Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 19
  2. Negative: 1 out of 19
  1. These B sides and studio ephemera, by turns folksy and noisy, demonstrate his appeal. [27 Oct 2006, p.73]
  2. This album works adequately, maybe exclusively, within the folds of Bright Eyes' self-contained space, and that's really not such a bad thing.
  3. Noise Floor is a smattering of moods and modes all tied together by Oberst’s love-it-or-loathe-it voice.
  4. 70
    This orderly collection of messy leftovers suits his disheveled talents. [Nov 2006, p.137]
  5. On the whole, Noise Floor is a fascinating concoction of delights that documents the rise of one of underground USA's most prestigious talents.
  6. Half of the fun of this collection is watching Oberst working out his dead ends. [#15]
  7. Each tune is utterly lovely in its own right, but--my God--are they depressing. [7 Oct 2006, p.39]
  8. This captures a less self-conscious Oberst, which is often a better Oberst.
  9. Several of these [tracks] match Oberst's best work.
  10. It has some nice tracks, some experiments and more than a few keepers, and, yes, it’s almost exclusively a fan-only proposition.
  11. While the album isn't arranged chronologically, listening to it as such reveals the series of intuitive leaps between lo-fi bedroom folk that emphasized monotonous gloom and cacophonous samples to comparatively laid-back country biased toward majestic arrangements and electronic beats.
  12. The songs on Noise Floor don’t rank with his best, but there’s a reckless spirit to the endeavor that’s alluring, and representative of his music overall.
  13. Part of the problem is that faced with a performer as low-fi and minimal as Conor Oberst in the first place, many of the unfinished demos presented here, such as I Will Be Grateful This Day and Seashell Tale, sound much, much too thin.
  14. It may not be the best introduction to the band, but it's a must-have for hardcore fans of Conor Oberst's vocal discordance and stripped-down musical tantrums.
  15. 60
    Sometimes enthralling, sometimes throwaway. [Nov 2006, p.120]
  16. A set of modestly sparkling gems. [Dec 2006, p.147]
  17. Noise Floor presents a mixed bag that will enthrall hardcore Conorites but leave others frequently reaching for the skip button.
  18. 50
    There's a lot of Conor the Character Actor in these folk-rock set pieces. [Nov 2006, p.96]
  19. It shows little of Oberst’s usual dramatic flair.
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 18 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 11
  2. Negative: 2 out of 11
  1. Oct 1, 2013
    10
    I really can't believe this is a B-sides album. I absolutely love Bright Eyes and everything else Conor has done but this is my favorite albumI really can't believe this is a B-sides album. I absolutely love Bright Eyes and everything else Conor has done but this is my favorite album by far. The songs are all so different but still flow so well together. A hauntingly beautiful CD. Full Review »
  2. drewc
    Apr 19, 2007
    9
    these are b-sides??? there are a couple duds (mainly the earliest stuff) but i think very few artists can create non-album tracks this good. these are b-sides??? there are a couple duds (mainly the earliest stuff) but i think very few artists can create non-album tracks this good. his song writing amazes me! Full Review »
  3. JeremyF
    Apr 12, 2007
    6
    Not his best, but a few fantastic songs. um... yeah, Kevin. Bryan Adams is a great example. And Isobel Campbell... two in one year. Both exceptional.