User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 46 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 46
  2. Negative: 7 out of 46

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JosephA
    Feb 8, 2007
    4
    Boring. New tricks for the same old dog. Not 3rd album material. If this were the second record I'd probably love it. But as #3, it stinks. Time for a new dog,
  2. steveh
    Mar 7, 2007
    10
    perfect. just what I was expecting to emanate from norah jones' heart and soul.
  3. HW
    Jan 31, 2007
    10
    Great album. Rich sound, wonderful texture. Certainly not a wholesale departure, but why mess with success? Norah builds on the solid foundation that got her here by artfully adding a new level of sophistication.
  4. FredB
    Feb 12, 2007
    9
    At first listen, I was mildly disappointed; but this album grows on me every day. I always loved the songs Norah wrote, and this album is all Norah. Now, it's my favorite Norah Jones album. This isn't background music, and I strongly recommend that anyone listen to it fairly loud on a good stereo system -- focusing on words and music -- before they judge it.
  5. carriel
    Feb 2, 2007
    9
    Beautiful album. Smooth and warming. Best tracks are: BROKEN. MY DEAR COUNTRY, THINKING ABOUT YOU.
  6. RickS
    Feb 20, 2007
    2
    What in the hell is this, she tried to copy every style of music because she's Norah Jones, please. I really thought she was gonna be consistent and powerful instead she gets caught up in some sort of style wash, i'm not saying don't try different styles but please don't shove it down our throats. Die hard and i mean die hard fans are gonna like this, and in about a What in the hell is this, she tried to copy every style of music because she's Norah Jones, please. I really thought she was gonna be consistent and powerful instead she gets caught up in some sort of style wash, i'm not saying don't try different styles but please don't shove it down our throats. Die hard and i mean die hard fans are gonna like this, and in about a year or two there going to say why the hell was i ever listening to this crap. She has a soulful, beautiful voice that could have taken us back and remain solid, instead she sounds like she's singing other people songs. Expand
  7. KarenA
    Feb 5, 2007
    3
    I am a huge Norah Jones fan, but this CD was blah!!! The only song of any interest was "not too late." Also, Norah has a right to express her political opinions "my dear country," but I purchase her CD's to enjoy her music and relax. I can get my fill of political opinions from talk radio and TV news channels. I loved her first CD (bought 3 of them), her 2nd not so much and the last I am a huge Norah Jones fan, but this CD was blah!!! The only song of any interest was "not too late." Also, Norah has a right to express her political opinions "my dear country," but I purchase her CD's to enjoy her music and relax. I can get my fill of political opinions from talk radio and TV news channels. I loved her first CD (bought 3 of them), her 2nd not so much and the last one, I will probably not play again. Thanks for listening!!! Expand
  8. JohnH
    Feb 8, 2007
    4
    Nora's silky jazz voice is wasted on simplistic and immature notions put to lyrics. Such a sophisticated and talented voice is betrayed by too much sophmoric prattle.
  9. AaronL
    Mar 7, 2007
    10
    Nora has done it again... An Amazing sound... and deep lerics ... Takes me away to some smoky bar in New Orleans...
  10. VikasS
    Apr 17, 2007
    7
    I liked sinkin' soon the best. The rest is quiet mellow and sombre. The albumn makes a perfect lounge room companion when you have a few guests over for martinis and cocktails.
  11. JerrodL.
    Jan 29, 2007
    8
    My favorite Norah Jones album yet.
  12. JerryA
    Jan 31, 2007
    9
    A little different for her, but excellent as always.
  13. wangl
    Jan 30, 2007
    4
    Snora Jones.
  14. helenej
    Feb 1, 2007
    10
    Norah Jones' most personal album with darker strains underneath the smooth surface. A moving beautiful record. And Mrs Jones' voice, as irresistible as always.
  15. S
    Feb 17, 2007
    9
    Best album from Norah Jones so far. Gets the balance between optimism and darkness just right lyrically, and her voice is as magnificent as ever. Perhaps not as immediate or commercial as her preceding albums, but all the better for it, quite frankly.
  16. JoyCure
    Feb 7, 2007
    10
    Wonderfully moving. A great album, as usual. Couldn't wait to get it and I was not dissappointed a bit.
  17. BadgerG
    Mar 13, 2007
    1
    Huh? What? oh sorry I was listening to this album and I must have dozed off. Do people actually like this boring crap, I mean, to listen to?
  18. [Anonymous]
    Apr 1, 2007
    0
    I'm sorry, but this cd was a total disappointment. Her first two CD's were fun, witty, and exciting. This one however was boring, uninspiring, and not clever at all. The beats arnt catchy or fun at all, and the lyrics either sound as if shes trying too hard (as in sinkin' soon, where half the song is odd food metaphores), or they are just plain lame (as in My Dear Country, I'm sorry, but this cd was a total disappointment. Her first two CD's were fun, witty, and exciting. This one however was boring, uninspiring, and not clever at all. The beats arnt catchy or fun at all, and the lyrics either sound as if shes trying too hard (as in sinkin' soon, where half the song is odd food metaphores), or they are just plain lame (as in My Dear Country, where she tries to make a political statement, but it just ends up sounding weird). In my opinion, this is a deffinate do not buy. Expand
  19. Peter
    Aug 22, 2008
    1
    I agree, this cd is very boring. Never before in my life I regretted more that I bought a cd. At least on Soul Mining from The The there is one good song, this album has none! It sounds lame, I wish I could return it.
  20. NickM
    Jan 31, 2007
    2
    honestly, i was rather disappointed with this cd. her first two albums blew me away they were so amazing, however i thought this one was very sub-par. the songs were not very clever or inspiring, and there was only one or two songs that were memorable.
  21. LawrenceL
    Jan 31, 2007
    10
    beautiful album.
  22. JeffN.
    Jan 31, 2007
    9
    Critics have said that this album shows Norah needing to "show [us] more than this..." In my opinion, I'm just happy to get some new music from one of my favorite artists!
  23. CharlesB
    Feb 11, 2007
    0
    The melodies are pleasant, though forgettable, and the lyrics are those of a dreamy high schooler with little contact with the real world and an inability to think in anything but a superficial way.
  24. RobertZ
    Apr 18, 2007
    10
    Not too late! Awesome performance that was better than her last effort. I rate this a "10" all the way.
  25. Jun 29, 2012
    7
    A little too much guitar and not enough piano. I know she was trying something new and for that she is to be commended but sticking to what worked so well on the previous albums would have been a better choice.
  26. Nov 9, 2012
    8
    Not Too Late, the third release from Norah Jones, still showcases her beautiful voice, but I think the lyrics could've cut a little deeper than they did.
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. The darker, more mischievous mood at work is perfectly complemented by arrangements that are as inventive as they are austere.
  2. A very good showcase for Jones's evolution as a writer and musician.
  3. Sonically, at least, the album takes only a small step away from the latte-lover mainstream.