Nothing Hurts

  • Record Label: Sub Pop
  • Release Date: May 11, 2010

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. In four minutes of this record there are two tracks that together have more melodies, more moments of joy, than most bands will manage this year.
  2. Nothing Hurts is full of that kind of excitement: the sound of a fast, fuzzy rock band racing from hook to hook, plowing happily through breakdowns and guitar blasts, springing through scrappy melodies with style. It's one of the happiest surprises of the year so far.
  3. Nothing Hurts is a strong debut, even when it's gentle.
  4. Their debut album will probably not be a Shins-esque licence to print money for the label, but it's a minor triumph as a grab-bag of punky jams.
  5. The result is purest punk bubblegum, and deserves to be blasted long and loud all summer long.
  6. But while you’d think the group’s hard-punching sound might be sloppy considering how it comes on so fast and furiously, it’s surprising how little wasted energy there is on Nothing Hurts, with most of any excess burned off of the album’s lean and mean half-hour running time.
  7. It's OK to play with enthusiasm. Oh, and also, it helps to have an album with 12 fantastic songs, the way the do on Nothing Hurts.
  8. Nothing Hurts is a more honest, more somber take on the current garage wave. There's no sense of silliness or sniggering irony; these songs were written with a heavy heart, and that makes the record a lot more captivating, and a lot easier to invest in.
  9. It's hard to make such familiar ingredients feel fresh, but the sheer zest Male Bonding bring to bear can make even the most jaded palates tingle.
  10. So maybe Nothing Hurts won’t be a record at the vanguard of a movement. But it certainly moves.
  11. Mojo
    Male Bonding brilliantly transpose their neighbourhood's scrufffy, rule-breaking fashion ethos into an exhilaratingly melodic breed of post-hardcore punk rock. [June 2010, p. 96]
  12. It's lo-fi at its finest and a contender for one of the more impressive debuts of the year so far. Fans of the genre will lap it up and with very good reason: it's short, sharp and straight to the point.
  13. Filter
    Bolstered by Webb's shoegazing sense of melody, Nothing Hurts pushes over and above the static possibilities of lo-fi. [Spring/Summer 2010, p.110]
  14. The lyrics do little to stand out, but that hardly blights the rest of the experience. And none of the 13 tracks on Nothing Hurts tops the 2:45 mark, so it’s a speedy listen.
  15. Nothing Hurts is a small step forward for the typically single-note noise-pop revival, although the album is considerably dampened by Webb’s vocals; deadpan and drab, his voice has far too much carefully crafted slack to it, not to mention a marked lack of hooks and conviction.
  16. The album coasts through 13 songs in just 29 minutes, making for a seemingly perfect setlist of distorted, high-energy punk.
  17. Nothing Hurts goes in the ear loud and fast. And out the other ear just as quickly.
User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 6 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Zeus
    Jun 18, 2010
    One of the best releases of the year!! DIY.
  2. DMan
    Jun 2, 2010
    Sure it may be overwhelmingly influenced by British punk rock and early 90's alternative but it sounds pretty damn refreshing and Sure it may be overwhelmingly influenced by British punk rock and early 90's alternative but it sounds pretty damn refreshing and energetic when compared to some of the other albums this year. I'm digging it, it's gonna be in my cd player for a while. Full Review »