Nothing Was the Same

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Nothing Was the Same Image
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 425 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The third full-length studio release for the Canadian artist features guest appearances from 2 Chainz, Big Sean, Jay-Z, and Majid Jordan.
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 33
  2. Negative: 1 out of 33
  1. 100
    This lush, un-hurried album reveals a surer character, rebuking other rappers who talk smack "just to get a reaction" and even relatives diminished by easy money and proximity to fame.
  2. 90
    Nothing Was the Same wrestles Drake’s successes with his ever-lingering insecurities, and like some of the best music, we can see ourselves in these songs. It’s an exhilarating change of pace for the genre.
  3. Sep 24, 2013
    83
    Nothing Was the Same is ugly, yes, but cathartic.
  4. Sep 19, 2013
    80
    This isn’t Drake at his most exposed.... Production-wise, however, it’s his most mature, and frankly, most beautiful.
  5. Sep 23, 2013
    80
    Nothing Was The Same showcases new skills--trimming the unnecessary songs, and focusing on narrative details the way he does on “From Time”--that will strengthen Drake’s arsenal and help him continue to cement his status as a pop-rap heavyweight for years to come.
  6. Sep 19, 2013
    72
    Drake's pop music con job is just too well executed despite all its obvious flaws to not be enjoyed.
  7. Sep 25, 2013
    20
    His relentless delivery ensures that words spill out in defiance of the breath required to sustain them. But rate does not guarantee quality, and on Nothing Was the Same, his lyrics are worse than ever.

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 57 out of 79
  2. Negative: 11 out of 79
  1. Sep 30, 2013
    10
    Drake is more confident than ever on his third album Nothing Was The Same. He uses his junior album to stake his claim as the "King of HipDrake is more confident than ever on his third album Nothing Was The Same. He uses his junior album to stake his claim as the "King of Hip Hop".
    The softer side of Drake was showcased less than in his previous projects (So Far Gone, Thank Me Later, Take Care), which may be the only weakness if there is one.
    Expand
  2. Mar 19, 2017
    10
    definitely a classic! you can listen to it over and over again, it is different from the typical rap album, something new and better. It hasdefinitely a classic! you can listen to it over and over again, it is different from the typical rap album, something new and better. It has elements of love, turning up, real talk. it really touches the heart. Perfect! Expand
  3. Sep 24, 2013
    10
    One of the best artist in the game!!! This albums beats sound amazing and are so smooth! Love every song in this album! This is a must get itsOne of the best artist in the game!!! This albums beats sound amazing and are so smooth! Love every song in this album! This is a must get its worth it believe me GET IT!!!!!!!!!!! Expand
  4. Mar 10, 2015
    8
    Great album! Drake brings back the passion from when he first started. Tracks are banging! Other rappers should take note on how an albumGreat album! Drake brings back the passion from when he first started. Tracks are banging! Other rappers should take note on how an album should sound. Expand
  5. Sep 24, 2013
    7
    As a rap album, it disappointed as I expected. This is not a rap album, plain and simple. It's too corny/soft to be one. Rappers can beAs a rap album, it disappointed as I expected. This is not a rap album, plain and simple. It's too corny/soft to be one. Rappers can be vulnerable, but Drake takes it to another level where it's hard to take seriously. But when you take it for what it is (pop with a little rap and little r&b), there is a decent album here. Drake doesn't push himself lyrically too much if at all, but production wise this album is very good. If you can ignore Drake's corny lyrics, you can definitely vibe to his songs since the beats are great and his flow is okay. Drake thinking he is a real rapper when he isn't is what holds the album back. But the production really makes this worth a listen. P.S. the song "305 to my city" is one of the worst songs I heard in a while. It is awful. Expand
  6. Jan 10, 2014
    6
    Nothing Was The Same I thought was a fairly decent album. Songs like Pound Cake and The Language made me feel like I was listening to some oldNothing Was The Same I thought was a fairly decent album. Songs like Pound Cake and The Language made me feel like I was listening to some old school hiphop which I very much enjoyed. Tuscan Leather opened the album brilliantly. I thought the production of it was excellent with the change of beats between hiphop and orchestrated sound. All Me and Worst Behaviour were songs that I believed Drake put a lot of energy into which made me enjoy them. The effort really payed off. However, the downside of the album is half of it reminded me of his previous LP Take Care which made it seem too repetitive. Songs like Furtherest Thing and Own It were standouts to the claim. Wu-Tang Forever made me scratch my head. I realized that a Wu-Tang Clan sample was put into the production of the track but it just wasn't enough for me to think it was paying homage to one of the best hiphop groups of all time. Nothing Was The Same was generally overhyped and I hope Drake does try to do something new with his next project. Expand
  7. Jun 1, 2016
    0
    This album is just **** after **** after other crappy **** if someone call these horrible album a good album, maybe needs to discover whatThis album is just **** after **** after other crappy **** if someone call these horrible album a good album, maybe needs to discover what hip-hop is (and also what music is) Expand

See all 79 User Reviews