Nothing Can Hurt Me [OST] Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 4 Critics What's this?

User Score

No user score yet- Awaiting 2 more ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The 21-track soundtrack to the Big Star documentary "Nothing Can Hurt Me" includes demos, alternative takes, and mixes of the rock band's songs.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 4
  2. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Jul 16, 2013
    If the alternate versions aren't all that different from the originals, they're no less dazzling, dense with harmonies and hooks whose perfectly turned imperfections make their aches leap out of the speakers.
  2. Jul 16, 2013
    There are plenty of bands that mapped inspired paths to greatness, but Big Star's story, as seen on film and heard on these songs, is a potent reminder of just how beautiful failure can be.
  3. Jul 16, 2013
    Nothing Can Hurt Me consists of rejiggered mixes of performances released on the band’s original albums. That makes it unessential, but it somehow reveals more new angles on the power-pop standard bearers’ perfect songs than 2009’s “Keep an Eye on the Sky” box set managed over four discs.
  4. Jul 16, 2013
    If this collection of alternate mixes and variations sounds like something you need to hear, it is; if it sounds like a mere curiosity, that is also true. Know yourself well enough to know which camp you belong.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. Aug 28, 2013
    This album would almost have to fall short of the full studio albums, but as a compilation, there is a lot to like. Nerdy Big Star fans will enjoy the outtakes, rough cuts, and remixes contained herein, and a few of the remixed songs feel definitive, if not nearly essential. The sequencing is very good too. For those unfamiliar with Big Star's music, this would be an excellent primer. Expand