Not Your Kind of People

User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 40 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 40
  2. Negative: 2 out of 40
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 27, 2012
    8
    This is a highly enjoyable, energetic effort from Garbage, and it is easy to see that they enjoyed making this album. Not Your Kind Of People does suffer from overproduction in spots, namely the first track on the album, which lays the effects on far too thick, and drowns out Shirley's voice, which is unfortunate. The title track is probably my favorite track on the album, but there aren'tThis is a highly enjoyable, energetic effort from Garbage, and it is easy to see that they enjoyed making this album. Not Your Kind Of People does suffer from overproduction in spots, namely the first track on the album, which lays the effects on far too thick, and drowns out Shirley's voice, which is unfortunate. The title track is probably my favorite track on the album, but there aren't any tracks I disliked, only a few that I felt were overproduced. Expand
  2. May 29, 2012
    8
    Well its the same good old Garbage.Yes it might sound outdated and too familiar.But that's why I like them. It has that pseudo alt rock feeling that I personally like the most about this band.Its a guilty pleasure if you will,a nostalgic feeling that you get from hearing beautiful Shirley Manson being sexy angry :) If you are someone like me,an old Garbage fan, than this record is for youWell its the same good old Garbage.Yes it might sound outdated and too familiar.But that's why I like them. It has that pseudo alt rock feeling that I personally like the most about this band.Its a guilty pleasure if you will,a nostalgic feeling that you get from hearing beautiful Shirley Manson being sexy angry :) If you are someone like me,an old Garbage fan, than this record is for you to check out. Expand
  3. May 22, 2012
    10
    A welcome return by one of the 90's best bands. They have released consistently good albums and with this record have reached a new pinnacle of awesomeness. The tracks are all strong and, praise be, don't sound like everything else out there on mainstream radio. Highlights are "Automatic Systematic Habit", "Control" and the glorious "I Hate Love". DEFINITELY my kind of people.
  4. May 25, 2012
    10
    This is an exceptionally well-crafted album from terrific songwriters, and they sound as good as ever. As evidenced in their recent concerts, the band is at their peak--and Shirley Manson is incomparable--and it appears that they are enjoying their freedom from record labels and ability to do what they do best: simply make outstanding music.
  5. May 23, 2012
    9
    It's awesome to see them back. Felt a little disappointed when first heard it but it blew my mind like all the other Garbage albums after listening to it several times. Every song is Garbage but not that Garbage. They are getting old but never getting infirm. It just feels so good to have all these alternative digital-rock sound around again. They are still cool and cold in this new worldIt's awesome to see them back. Felt a little disappointed when first heard it but it blew my mind like all the other Garbage albums after listening to it several times. Every song is Garbage but not that Garbage. They are getting old but never getting infirm. It just feels so good to have all these alternative digital-rock sound around again. They are still cool and cold in this new world full of aimless and formulaic pop/dance songs and countless other dance-dabbling, electronically tinged rock acts. They are still not "your kind of people". They are extraordinary people. Expand
  6. May 22, 2012
    10
    Holy mother of God,
    They are back and better than ever. Shirley Manson sounds as good as she always has. "Not Your Kind of People" is THE ALBUM of the year! "Automatic Systematic Habit" delivers dance rock with a little Garbage twist "I won't be your dirty little secret." "Big Bright World" is the anthem of the album. "Blood for Poppies" is an adrenaline rush for your imagination.
    Holy mother of God,
    They are back and better than ever. Shirley Manson sounds as good as she always has. "Not Your Kind of People" is THE ALBUM of the year! "Automatic Systematic Habit" delivers dance rock with a little Garbage twist "I won't be your dirty little secret." "Big Bright World" is the anthem of the album. "Blood for Poppies" is an adrenaline rush for your imagination. "Control" may be the next "Push It." 'Not Your Kind of People" is incredibly moving. 'Felt" creeps up your spine with it's 90's-esque grunge guitars and Manson's flawless voice. "I Have Love" one of my favorites delivers the truth wholeheartedly while making it completely beautiful. "Sugar" is my absolute favorite. "Sugar" sounds like it would've came straight out of "Version 2.0" with it's Trip- hop flare and Manson's spine tingling "Won't someone love me... like you." Then she whispers "..Sugar." Which is guaranteed to creep up your spine. "Battle in Me" much like "Sugar" sounds straight out of "Version 2.0". "Man on a Wire" is Shirley and the band's wild pissed off side. It's incredibly sexy and has a little bit of punk in it. Last but not least "Beloved Freak" is the anthem of it's okay to be yourself. It delivers a beautiful message. This whole album is 10/10 for me. A definite MUST BUY!
    Expand
  7. May 23, 2012
    9
    Not Your Kind Of People opens immense synth sounds of the energizing electronic rocker "Automatic Systematic Habit". It is followed by the U2-easque anthemic "Big Bright World". The lead single of the album impresses with a surreal lyrics (inspired by a war documentary on the war in Afghanistan) and hard guitars riffs a-la Why Do You Love Me. The best tracks however are still to come andNot Your Kind Of People opens immense synth sounds of the energizing electronic rocker "Automatic Systematic Habit". It is followed by the U2-easque anthemic "Big Bright World". The lead single of the album impresses with a surreal lyrics (inspired by a war documentary on the war in Afghanistan) and hard guitars riffs a-la Why Do You Love Me. The best tracks however are still to come and if there needs to be one word to describe them it will be "diverse". Stand out tracks are Control, Sugar and I Hate Love all of which could be potential singles. Lyric-wise the album is not as strong and metaphor driven as the first Garbage record but for most of the songs the simplicity works (even though it should be noted that in places it does seem cheesy).

    People who expect Garbage to focus on one genre / style simply do not know what this band stands for. They will never produce just a fully commercial pop album, or a straight-forward rock album, or an alternative, dance or whatever album. Garbage were always about mixing genres, styles and beats from all kinds of backgrounds, which might sound inconsistent at a first glance but they have always managed to twist them in a way to create and eclectic unique sounding audio-mixture. This was always appreciated by the fans of the band who could hardly find another band sounding as diverse as Garbage. For the exact same fact though the band was never fully accepted by radio stations or critics as they would put out a straight rock stomper followed by a cheerful synthy pop song and then a moody trip-hop ballad. For all of the above reasons Not Your Kind Of People works perfectly and is definitely a must-buy record.
    Expand
  8. May 29, 2012
    9
    Not Your Kind of People is a tour de force for Garbage. They have always been a solid pop rock band making highly underrated albums. 2004's Bleed Like Me was proof the band was being over looked and discredited. From their two highly influential albums in the 90's (Garbage, '95 - Version 2.0, '98) to their brilliantly eclectic and slightly underwhelming album Beautiful Garbage in 2001. NotNot Your Kind of People is a tour de force for Garbage. They have always been a solid pop rock band making highly underrated albums. 2004's Bleed Like Me was proof the band was being over looked and discredited. From their two highly influential albums in the 90's (Garbage, '95 - Version 2.0, '98) to their brilliantly eclectic and slightly underwhelming album Beautiful Garbage in 2001. Not Your Kind of People is all of their albums wrapped up into one but also offering something very new as well. The new material sounds like it will be talked about in fifteen years. This band has saying power. If you like pop and like to rock blast some Garbage! Key Tracks: Automatic Systematic Habit, Big Bright World, Blood For Poppies, Control, Not Your Kind of People, Felt, I Hate Love, Battle In Me. I give the album 4.5 out of 5 stars. (ignore the deluxe version, the bonus tracks are all filler - stick with the standard version) Expand
  9. Jun 19, 2012
    8
    Perhaps the album I've anticipated the most in the past year, "Not Your Kind of People" is finally released after a long hiatus that threatened not to ever end, leaving us with, well, garbage, with their last album. However, when their best of compilation was released, along with new single, "Tell Me Where it Hurts," I longed for the elements of their trademark sound to return at somePerhaps the album I've anticipated the most in the past year, "Not Your Kind of People" is finally released after a long hiatus that threatened not to ever end, leaving us with, well, garbage, with their last album. However, when their best of compilation was released, along with new single, "Tell Me Where it Hurts," I longed for the elements of their trademark sound to return at some point, but their internal strife made it seem like it would never happen.

    To be honest, I was hoping for what had been rumored, which was an album of "downer" songs. It's, frankly, what they do best. Shirley Manson is the queen of depressing, sad, yet sexy, songs that the guys have done magical jobs of supporting with equally haunting music. "Milk," "Cup of Coffee," "The Trick is to Keep Breathing" and "You Look So Fine" are mainstays on my playlists to this day. Howevr, I would have taken anything from a well-rested Garbage.

    The wait culminated in the perfectly produced "Not Your Kind of People," which is anything but "downer" songs. In fact, there isn't one of their typical "downer" songs on the whole album except mildly for the title track and the uncharacteristically upbeat "I Hate Love,", which shocked me. However, from the opening riff of "Automatc Systematic Habit," Garbage fans are going to be thrilled. These guys are pros and it shows. Every song seamlessly melts into the next.

    While the sound is generally unchanged, highlights for me include, "Automatic Systematic Habt," ""Blood for Poppies," "Beloved Freak," "I Hate Love" and "Felt," and "Bright Tonight," both of which sound like classic Tanya Donelly-driven Throwing Muses or, as I've always compared Shirley to, Rose Carlotti of the Heartthrobs. In fact, "Bright Tonight" is very different for Garbage as it is even more ethereal vocally than normal with an alt-pop musical support.

    Overall, "Not Your Kind of People" is the best album Garbage has done since Version 2.0, even though I do hope they eventually release that downer album. Until then, I'm happy to hear them back in form.
    Expand
  10. Oct 3, 2012
    9
    After digesting Not Your Kind of People for several months now its obviously incredibly fun, loud and ballsy - easily their best since Version 2.0. Chock-full of monster hits it has no filler - almost like a Greatest Hits which is the only real shortfall here because the songs stand on their own so much that it sounds more like a mix tape and slightly less cohesive than their best albums.
  11. Jan 1, 2013
    10
    Definitely one of the band's best records. It has everything that made Garbage who they are now, plus it still manages to add something new that Garbage never had, a new sensibility that can be heard on tracks like Sugar and Beloved Freak. It takes a little time to get into the record, at first some songs sound bland, some sound like a mess. But after a while it gets simply addictive.Definitely one of the band's best records. It has everything that made Garbage who they are now, plus it still manages to add something new that Garbage never had, a new sensibility that can be heard on tracks like Sugar and Beloved Freak. It takes a little time to get into the record, at first some songs sound bland, some sound like a mess. But after a while it gets simply addictive. Some of the tracks like Battle In Me, Control, Blood For Poppies and Sugar really resound epicness. Best 2012 record. Expand
  12. Jan 10, 2013
    10
    Absolutely brilliant! This album is just as good as any of Garbage's other masterpieces. Let's hope Shirley and the gang are here to stay!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  13. Jul 8, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I'm going to do this review from the video game perspective: this song defines the world of Metal Gear and how it portrays how human looking they are but in reality they are so different from one another it's not even funny it's actually scary lol but in the end i think you will enjoy it Expand
  14. Mar 23, 2014
    9
    I like it... but it's definitely not their best album. It's kind of poppy, and less rock then Garbage's other albums. The best tracks are "I Hate Love", "Blood For Poppies", and "Not Your Kind Of People."
  15. Nov 13, 2013
    8
    Probably one of the strongest albums released by the band to date. This album is truly a grower but packs a wallop! The first single "Blood for Poppies" is one of the finer tracks found here but "Control", "I Hate Love" and "Automatic Systematic Habit" are worth listening to a few hundred times as well.
  16. Jun 12, 2014
    9
    Classic Garbage. A welcome alternative return by a great band. Kept true to themselves, but sound totally fresh. Great soundscape, great fusion of musical sensibilities. Somewhat similar vibe to their first two records. Control, I Hate Love, deluxe track The One, and Beloved Freak are highlights. Very strong album, particularly when taken as deluxe, which includes some great bonus tracks,Classic Garbage. A welcome alternative return by a great band. Kept true to themselves, but sound totally fresh. Great soundscape, great fusion of musical sensibilities. Somewhat similar vibe to their first two records. Control, I Hate Love, deluxe track The One, and Beloved Freak are highlights. Very strong album, particularly when taken as deluxe, which includes some great bonus tracks, as per usual. Only those who always disliked them dislike their return. 9/10 Expand
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 28
  2. Negative: 2 out of 28
  1. 70
    All of the pop-coated rock that was immediately catchy, aggressive, melodic, seductive, melancholic, and driven from those two albums [Garbage and Version 2.0] can be found here – from the ramped up, unrelenting beats to the bright electronics and propulsive guitar lines, to Shirley's changeable, ever-engaging vocals.
  2. Mojo
    Jul 18, 2012
    60
    They haven't really been missed, yet it's good to have them back. [Jun 2012, p.83]
  3. Q Magazine
    Jun 22, 2012
    60
    The sulky formula which established them, however, like the seismic chords of Control or the crunching Battle In Me, proves the efficacy of this recycled Garbage. [Jun 2012, p.114]