Oceania - Smashing Pumpkins
Oceania Image
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 99 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The ninth studio album from the alternative rock band led Billy Corgan is part of The Smashing Pumpkins' Teargarden by Kaleidyscope concept album series.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Jun 19, 2012
    100
    The year's most outstanding rock album.
  2. Jun 18, 2012
    80
    Straddling the line between art and commerce, between arena rock and cult devotion, for the first time in quite a while Billy Corgan and The Smashing Pumpkins sound energised and alive.
  3. Jun 26, 2012
    80
    With crisp, concise songwriting, slick production and subverted historical rock references, Oceania is more the addition of a new tower to the alternative palace Corgan helped build than the foundations for something strange and new.
  4. Jun 18, 2012
    70
    Oceania is definitely not without its faults, but with repeated listens and an honest approach to the metrics and themes Corgan's hitting, this rhizomed Pumpkins reboot will dispel your notions that the Pumpkins can't exist without its other three founding members.
  5. Jul 5, 2012
    70
    It's a strange album on the whole, though there's no doubting Corgan has his mojo back, and if you can stomach a 45-year-old man still whining on about isolation and stuff then this may well be up your proverbial alley.
  6. Jun 26, 2012
    60
    The songcraft is back, but the romance is still missing.
  7. Jun 18, 2012
    40
    Billy Corgan can't ever quite muster up the magic of the Pumpkins' early years because, to be honest, the songs just aren't good enough.

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 38
  2. Negative: 6 out of 38
  1. Jun 22, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The Smashing Pumpkins están de regreso, con Billy Corgan a la cabeza, sin James Iha sin D Expand
  2. Feb 6, 2014
    10
    This is the best Smashing Pumpkins record since the 90's. It gets played as much or more than MCIS, SD, and Adore. In that respect it is aThis is the best Smashing Pumpkins record since the 90's. It gets played as much or more than MCIS, SD, and Adore. In that respect it is a resounding success. Pumpkins are back ****

    I have listened to this album, in its entirety, at least 100 times. I have been an avid listener of The Smashing Pumpkins since 1991. My opinion should matter more than most reviews because I am reviewing this after owning Oceania for over a year, allowing a 'forest for the trees' type perspective.
    Quasar....................................7
    Panopticon..............................7
    The Celestials.........................7
    Violet Rays.............................10
    My Love Is Winter..................10
    One Diamond, One Heart.......4
    Pinwheels................................8
    Oceania...................................8
    Pale Horse..............................10
    The Chimera............................6
    Glissandra................................7
    Inkless......................................7
    Wildflower.................................6
    Expand
  3. Jul 1, 2012
    10
    This is an amazing record that needs to be listened with your hearth and without preconceptions... You will be rewarded if you listen to whatThis is an amazing record that needs to be listened with your hearth and without preconceptions... You will be rewarded if you listen to what is truly in there .... and not what the critics or a deluded mind says... ; ) Collapse
  4. Jun 21, 2012
    9
    Oceania is a true return-to-form for the Smashing Pumpkins. This album contains the emotional, powerfully written songs that singer-songwriterOceania is a true return-to-form for the Smashing Pumpkins. This album contains the emotional, powerfully written songs that singer-songwriter Billy Corgan was famous for in the Expand
  5. Jun 19, 2012
    8
    I was nervous about this album. Prior to this, we had The Future Embrace, Zeitgeist, and a handful of some of SP's least likable songs to dateI was nervous about this album. Prior to this, we had The Future Embrace, Zeitgeist, and a handful of some of SP's least likable songs to date in the form of free digital singles. However, I'm proud to say that this album has exceeded my expectations and sits proudly amongst Billy's peak work. It seemingly combines all phases of the Pumpkins work - the grandiosity of Mellon Collie, the ambiance and mellow pop of Adore, the bombastic bliss of Siamese Dream - and condenses them into a fluid, consistent album. Unfortunately, I think it gets a little dull around the mid-way point (One Diamond One Heart is the only misstep here, while Pinwheels, Oceania and Pale Horse, nice songs as they are, are unfortunately sequenced). Aside from that, this album provides the diversity, musical prowess, and earnest songwriting of Billy at his best. Lots of people have given up hope on SP and won't pay attention to this release, which is too bad. It is easily his best since Adore. Expand
  6. Jun 22, 2012
    8
    Though i wouldnt go so far to say this album is a return to the best of what the pumpkins have to offer, i think its the most solid no ****Though i wouldnt go so far to say this album is a return to the best of what the pumpkins have to offer, i think its the most solid no **** album since adore. It focuses a lot more on the psychadelic, there is less heavy here than on zeitgeist but much more quality in the texture of noise and the build up of song. Corgans vocals are much better recorded than on zeitgeist, the new drummer does a great job with both providing the rhythmic spine to some of the tracks and with fills. Corgan shows some great loud solos on songs such as The Chimera. If you weren't a fan of any of the post mellon collie era songs you may not be a fan of this album, but i would still suggest giving it a go it is the best release since adore IMO and deserves all the praise heaped on by critics. now lets just hope that it gets some air time on radio (particularly in Australia radio never got behind the Pumpkins very much with new work). In conclusion, give the album a full listen. then again and again. The songs will grow on you and id be very surprised if you dont find yourself getting into this album as much as you did siamese dream or melon collie Expand
  7. Jun 21, 2012
    0
    Amazing. not since Siamese Dream has a Billy Corgan album sound so intense. It is a beautiful, exciting, rocking album from a band that has,Amazing. not since Siamese Dream has a Billy Corgan album sound so intense. It is a beautiful, exciting, rocking album from a band that has, at best, released mediocre material over the last 19 years. So Good! Expand

See all 38 User Reviews