Nothing Was the Same

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Nothing Was the Same Image
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 333 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The third full-length studio release for the Canadian artist features guest appearances from 2 Chainz, Big Sean, Jay-Z, and Majid Jordan.
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 33
  2. Negative: 1 out of 33
  1. 100
    This lush, un-hurried album reveals a surer character, rebuking other rappers who talk smack "just to get a reaction" and even relatives diminished by easy money and proximity to fame.
  2. 90
    Nothing Was the Same wrestles Drake’s successes with his ever-lingering insecurities, and like some of the best music, we can see ourselves in these songs. It’s an exhilarating change of pace for the genre.
  3. Sep 24, 2013
    83
    Nothing Was the Same is ugly, yes, but cathartic.
  4. Sep 19, 2013
    80
    This isn’t Drake at his most exposed.... Production-wise, however, it’s his most mature, and frankly, most beautiful.
  5. Sep 23, 2013
    80
    Nothing Was The Same showcases new skills--trimming the unnecessary songs, and focusing on narrative details the way he does on “From Time”--that will strengthen Drake’s arsenal and help him continue to cement his status as a pop-rap heavyweight for years to come.
  6. Sep 19, 2013
    72
    Drake's pop music con job is just too well executed despite all its obvious flaws to not be enjoyed.
  7. Sep 25, 2013
    20
    His relentless delivery ensures that words spill out in defiance of the breath required to sustain them. But rate does not guarantee quality, and on Nothing Was the Same, his lyrics are worse than ever.

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 79
  2. Negative: 14 out of 79
  1. Sep 25, 2013
    10
    Incredible album. Drake does it again. Production was amazing. Drake stepped up his bars. Easily the best album this year and will most likelyIncredible album. Drake does it again. Production was amazing. Drake stepped up his bars. Easily the best album this year and will most likely down as a classic. Expand
  2. Jun 4, 2014
    10
    Read my name! Yeahhhhh. Cuz we started from the bottom now we here, started from the bottom now my whole team here n****. Best album ofRead my name! Yeahhhhh. Cuz we started from the bottom now we here, started from the bottom now my whole team here n****. Best album of Drake's by far. Expand
  3. Sep 24, 2013
    10
    One of the best artist in the game!!! This albums beats sound amazing and are so smooth! Love every song in this album! This is a must get itsOne of the best artist in the game!!! This albums beats sound amazing and are so smooth! Love every song in this album! This is a must get its worth it believe me GET IT!!!!!!!!!!! Expand
  4. Dec 17, 2014
    8
    Sin duda es de las pequeñas piezas que se destacan del 2013, con un rap limpio y una propuesta interesante para lo que puede deparar en elSin duda es de las pequeñas piezas que se destacan del 2013, con un rap limpio y una propuesta interesante para lo que puede deparar en el mundo del hip hop del futuro. Expand
  5. Oct 3, 2013
    7
    Good album. Some tracks in there are really great But overall, it doesn't rise to the same level of his previous work. His flow is still asGood album. Some tracks in there are really great But overall, it doesn't rise to the same level of his previous work. His flow is still as nearly impeccable as it was, and his singing is good well. It's just that in terms of lyrics and beats, it felt like more of the same. Expand
  6. Nov 17, 2013
    6
    This album is nothing very special, but it definitely emphasizes Drake's musical abilities and what he is capable of, in general. The songsThis album is nothing very special, but it definitely emphasizes Drake's musical abilities and what he is capable of, in general. The songs will stick in your head for about a week, but become forgettable. I'm pretty sure that I'm not buying this album, but it's nice to have it around.

    Summary: Interesting, yet forgettable
    Grade: 62%
    Expand
  7. Feb 23, 2015
    0
    Isn't rap about lyrics? Production is decent but lyrically this album is trash. Drake has only had one decent verse his entire career, andIsn't rap about lyrics? Production is decent but lyrically this album is trash. Drake has only had one decent verse his entire career, and that was on Forever. "F*** you Hip-Hop, my life sentence is served b***" Expand

See all 79 User Reviews