Oceania

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Oceania Image
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 100 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The ninth studio album from the alternative rock band led Billy Corgan is part of The Smashing Pumpkins' Teargarden by Kaleidyscope concept album series.
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Jun 19, 2012
    100
    The year's most outstanding rock album.
  2. Jun 18, 2012
    80
    Straddling the line between art and commerce, between arena rock and cult devotion, for the first time in quite a while Billy Corgan and The Smashing Pumpkins sound energised and alive.
  3. Jun 26, 2012
    80
    With crisp, concise songwriting, slick production and subverted historical rock references, Oceania is more the addition of a new tower to the alternative palace Corgan helped build than the foundations for something strange and new.
  4. Jun 18, 2012
    70
    Oceania is definitely not without its faults, but with repeated listens and an honest approach to the metrics and themes Corgan's hitting, this rhizomed Pumpkins reboot will dispel your notions that the Pumpkins can't exist without its other three founding members.
  5. Jul 5, 2012
    70
    It's a strange album on the whole, though there's no doubting Corgan has his mojo back, and if you can stomach a 45-year-old man still whining on about isolation and stuff then this may well be up your proverbial alley.
  6. Jun 26, 2012
    60
    The songcraft is back, but the romance is still missing.
  7. Jun 18, 2012
    40
    Billy Corgan can't ever quite muster up the magic of the Pumpkins' early years because, to be honest, the songs just aren't good enough.

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 38
  2. Negative: 6 out of 38
  1. Feb 6, 2014
    10
    This is the best Smashing Pumpkins record since the 90's. It gets played as much or more than MCIS, SD, and Adore. In that respect it is aThis is the best Smashing Pumpkins record since the 90's. It gets played as much or more than MCIS, SD, and Adore. In that respect it is a resounding success. Pumpkins are back ****

    I have listened to this album, in its entirety, at least 100 times. I have been an avid listener of The Smashing Pumpkins since 1991. My opinion should matter more than most reviews because I am reviewing this after owning Oceania for over a year, allowing a 'forest for the trees' type perspective.
    Quasar....................................7
    Panopticon..............................7
    The Celestials.........................7
    Violet Rays.............................10
    My Love Is Winter..................10
    One Diamond, One Heart.......4
    Pinwheels................................8
    Oceania...................................8
    Pale Horse..............................10
    The Chimera............................6
    Glissandra................................7
    Inkless......................................7
    Wildflower.................................6
    Expand
  2. Jul 1, 2012
    10
    This is an amazing record that needs to be listened with your hearth and without preconceptions... You will be rewarded if you listen to whatThis is an amazing record that needs to be listened with your hearth and without preconceptions... You will be rewarded if you listen to what is truly in there .... and not what the critics or a deluded mind says... ; ) Collapse
  3. Jun 19, 2012
    9
    This is my favorite band. I wish the title track had been produced differently, based on how they've been playing it live (no fade in or out),This is my favorite band. I wish the title track had been produced differently, based on how they've been playing it live (no fade in or out), and I'm slightly more partial to live versions of Pinwheels. Otherwise, this is a really solid contribution that I think points to new ways for SP to continue the legacy. Ride on! Expand
  4. Jun 20, 2012
    9
    This album deserves a solid 9. I'm a bit suspicious to talk about Smashing Pumpkins (probably because it's my favorite band of all time) but IThis album deserves a solid 9. I'm a bit suspicious to talk about Smashing Pumpkins (probably because it's my favorite band of all time) but I will tell why this 9.

    I was very excited to hear this new SP's album, and I must say that I'm impressed on what I've heard so far. If you're looking for another Siamese Dream or Mellon Collie and the Infinite Sadness, probably you will get upset. But this album's great, the most ambitious and amazing album since Mellon Collie and the Infinite Sadness.

    Some songs, like 'Quasar' 'Panopticon' 'Pale Horse' and 'The Chimera' may look familiar to the Smashing Pumpkin's fans. But they're pretty different, Corgan said that the new lineup band made him a better song writer, and I partially agree with that. Those songs look way happier than it used to (He worked about 16 hours per day in SD and Mellon Collie to forget about his depression, some songs like Zero and Hummer express the way he felt during those years) I miss the lack of sad songs here, but they feel GREAT, although 'One heart, One Diamond' seems a bit akward.

    I believe that Smashing Pumpkins cannot overcome the awesomeness of Gish/Siamese Dream and Mellon Collie, as I said I'm a bit suspicious to talk about (Along with Nevermind - Superunkown and Ten, Siamese Dream's to me one of the greatest albums of the 90's), but Oceania has the power to erase some mistakes as Zeitgeist and both Machina.

    TL;DR - Best 'new era' SP's album, a must to the Pumpkins fans.

    Sorry for this poor english. By the way, this's my first review :D
    Expand
  5. Jun 19, 2012
    8
    This album is very good when looking at it individually. The problem with the people giving this poor scores is they are comparing it to oldThis album is very good when looking at it individually. The problem with the people giving this poor scores is they are comparing it to old Pumpkins. The album may not be incredible the first time, but after multiple listens it is better than most alt-rockish things that are put out today. It is the best thing Billy has done since Adore, which some people may not like because Adore wasn't "classic Pumpkins". The album is a solid mix of Siamese Dream and Mary Star of the Sea (when he did Zwan, once again another album that some people didn't like though it was very good in its own right). Long story short, if you don't compare it to the 90's, you will really enjoy it, well worth the time. Expand
  6. Jun 19, 2012
    8
    The Pumpkin's new album, on first listen, might seem a bit underwhelming but not to worry, just keep listening. As Corgan has stated, theThe Pumpkin's new album, on first listen, might seem a bit underwhelming but not to worry, just keep listening. As Corgan has stated, the album is meant to be listened to in sequence - think of it like a concept album. It requires some commitment by the listener; that is, a commitment kind of like slowly unwrapping a very nice gift. After two or three listens, it becomes poignantly clear that there is some mystery to the album. Ostensibly it seems quite simple, but with some dedication it proves to be a great record. Mike Byrne's drum work is refreshing and powerful, especially on tracks like "Quasar". "Don't make me suffer," whines Corgan as the crunchy guitar tones elevate him on "Panopticon." The ballad-esque "The Celestials" begins with an acoustic performance, and is amped up by the sudden punch of electric distortion. Violet Rays is certainly one of the most notable songs on the album with its beautifully crafted hook littered with a wonderful synth track, bassline, and drums. There is too much great about this album to be described in a mere review. I would suggest that you just listen to it. But beware: there are a few downsides to the album.

    1) the sometimes questionable taste level of lyrics and style of Corgan's vocals. Although Corgan's tone definitely suits the atmosphere of the music, the poppy and sometimes cheesy style can prove grating at times - especially while he chants "I'll love you 101%" during The Celestials. 2) At times it can feel like more diversity in terms of the texture and effects used for the guitars would elevate parts of some of the songs to new heights. Perhaps make them a little rougher around the edges, throw in a delay pedal here...However, these are merely minor technical features that affect the aesthetic quality of the songs. Simply put: a purely subjective comment. In all, the album proves to stand up strong within the Pumpkin's corpus of work.
    Expand
  7. Jun 21, 2012
    0
    Amazing. not since Siamese Dream has a Billy Corgan album sound so intense. It is a beautiful, exciting, rocking album from a band that has,Amazing. not since Siamese Dream has a Billy Corgan album sound so intense. It is a beautiful, exciting, rocking album from a band that has, at best, released mediocre material over the last 19 years. So Good! Expand

See all 38 User Reviews