Rock
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. Oct 17, 2011
    100
    High Flying Birds is the best collection of Gallagher tunes since his Morning Glory days.
  2. Oct 21, 2011
    80
    High Flying Birds isn't a total knockout, but it should keep Liam sleeping with at least one Beady Eye open.
  3. Nov 17, 2011
    80
    His deftly executed--and surprisingly eclectic--debut features flourishes that Liam never would have allowed.
  4. Oct 17, 2011
    70
    It suits him well, and he knows it.
  5. So, for now we're left with another Noel Gallagher album that continues in the same trend of most of Oasis' output, trying to be something greater than it is. But hey, at least it's better than Beady Eye.
  6. Oct 17, 2011
    60
    Lyrically, there are interesting ruminations on the trappings of fame ('(I Wanna Live In A Dream In My) Record Machine') and his troubled mind ('Broken Arrow'), while the album is all the better for losing some of the bravado Noel hid behind while writing for Liam--but there are admittedly some clunkers.
  7. Oct 17, 2011
    40
    For now, then, Gallagher's High Flying Birds are merely coasting.

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 26
  2. Negative: 1 out of 26
  1. JFH
    Dec 20, 2011
    10
    This album is excellent. While I have always liked Oasis I was never really a rabid fan, but this album I prefer to a lot of the Oasis material. Every song on the album sticks in your mind and there is not one bad song on the entire album, which is something I rarely say even about albums I like a lot. Absolutely one of the best albums I have heard in a long time. Lots of catchy great rock songs. Expand
  2. Nov 26, 2011
    10
    This is a fantastic album. With no weak songs. For whatever reason some critics have it out for noel and would give a negative review no matter what the album sounded like. I also cant understand why this album isnt more popular in north america. This album is exactly what i expected from him. Expand
  3. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    Brilliant album by Noel Gallagher. This album truly contains some brilliant songs with wonderful melodies. It is a shame that Noel Gallagher never seems to get proper credit in professional reviews despite making some fantastic songs. People expect him to top Definitely Maybe or WTSMG? every time he records and album. Those are outrageous expectations, but despite that Noel comes with brilliant songs and this album is proof of that. Expand
  4. Nov 23, 2011
    9
    This is a really good album. Noel Gallagher's sticks to what he knows best - classic rock songs with strong melodies, all very well orchestrated. Two reasons this album loses a point from being a perfect 10 - a lack of experimentation and no energetic rockers. Expand
  5. Nov 10, 2011
    8
    Noel's best work since Morning Glory. A class apart from Beady eye. A must if you're an Oasis fan, I'd still pick it up even if you're not. Only one stinker; Solider boys and Jesus freaks. Other then that a great modern album. A nice pick-me-up from the stress's of life. Expand
  6. Dec 7, 2012
    8
    Noel Gallagher's High Flying Birds probably isn't an album for 20-year-old fans of Liam's sneering out the lyrics to Oasis' first hit, "Supersonic," or who crave the crunchy guitars on the title song of the band's great album. "(What's the Story) Morning Glory?"

    What Noel Gallagher's High Flying Birds is, is an album written and performed by a middle-aged rocker who's decided he's happier going it alone. Think Sting after his departure from The Police, though some may rightly argue that Oasis wasn't the Police and Noel is no Sting. Still, it's the kind of album that reflects aging, wisdom and maturity and that Oasis fans who've gone from mosh pit dancing to careers in mid-level management, from enthusiastic party-minded youths to parents with mortgages might find appealing. I certainly do.

    Certainly, NGHFB is high on sentimentality and the mournful notes of music reflect a longing sense of the past, from the amazing line, "Excuse me if I spoke too soon. My eyes have always followed you around the room," in "If I Had a Gun," to the strumming banjo notes of "I'd Pick You Every Time," but it's more than that, really. "AKA, What A Life" has a sense of sound that might give us a glimpse into the style of music Noel's second album might feature (hopefully!). "Everybody's on the Run" has those deeply, emotional notes, echoed in the strings that reverberate through the song, but in it, Noel seemingly thumbs his nose at his brother, Gallagher style, saying, "You've been drifting and stealing, try to walk in my shoes, but they don't belong to you."

    Certainly, NGHFB is mid-tempo music of a mid-tempo guy in the middle of his life and career. But to write this one off -- given the beauty of the lyrics and music and the known struggles of a guy departing what was, at one time, one of the biggest bands in the world -- as a mid-tempo slow rocker would be to miss the emotional impact it has. It shows a lot of growth from late-era Oasis and gives us a taste of Noel breaking the "Beatles and Stones" shackles his brother put in place. All in all, a terrific album and I look forward to hearing more from Noel in the future.
    Expand
  7. Jun 20, 2012
    0
    This album is simply the best from Noel for a very long time,full of gentle hooky riffs and aaddictive melodies reminiscent of OASIS at the peak (morning glory).My favourite track 6 AKA What a life is already a legendary sporting anthem truly wonderful,the message to Liam is loud and clear I,m doin okay thanks Bruce ! . Expand

See all 26 User Reviews