Nothing But the Beat - David Guetta
Nothing But the Beat Image

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 63 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The French producer/DJ releases his fifth album which includes guest appearances from such artists as Flo Rida, Nicki Minaj, Taio Cruz, Ludacris, Usher., Chris Brown, Lil Wayne, Akon, Timbaland, Jennifer Hudson, Jessie J, and Sia.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 17
  2. Negative: 3 out of 17
  1. With four-on-the-floor dance music the nearest the actually popular pop world came to mindless rocking out in 2011, I only wish it had a few "I Gotta Feeling"s.
  2. Aug 18, 2011
    Guetta can't match the inexhaustible bliss of his Kelly Rowland–aided 2009 disco smash "When Love Takes Over," but he can make 50 Cent seem like an edgy Daft Punk fanboy, which is not an insubstantial trick.
  3. Aug 29, 2011
    The mastermind behind many hits, including Black Eyed Peas' "I Gotta Feeling,'' doesn't break new ground on his fourth album. Instead, he brings together many of today's pop superstars and offers a platform as swooshes, squiggles, and propulsive beats elevate them to club heaven.
  4. Aug 26, 2011
    As packed and punchy as Black Eyed Peas on steroids, this is the sound of the overground.
  5. Aug 30, 2011
    If Guetta's fifth album doesn't convince you that he's the Bono of the four-on-the-floor beat, it does show how good he is at making Eurohouse's thumping trounce and jet-engine synth whoosh feel like natural elements in the hip-hop, R&B and even rock continuum.
  6. Sep 27, 2011
    Nothing But the Beat is in many ways a showcase of everything that is bad about pop music in 2011: derivative, novelty, shallow, rushed, Auto-Tuned to the ends of the earth and thoroughly uninteresting.
  7. Aug 29, 2011
    Guetta's trademark union of stadium trance and American R&B is represented in a glittering array of bling-encrusted collaborations (Snoop Dogg, Akon, Chris Brown) but they struggle to impose any distinctive personality on the overall mood of relentless rictus-grin-inducing euphoria.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 19
  2. Negative: 3 out of 19
  1. Aug 29, 2011
    I think David Guetta have done a very well-done job with this new album, yes it's true the album has a pair or three lack-rhythm songs, but most of them are full of rhythm, in addition there are different styles of music, each with a very good reference. Expand
  2. Jan 13, 2013
    Really happy with his self-relating song "Without You" on this album. Him and Usher did a really, really nice job with it. I can relate to it so much, and this is why I got hooked on it. If you ever need a song to listen to, please just look it up and listen to it. It is a great song. Expand
  3. Aug 29, 2011
    I have heard the entire album and assessing it is generally good, there are many styles of music, and many potential hits. I think he has done a good job for me is a great CD but must be heard to appreciate it. Expand
  4. Sep 3, 2011
    Following "One Love", which was a great record, David Guetta did not have an easy job repeating it's success. But I must admit it, after listening closely to this album, I have to say it's a pretty solid record. "Titanium" feat. Sia completely amazed me, as I find it the highlight of this album. All in all, great album for listening in your car while on your way to the nightclub with your friends, or at a party, or anywhere basically. A solid 8. Expand
  5. Aug 29, 2011
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The album is eh. i kinda like it. it's good, and my basically favorite 2 songs are on it (night of your life and where dem girls at). So yeah he's been nominated for 7 things, won 10 awards, and in 2009 got third place for top 100 DJ's and again in 2010 in second place! He is really popular. So this album deserves a 7. Expand
  6. Sep 19, 2012
    The instrumentals are well-made and diversified, but the "normal songs" are far too mainstream. The beats are dreary and only few of the singers impressed me. The two features of Sia are nice songs, but Jack Back's 'Wild Ones Two' is a hard low mark. Blame David Guetta for letting that guy come on his album - terrible remix. 'Where Them Girls At' is awesome and 'Play Hard' is some nice difference to other of his songs, but all in all it's too much pop and too little house. Expand
  7. Mar 5, 2012
    This is what any decent person would call absolutely awful and a discrace to music but it appears that Guetta has fans who are able to read to get onto Metacritic. Expand

See all 19 User Reviews