Nothing Was the Same Image
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 274 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The third full-length studio release for the Canadian artist features guest appearances from 2 Chainz, Big Sean, Jay-Z, and Majid Jordan.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 33
  2. Negative: 1 out of 33
  1. 100
    This lush, un-hurried album reveals a surer character, rebuking other rappers who talk smack "just to get a reaction" and even relatives diminished by easy money and proximity to fame.
  2. 90
    Nothing Was the Same wrestles Drake’s successes with his ever-lingering insecurities, and like some of the best music, we can see ourselves in these songs. It’s an exhilarating change of pace for the genre.
  3. Sep 24, 2013
    83
    Nothing Was the Same is ugly, yes, but cathartic.
  4. Sep 19, 2013
    80
    This isn’t Drake at his most exposed.... Production-wise, however, it’s his most mature, and frankly, most beautiful.
  5. Sep 23, 2013
    80
    Nothing Was The Same showcases new skills--trimming the unnecessary songs, and focusing on narrative details the way he does on “From Time”--that will strengthen Drake’s arsenal and help him continue to cement his status as a pop-rap heavyweight for years to come.
  6. Sep 19, 2013
    72
    Drake's pop music con job is just too well executed despite all its obvious flaws to not be enjoyed.
  7. Sep 25, 2013
    20
    His relentless delivery ensures that words spill out in defiance of the breath required to sustain them. But rate does not guarantee quality, and on Nothing Was the Same, his lyrics are worse than ever.

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 57 out of 72
  2. Negative: 11 out of 72
  1. Sep 24, 2013
    10
    One of the best artist in the game!!! This albums beats sound amazing and are so smooth! Love every song in this album! This is a must get itsOne of the best artist in the game!!! This albums beats sound amazing and are so smooth! Love every song in this album! This is a must get its worth it believe me GET IT!!!!!!!!!!! Expand
  2. Sep 29, 2013
    10
    For the record, I usually don't buy albums but I had to purchase this one because I respect Drake for his honesty and how he keeps it 100..TheFor the record, I usually don't buy albums but I had to purchase this one because I respect Drake for his honesty and how he keeps it 100..The album is great! Not too many artists is on his level. I must admit I like majority of the tracks on the album. Believe me! You will be happy you bought it. Expand
  3. CLK
    Dec 12, 2013
    10
    Amazing song structure, personal lyrics and overall great album. Will help solidify him as a hip hop legend. Needs to stick to concept though.........
  4. Oct 29, 2013
    8
    Though this album sure does not have as much musical introspection or value as Take Care, which was more downbeat, it is more fun to listenThough this album sure does not have as much musical introspection or value as Take Care, which was more downbeat, it is more fun to listen to. However, this does not make it a better album overall. Some songs are quite amazing, and this one is sure to stay on of the charts for some time, given its consistency and hype. Give it a try, it has things to like. Expand
  5. Feb 24, 2015
    8
    Overall I enjoyed listening to this album. It's not quite at the same level lyrically as Take Care but the beats and production of this albumOverall I enjoyed listening to this album. It's not quite at the same level lyrically as Take Care but the beats and production of this album are his best; he keeps featured artists to a minimum and doesn't feature any Young Money artists, which I enjoyed; he adopts a style and flow that shows that he is slowly drifting away from Lil Wayne and "Young Money-type" music Expand
  6. Sep 25, 2013
    7
    As a rap album, it disappointed as I expected. This is not a rap album, plain and simple. It's too corny/soft to be one. Rappers can beAs a rap album, it disappointed as I expected. This is not a rap album, plain and simple. It's too corny/soft to be one. Rappers can be vulnerable, but Drake takes it to another level where it's hard to take seriously. But when you take it for what it is (pop with a little rap and little r&b), there is a decent album here. Drake doesn't push himself lyrically too much if at all, but production wise this album is very good. If you can ignore Drake's corny lyrics, you can definitely vibe to his songs since the beats are great and his flow is okay. Drake thinking he is a real rapper when he isn't is what holds the album back. But the production really makes this worth a listen. P.S. the song "305 to my city" is one of the worst songs I heard in a while. It is awful. Expand
  7. Feb 23, 2015
    0
    Isn't rap about lyrics? Production is decent but lyrically this album is trash. Drake has only had one decent verse his entire career, andIsn't rap about lyrics? Production is decent but lyrically this album is trash. Drake has only had one decent verse his entire career, and that was on Forever. "F*** you Hip-Hop, my life sentence is served b***" Expand

See all 72 User Reviews