None Shall Pass

  • Record Label: Def Jux
  • Release Date: Aug 28, 2007
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. It's Christmas come early, and None Shall Pass won't disappoint his fervent admirers.
  2. Urb
    60
    His vocal patterns on None Shall Pass are enthralling, but they mean absolutely nothing. [Sep/Oct 2007, p.127]
  3. The album is as solid as its maker's last name but so predictable you could set your Flavor Flav clock to it.
  4. Alternative Press
    60
    It peaks on 'Coffee,' a wonderfully weird, ska-tinged duet with the Mountain Goats' John Darnielle that flat out rocks. [Oct 2007, p.170]
  5. Indie rap's wordiest wordsmith unleashes another dose of dense, hyper-enunciated rhymes filled with poetic imagery.
  6. Q Magazine
    60
    Ian Bavitz delivers some typically extravagant wordplay. [Oct 2007, p.101]
  7. Vibe
    50
    This once-fiery, if rambling, thinker now sounds like a man cooled off. [Sep 2007, p.130]
  8. Blender
    40
    Bitter, cold and insular, None Shall Pass is also profoundly (if proudly) out of step. [Sep 2007, p.124]
User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 41 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Sep 10, 2011
    10
    Great album, with masterfully blended lyrics. One of my favorite albums of all time, you will listen to this only understanding half of theGreat album, with masterfully blended lyrics. One of my favorite albums of all time, you will listen to this only understanding half of the things he raps. All his songs will need 5+ listens to begin to comprehend his lyrics. Full Review »
  2. tomuncle
    Nov 19, 2007
    10
    good stuff.
  3. Jan 8, 2016
    9
    A classic. I loved this album and still listen to it all the time. I think it is one of Aesop's best albums. Hard beats and complicatedA classic. I loved this album and still listen to it all the time. I think it is one of Aesop's best albums. Hard beats and complicated lyrics. Some classic songs and great featured artists. And not for every hip hop fan either. It is very unique but worth a listen. Full Review »