Nothing Was the Same Image
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 223 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The third full-length studio release for the Canadian artist features guest appearances from 2 Chainz, Big Sean, Jay-Z, and Majid Jordan.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 33
  2. Negative: 1 out of 33
  1. 100
    This lush, un-hurried album reveals a surer character, rebuking other rappers who talk smack "just to get a reaction" and even relatives diminished by easy money and proximity to fame.
  2. 90
    Nothing Was the Same wrestles Drake’s successes with his ever-lingering insecurities, and like some of the best music, we can see ourselves in these songs. It’s an exhilarating change of pace for the genre.
  3. Sep 24, 2013
    83
    Nothing Was the Same is ugly, yes, but cathartic.
  4. Sep 19, 2013
    80
    The more melodic his flow, the slicker he sounds, allowing him to get away with some truly corny lines.
  5. Sep 23, 2013
    80
    Nothing Was The Same showcases new skills--trimming the unnecessary songs, and focusing on narrative details the way he does on “From Time”--that will strengthen Drake’s arsenal and help him continue to cement his status as a pop-rap heavyweight for years to come.
  6. Sep 19, 2013
    72
    Drake's pop music con job is just too well executed despite all its obvious flaws to not be enjoyed.
  7. Sep 25, 2013
    20
    His relentless delivery ensures that words spill out in defiance of the breath required to sustain them. But rate does not guarantee quality, and on Nothing Was the Same, his lyrics are worse than ever.

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 65
  2. Negative: 9 out of 65
  1. Sep 24, 2013
    10
    Not only Drakes best album, but one of the best in the genre for years. Every song is masterfully put together, showcasing both the talents of Drake and 40. Thankfully and ironically when you consider the title, a lot is the same in terms of Drizzy's ability to create material as fantastic as this. Another home run. Expand
  2. Sep 29, 2013
    10
    Not just the best album drake has made, but probably the best album of its genre in the last few years. Every song is beautifully put together and the album overall shines to show perfection. A truly great effort from drizzy, and somehow manages to be a better album than take care. I thought take care was so good that it would have been the peek of drakes career. A true masterpiece and hopefully drake takes home another Grammy because he definitely deserves it. 10/10 from me Collapse
  3. Sep 26, 2013
    10
    His best album to date. No filler at all. I give this a 10 and Take Care a 9.5. Both are classic imo. He definitely showed his evolution on this album. Expand
  4. Sep 29, 2013
    8
    Not as good as Take Care in my opinion, but a very solid album. Drake's "confident" personality doesn't appeal to me as much and doesn't convert into great music. The sad emotions we got from do shine through in places (Too Much, From Time) and make out to be some of the best tracks on the album. Expand
  5. Sep 24, 2013
    8
    Lyrically, not much of a progress from the last album. Beats however are amazing and 40 did a great job.
    Anyway, "Nothing was the same" is
    his best album so far. Expand
  6. Oct 2, 2013
    7
    esperava mais desse album. esperava mais desse album. esperava mais desse album. esperava mais desse album. esperava mais desse album. esperava mais desse album. Expand
  7. Oct 18, 2013
    0
    Honestly when started from the bottom came out I thought this album would be dope.
    But then it hit the shelves and it was some sack with
    him singing and crooning.
    Besides for a few decent spurts of lyricism by drake, this album is borderline retarded, I lost all respect for everyone who worked on it, even jay z who is a legend. That song cake is stupid. Just hold on showed the Canada in him. Don't buy it if you like rap music, if you like r and b buy it but this is Canada
    Expand

See all 65 User Reviews