• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Nothing Was the Same Image
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 302 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The third full-length studio release for the Canadian artist features guest appearances from 2 Chainz, Big Sean, Jay-Z, and Majid Jordan.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 33
  2. Negative: 1 out of 33
  1. 100
    This lush, un-hurried album reveals a surer character, rebuking other rappers who talk smack "just to get a reaction" and even relatives diminished by easy money and proximity to fame.
  2. 90
    Nothing Was the Same wrestles Drake’s successes with his ever-lingering insecurities, and like some of the best music, we can see ourselves in these songs. It’s an exhilarating change of pace for the genre.
  3. Sep 24, 2013
    83
    Nothing Was the Same is ugly, yes, but cathartic.
  4. Sep 19, 2013
    80
    This isn’t Drake at his most exposed.... Production-wise, however, it’s his most mature, and frankly, most beautiful.
  5. Sep 23, 2013
    80
    Nothing Was The Same showcases new skills--trimming the unnecessary songs, and focusing on narrative details the way he does on “From Time”--that will strengthen Drake’s arsenal and help him continue to cement his status as a pop-rap heavyweight for years to come.
  6. Sep 19, 2013
    72
    Drake's pop music con job is just too well executed despite all its obvious flaws to not be enjoyed.
  7. Sep 25, 2013
    20
    His relentless delivery ensures that words spill out in defiance of the breath required to sustain them. But rate does not guarantee quality, and on Nothing Was the Same, his lyrics are worse than ever.

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 74
  2. Negative: 11 out of 74
  1. Sep 24, 2013
    10
    One of the best artist in the game!!! This albums beats sound amazing and are so smooth! Love every song in this album! This is a must get itsOne of the best artist in the game!!! This albums beats sound amazing and are so smooth! Love every song in this album! This is a must get its worth it believe me GET IT!!!!!!!!!!! Expand
  2. Sep 29, 2013
    10
    Not just the best album drake has made, but probably the best album of its genre in the last few years. Every song is beautifully put togetherNot just the best album drake has made, but probably the best album of its genre in the last few years. Every song is beautifully put together and the album overall shines to show perfection. A truly great effort from drizzy, and somehow manages to be a better album than take care. I thought take care was so good that it would have been the peek of drakes career. A true masterpiece and hopefully drake takes home another Grammy because he definitely deserves it. 10/10 from me Expand
  3. Jun 4, 2014
    10
    Read my name! Yeahhhhh. Cuz we started from the bottom now we here, started from the bottom now my whole team here n****. Best album ofRead my name! Yeahhhhh. Cuz we started from the bottom now we here, started from the bottom now my whole team here n****. Best album of Drake's by far. Expand
  4. Oct 29, 2013
    8
    Though this album sure does not have as much musical introspection or value as Take Care, which was more downbeat, it is more fun to listenThough this album sure does not have as much musical introspection or value as Take Care, which was more downbeat, it is more fun to listen to. However, this does not make it a better album overall. Some songs are quite amazing, and this one is sure to stay on of the charts for some time, given its consistency and hype. Give it a try, it has things to like. Expand
  5. Mar 10, 2015
    8
    Great album! Drake brings back the passion from when he first started. Tracks are banging! Other rappers should take note on how an albumGreat album! Drake brings back the passion from when he first started. Tracks are banging! Other rappers should take note on how an album should sound. Expand
  6. Sep 25, 2013
    7
    As a rap album, it disappointed as I expected. This is not a rap album, plain and simple. It's too corny/soft to be one. Rappers can beAs a rap album, it disappointed as I expected. This is not a rap album, plain and simple. It's too corny/soft to be one. Rappers can be vulnerable, but Drake takes it to another level where it's hard to take seriously. But when you take it for what it is (pop with a little rap and little r&b), there is a decent album here. Drake doesn't push himself lyrically too much if at all, but production wise this album is very good. If you can ignore Drake's corny lyrics, you can definitely vibe to his songs since the beats are great and his flow is okay. Drake thinking he is a real rapper when he isn't is what holds the album back. But the production really makes this worth a listen. P.S. the song "305 to my city" is one of the worst songs I heard in a while. It is awful. Expand
  7. Feb 23, 2015
    0
    Isn't rap about lyrics? Production is decent but lyrically this album is trash. Drake has only had one decent verse his entire career, andIsn't rap about lyrics? Production is decent but lyrically this album is trash. Drake has only had one decent verse his entire career, and that was on Forever. "F*** you Hip-Hop, my life sentence is served b***" Expand

See all 74 User Reviews