Nothing - N.E.R.D.
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 19
  2. Negative: 1 out of 19
  1. 83
    The trio's fourth album keeps the revelry of past work intact, beginning with the carefree Party People and ending with the euphoric Hot-N-fun. [Nov. 5, 2010, p. 71]
  2. Nothing continues the trend of unique and fun music the N.E.R.D. name has become synonymous with.
  3. Jan 14, 2011
    70
    While Nothing isn't N*E*R*D*'s strongest effort, it does offer an interesting take on pop music.
  4. Nov 15, 2010
    70
    If you're not looking for an album that will change the world, but simply change your mood for an hour or two, there's definitely something to be said for Nothing.
  5. Nov 9, 2010
    70
    This album does its best to give certain fans exactly what they want in sexually-driven club grinders while offering up real, honest-to-goodness substance. It isn't always a perfect situation, and parts of the album border on forgettable, but when they get it right, everything's groovy.
  6. Nov 3, 2010
    70
    At this point it seems fair to say N*E*R*D may never deliver on their once-extraordinary potential, but if they can keep churning out statements as distinct as Nothing, both the band and their listeners should be more than satisfied.
  7. Nov 17, 2010
    66
    At 36 minutes, the set is quick, generally uptempo and full of the Neptunes' mixtape-ready bangers, yet Williams finds his groove during moments that won't rattle any trunks.
  8. 63
    As the title of its much-delayed fourth album intimates, there's Nothing left in the record bin for the Virginia Beach-bred trio to plunder, having previously dabbled with rock, pop, rap, funk, R&B and electro.
  9. Jan 6, 2011
    60
    It still has its winning moments. [Jan 2011, p.142]
  10. Despite overwhelming evidence to support the notion that he should quit vocal duties forever, he continues to labor under the delusion that his cochlea-shredding falsetto sounds like anything other than Prince with his scrotum in a vice.
  11. Nov 5, 2010
    60
    Once again, N.E.R.D. are at their best when they abandon all regard for the Hot 100.
  12. Nov 2, 2010
    60
    Not a bad effort, but we've come to expect more.
  13. 60
    Nothing is the fourth N.E.R.D. album and the first to feel altogether detached from its surroundings.
  14. Nov 1, 2010
    60
    The album is overly long, but there's a straightforwardness to the live-and-loose party vibe that's hard to resist.
  15. Nov 1, 2010
    60
    Anyone who vividly remembers the fire in the band's collective belly around the time of their scintillating debut will be disappointed with this comparatively uninspired set.
  16. Nov 1, 2010
    60
    The side project of superstar producers the Neptunes makes a stark departure from its hot mess of grinding funk-rock on this often disappointing mixed bag.
  17. Nov 9, 2010
    50
    Williams and his N.E.R.D cohorts Chad Hugo and Shay Haley are adept in the studio; their musical constructs are always polished, and often at least somewhat impressive. But their lyrics and point of view are so entitled that there's little sense they're aiming much further than the nearest frat house.
  18. Nov 5, 2010
    41
    There isn't a lot left on Nothing, apart from these faint reminders, to indicate that these two guys were the same pair who once revolutionized the sound of hip-hop.
  19. Nov 4, 2010
    30
    Nothing is just what it brazenly titles itself as – an empty record, one lacking the sometimes questionable but more often than not intriguing experimentation and oddball weirdness that might not have made their earlier records great, but at least made them interesting.
User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 14 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 1 out of 4
  1. Nov 4, 2010
    10
    Is this the best album of all time? No, but it is one of the best ones of 2010. Those of you looking for another In Search Of... are going to be disappointed yet again, but that doesn't suggest that this is a bad album. It's great actually. I don't consider one N*E*R*D album to be better than another, they are so versatile that I have 4 different albums I can go to by them. A lot of people are hoping for this sound-a-like to In Search Of... but I doubt that's ever going to happen consider that it was Spymob who played on that album and not N*E*R*D. If they were to remake In Search Of... I'm sure everyone would be complaining about them "copying their first album" so I'm glad that they keep choosing to go in different directions. It shows growth as artists. I love this album and haven't been able to stop listening to it since I bought it. I highly recommend that you check it out. Full Review »
  2. Nov 3, 2010
    7
    Not their best album, but still good. I like most things produced by The Neptunes, so N.E.R.D. is obviously one of my favorite groups. This album is a little different from their past ones, and that's not necessarily bad because growth is good. Maybe their next one will be more of a combination of this sound and their earlier sound to give us something even better. Full Review »
  3. Nov 22, 2010
    3
    As a N.E.R.D. fan, it was disappointing... the quality of the production has severely deceased and the genre-blending does not fit together like it did before. It ends up as random, uninspired, unconvincing muck. To put this into perspective, one of the best tracks on the album is "Hypnotize U", which is would consider an average or mediocre track on any other of the groups other albums. Really disappointed. Full Review »