Odditorium Or Warlords Of Mars

  • Record Label: Capitol
  • Release Date: Sep 13, 2005
Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 24
  2. Negative: 4 out of 24
  1. Filter
    82
    A marked improvement upon the blank and boring pop they pulled out of the Monkey House in 2003. [#17, p.95]
  2. Whilst a complete reinvention of rock this may not be, a beautiful soaring record for messy nights and hungover Sundays, it most certainly is.
  3. An album that playfully veers all over the place and leaves you feeling as heady and confused as a first time stoner.
  4. Gone from Odditorium Or Warlords Of Mars are the long periods of monotony that turned Welcome To The Monkey House and The Dandy Warhols Come Down into sonic quicksand. Instead, when the Dandies come to forks in the road, their arrangements wander off into uncharted territory that’s worth exploring.
  5. Paste Magazine
    80
    Brims with indulgent, bleary-eyed rock 'n' roll. [Oct/Nov 2005, p.129]
  6. Magnet
    80
    Recalls the blow-out blues of Beggars Banquet, a record not so much made for reveling as it is for the next-day hangover. [#69, p.95]
  7. Odditorium contains the best and worst aspects of the Dandy Warhols.
  8. Odditorium has at least a handful of solid tracks.
  9. Something this indulgent could only be a labor of love, but even die-hard Dandy Warhols fans might find embracing this album to be too much work.
  10. Under The Radar
    60
    Though it at first struggles to find its legs, Odditorium is as satisfying as anything the band's ever done. [#10, p.106]
  11. There's two ways for the devout Dandys fan to approach 'Odditorium...' . 1) it's their 'Kid A', a brave blunder into a new creed of experimentation into which they will hopefully one day re-work The Tunes. Or 2) what they really wanted to make was a week-long jazz opus played entirely on dying cats, but the record company made them put some proper songs on it.
  12. Blender
    60
    Odditorium buries its subtle hooks deep with endless, shape-shifting jams. [Oct 2005, p.136]
  13. Mojo
    60
    Any ad creatives hoping for mobile phone campaign music will be disappointed. [Oct 2005, p.102]
  14. Q Magazine
    60
    Mostly, the sound of The Dandy Warhols spreading their wings suits them. [Oct 2005, p.115]
  15. Uncut
    60
    A murky return to the denim'n'leather heartlands of 2000's Thirteen Tales. [Oct 2005, p.96]
  16. We'd rather watch the Dandys than listen to 'em.
  17. Spin
    58
    Odditorium... is a chance to repair their cred, and insofar as they have any, they do all right. [Sep 2005, p.102]
  18. There are no formulas here, and that's a good thing, but one can't help but feel the lack of focus and discrimination it took to put together Odditorium or Warlords of Mars.
  19. An aptly-named collection that will have even foul-weather fans scratching their heads as to where the pop has gone.
  20. So off-putting as to alienate the band's fanbase.
  21. Alternative Press
    30
    Basically, Odditorium sounds like a giant "fuck you" to [their] record label. [Nov 2005, p.218]
  22. Whether it's a fuck-you to fans who scoffed at 2003's synth-poppy Welcome to the Monkey House or a vindictive fulfillment of their contractual obligation to Capitol Records, this crap smells bad any way you sniff it.
  23. Only the truly earless would mistake this assortment of bloated in-jokes and interminable, sub-song drones for some kind of masterpiece.
User Score
6.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 44 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 37
  2. Negative: 9 out of 37
  1. Apr 3, 2016
    0
    Oh Dandy Warhols why must you always come to me with the most pretentious and horrendous alternative music known in existence. It is almostOh Dandy Warhols why must you always come to me with the most pretentious and horrendous alternative music known in existence. It is almost impressive as how they manage to come up with innovate ways to make my ears vomit. Trust me it's that bad. In fact this review isn't going to be Easy, for even thinking about the noise this band produces brings back traumatic experiences. To begin with Dandy Warhols open in the most pretentious way imaginable, literally the first track is called Colder Than The Coldest Winter Was Cold and it is just a 1950s radio broadcaster emphasizing that what I am about to hear is a revolutionary masterpiece. Within 10 minutes of listening to this my friend was Holding Me Up because of how sick I felt listening to whatever this is. This does not even deserve to be called an album, a 10 hour session of blasting white noise into my ears is more of an album than this. This is the classic "use to be good" type band that people talk about, but from listening to this I would say my cat would be a more qualified being in the music industry. Full Review »
  2. May 14, 2012
    7
    some people here pointed out that it is weaker than the first three.. well, yes, it definitely is..
    but it is still a great album.. wayyyy too
    some people here pointed out that it is weaker than the first three.. well, yes, it definitely is..
    but it is still a great album.. wayyyy too long.. "love is the new..." should not be so long!! and a couple more songs are way to repetitive (but not in trance-rock dandy fashion, but in a horrible mess) but there are some real gems here.. some of it is really good, some of it is classics (all the money... brilliant number, on par with their best songs).. it suffices as a dandy album.. a band that keeps putting out great music.. not like their incredible early trilogy but still great
    Full Review »
  3. Ben
    Feb 27, 2007
    8
    This was the first Dandys album I heard, after seeing them live at Falls Festival on NYE 05/06. I love it. It is a mixture of Pink Floyd, This was the first Dandys album I heard, after seeing them live at Falls Festival on NYE 05/06. I love it. It is a mixture of Pink Floyd, TMV, The Rolling Stones, David Bowie and... I don't know what else. One of the user reviews mentioned that "there is a distinct impression that jumped up artiness is more important than the music." Somebody who makes a comment like that could never understand this album. Full Review »