Nostradamus - Judas Priest
Nostradamus Image

Mixed or average reviews - based on 7 Critics What's this?

User Score

Universal acclaim- based on 73 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Rob Halford leads the metal band's latest release, a concept album based on the prophet Nostradamus.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. It’s a ridiculous album, sure, but take "Defenders of the Faith," replace the Metallion with Nostradamus, double the number of awesome riffs, add the occasional pan flute and symphonic embellishments, and you have the most grandiose metal record likely to be released this year.
  2. The Brummie veterans' 16th studio album is every bit as gloriously over-the-top and ludicrous as you might imagine. [Aug 2008, p.135]
  3. 60
    The piano-led 'New Beginnings' is one of several sombre mood pieces on what is the most ambitious work of the band's 40-year career. But fear not, headbangers: 'Revelation,' all chugging rifferama and panto villany, prove that Priest are still mad for it. Metal, that is. [July 2008, p.100]
  4. It all makes for a bewildering package, sometimes exhilarating, sometimes middling, and sometimes astonishingly bad, and while a good 45 minutes’ worth of Nostradamus is fully deserving of high praise, on a 100-minute double album, that’s nowhere near enough.
  5. Some of the music is brilliant, some is numbingly indulgent.
  6. The songs themselves are hit or miss, with the emphasis falling on the latter, due mostly to an over-reliance on three-chord, midtempo filler, but as is the case with nearly every Priest offering, when they're on they're dead on.
  7. Nostradamus isn't likely to surprise you--this is softcore for the hardcore.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 50
  2. Negative: 1 out of 50
  1. Jul 12, 2014
    Wow .. an epic album from Metal Gods !! This album is great!! 23 wonderful songs make this album a masterpiece...All songs are dramatic..Only Judas are able to make that album Expand
  2. Jul 31, 2014
    This is a fantastic album. Production is great. Everything can be heard clearly. Halfords voice is wonderful.

    I don't understand the flack
    people give this album. Its a great long piece of music that took real effort. No ...its not 10 songs about rockin and rollin ... rollin and rockin ..... THANKFULLY

    Great concept, great execution. I love it. I love that they did this album and in the end I think everyone will be able to say "you know that was an awesome record" rather than complain it wasn't painkiller. Painkiller of course is awesome too. But they already made that album and tried something new. Which worked. Different for sure and a gamble. But after 40 years ... do you really want the exact same formula every time? I don't. This one worked for me.

    The only problem I have with this record is the vinyl release was packed horrible in vinyl eating sleeves. Everyone I know who bought one cant play them without hearing the shoosh and swish of burnt vinyl surface. Too bad.
  3. Nov 28, 2011
    The Album kicks off with "Dawn of Creation". Which wasn't anything special. Before the Album actually got going with "Prophecy". And then a filler, "Awakening". Before, "Revelations" continues to make the album a Masterpiece. After that, it begins to go downhill for a little bit. Until "Persecution" shows a little hope for the rest of the Album. The first half, is just full of 1 minute long fillers that just aren't interesting. And the 2nd half? Nostradamus was the only song there that was actually worth listening to. The rest of it was just orchestra and stuff like that. Other then the over-lengthy "Future Of Mankind." Overall, Nostradamus began mixed. But eventually became boring. Hopefully Priest will come up with something much more worth listening to then this next time Expand

See all 50 User Reviews