Northern Aggression

  • Record Label: Yep Roc
  • Release Date: Nov 30, 2010

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
Buy On
  1. Dec 8, 2010
    Northern Aggression rocks as ferociously as anything Wynn has ever done.
  2. 88
    L.A.'s veteran indie rocker is on a tear in his third outing with the up-for-anything Miracle 3 - guitarist Jason Victor, drummer Linda Pitmon and bassist Dave DeCastro - fusing Wynn's penchant for Americana rock, psychedelia, brutal punk and extended jams into an intriguingly seductive blend.
  3. Apr 13, 2011
    Northern Aggression, made with his long-running Miracle 3, is a new peak in that hard-boiled moral aggression.
  4. Uncut
    Dec 20, 2010
    An audacious, risk-taking tour de force, it locates itself in the upper reaches of Steve Wynn's increasingly daunting canon. [Jan 2011, p.87]
  5. Dec 8, 2010
    The album is not only perfectly balanced; it stands out as a bright (black) light amid the dross of postmillennial rock.
  6. Dec 8, 2010
    Scrapbook glories like Dream Syndicate's The Days of Wine and Roses drowned his songs in raw noise, but as many singers do in middle age, Wynn has achieved balance along with his new riffs. Let's hope he finds some more down in his basement for the follow-up.

There are no user reviews yet.