Not Too Late

User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 46 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 46
  2. Negative: 7 out of 46

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. steveh
    Mar 7, 2007
    10
    perfect. just what I was expecting to emanate from norah jones' heart and soul.
  2. HW
    Jan 31, 2007
    10
    Great album. Rich sound, wonderful texture. Certainly not a wholesale departure, but why mess with success? Norah builds on the solid foundation that got her here by artfully adding a new level of sophistication.
  3. FredB
    Feb 12, 2007
    9
    At first listen, I was mildly disappointed; but this album grows on me every day. I always loved the songs Norah wrote, and this album is all Norah. Now, it's my favorite Norah Jones album. This isn't background music, and I strongly recommend that anyone listen to it fairly loud on a good stereo system -- focusing on words and music -- before they judge it.
  4. carriel
    Feb 2, 2007
    9
    Beautiful album. Smooth and warming. Best tracks are: BROKEN. MY DEAR COUNTRY, THINKING ABOUT YOU.
  5. AaronL
    Mar 7, 2007
    10
    Nora has done it again... An Amazing sound... and deep lerics ... Takes me away to some smoky bar in New Orleans...
  6. VikasS
    Apr 17, 2007
    7
    I liked sinkin' soon the best. The rest is quiet mellow and sombre. The albumn makes a perfect lounge room companion when you have a few guests over for martinis and cocktails.
  7. JerrodL.
    Jan 29, 2007
    8
    My favorite Norah Jones album yet.
  8. JerryA
    Jan 31, 2007
    9
    A little different for her, but excellent as always.
  9. helenej
    Feb 1, 2007
    10
    Norah Jones' most personal album with darker strains underneath the smooth surface. A moving beautiful record. And Mrs Jones' voice, as irresistible as always.
  10. S
    Feb 17, 2007
    9
    Best album from Norah Jones so far. Gets the balance between optimism and darkness just right lyrically, and her voice is as magnificent as ever. Perhaps not as immediate or commercial as her preceding albums, but all the better for it, quite frankly.
  11. JoyCure
    Feb 7, 2007
    10
    Wonderfully moving. A great album, as usual. Couldn't wait to get it and I was not dissappointed a bit.
  12. LawrenceL
    Jan 31, 2007
    10
    beautiful album.
  13. JeffN.
    Jan 31, 2007
    9
    Critics have said that this album shows Norah needing to "show [us] more than this..." In my opinion, I'm just happy to get some new music from one of my favorite artists!
  14. RobertZ
    Apr 18, 2007
    10
    Not too late! Awesome performance that was better than her last effort. I rate this a "10" all the way.
  15. Jun 29, 2012
    7
    A little too much guitar and not enough piano. I know she was trying something new and for that she is to be commended but sticking to what worked so well on the previous albums would have been a better choice.
  16. Nov 9, 2012
    8
    Not Too Late, the third release from Norah Jones, still showcases her beautiful voice, but I think the lyrics could've cut a little deeper than they did.
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. The darker, more mischievous mood at work is perfectly complemented by arrangements that are as inventive as they are austere.
  2. A very good showcase for Jones's evolution as a writer and musician.
  3. Sonically, at least, the album takes only a small step away from the latte-lover mainstream.