Odditorium Or Warlords Of Mars

  • Record Label: Capitol
  • Release Date: Sep 13, 2005
User Score
6.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 44 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 44
  2. Negative: 10 out of 44

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DylanC
    Dec 5, 2005
    10
    Needs time to grow on you. Extremely well-done. People who have short attention spans would do better to stick to bands that do novelty 2-3 minute songs intended for radio play. This is a record I will still want to hear in 5-10 or more years.
  2. IvanJ
    Oct 5, 2005
    8
    I was a bit sceptical when I first went through this, but after a few listens I cannot help but notice there's some great stuff here. Ok, some songs are a bit dragging it too long (especially the last) and The New Country is irritating to me as Country Lever ever was on 13 Tales but that doesn't spoil it in any way. Dandys are back to their old sound after experimenting with I was a bit sceptical when I first went through this, but after a few listens I cannot help but notice there's some great stuff here. Ok, some songs are a bit dragging it too long (especially the last) and The New Country is irritating to me as Country Lever ever was on 13 Tales but that doesn't spoil it in any way. Dandys are back to their old sound after experimenting with Monkey House. I'm a sucker for their music and can't help it. And I'm glad. Expand
  3. MattM
    Sep 18, 2005
    0
    Awful. Get any of their other albums first, enjoy them, then continue to ignore this one. I want my 10 bucks back.
  4. Ben
    Feb 27, 2007
    8
    This was the first Dandys album I heard, after seeing them live at Falls Festival on NYE 05/06. I love it. It is a mixture of Pink Floyd, TMV, The Rolling Stones, David Bowie and... I don't know what else. One of the user reviews mentioned that "there is a distinct impression that jumped up artiness is more important than the music." Somebody who makes a comment like that could never This was the first Dandys album I heard, after seeing them live at Falls Festival on NYE 05/06. I love it. It is a mixture of Pink Floyd, TMV, The Rolling Stones, David Bowie and... I don't know what else. One of the user reviews mentioned that "there is a distinct impression that jumped up artiness is more important than the music." Somebody who makes a comment like that could never understand this album. Expand
  5. ZReyburn
    Oct 28, 2005
    8
    Introduction aside this is a good Dandy's album. It reminds me of "Come Down" a little. Worth a listen.
  6. TomW
    Sep 17, 2005
    0
    This is album is overwhelmingly excreable. TDW were perhaps my favourite band from 1997-2000; an awesome trilogy of albums, (dandys rule ok!, come down, thirteen tales) and then a detour with Monkeyhouse. But this album has so little redeeming about it, it might as well be by chris martin. A half dozen songs meander through a moderately interesting 3 minutes, when they are ruined by 8 This is album is overwhelmingly excreable. TDW were perhaps my favourite band from 1997-2000; an awesome trilogy of albums, (dandys rule ok!, come down, thirteen tales) and then a detour with Monkeyhouse. But this album has so little redeeming about it, it might as well be by chris martin. A half dozen songs meander through a moderately interesting 3 minutes, when they are ruined by 8 minutes of listless, self indulgent rubbish. They might be trying to act above it all, but this mediocrity just demonstrates a group fresh out of ideas. Expand
  7. MichaelT
    Sep 19, 2005
    9
    For all the critics and fans who don't like the album, I get it, you want three-minute pop singles like "Bohemian Liky You" and "We Used to be Friends." But you know what? I like this album. Sure there are a few throwaways and some tracks do extend a bit long, but it's never lacking in melodic interest, and a few of the tracks "...the Simple Life Honey" and "Down Like Disco" are For all the critics and fans who don't like the album, I get it, you want three-minute pop singles like "Bohemian Liky You" and "We Used to be Friends." But you know what? I like this album. Sure there are a few throwaways and some tracks do extend a bit long, but it's never lacking in melodic interest, and a few of the tracks "...the Simple Life Honey" and "Down Like Disco" are knockouts! Plus, I love the floating excursion of "Love is the New Feel Awful." Maybe I'm strange, but to those naysayers who call this album scattershot or unfocused, I interpret it as eclectic and daring. Expand
  8. DSHelder
    Sep 21, 2005
    9
    This is not a record for people who take rock too serious. I.e. when the Pitchfork reviewer writes "At least the Dandies can say they didn't try. But that's an insult to everyone who ever did." -- he really has lost the point. This is a do-as-we-want play-rock-cause-it's-fun let's-forget-about-concepts kind of album. Dandy Warhols' own image as This is not a record for people who take rock too serious. I.e. when the Pitchfork reviewer writes "At least the Dandies can say they didn't try. But that's an insult to everyone who ever did." -- he really has lost the point. This is a do-as-we-want play-rock-cause-it's-fun let's-forget-about-concepts kind of album. Dandy Warhols' own image as rock'n'roll superstar is so over-the-top it's hllarious! Expand
  9. josie
    Feb 3, 2006
    9
    just as good as monkey house and urban bohemia. i could listen to holding me up over and over and over.
  10. JC
    Nov 11, 2005
    8
    You will notice the ratings for this album will go up as people listen to it more. Solid effort (probably better overall than 'Monkeyhouse', which was also a good album). Have fun with it.
  11. ThomasB
    Nov 9, 2005
    9
    not surprising that so many critics missed this album. even myself, as a fan, needed 3 listens to get this album (and dig it) which is (very) close to the perfect "13 Tales".
  12. ScottP
    Oct 24, 2005
    6
    Some great tracks surrounded by utter garbage. I'm usually never one to press the next track button, but this album is forcing me to do it more than once. A huge disappointment. Can a band be too alternative?
  13. slawekk
    Oct 30, 2005
    9
    a great rock'n'roll craze plus a hudge load of psycholdelic kick - in a way frank zappa must be proud of them!
  14. MaxK
    Oct 31, 2005
    8
    This is a very good album with a few songs that are twice as long as they should be. Why do critics and the masses pile on for being a little too cheeky? Sounds like the Dandy's are having fun making music and listeners should try to be a little less skeptical about that approach......
  15. AndrewM
    Sep 15, 2005
    10
    This took a few listens for me, but it clicked after a few listens. It has a bit of everything that made all the other Dandys albums so great. Thank goodness they have moved away from the synth sounds of their last album and do what they do best. If 9-10 minutes 'psych-grooves' with quick pop songs to fill in the blanks are your thing, this fits the bill perfectly. Classic Dandys.
  16. Allan
    Sep 17, 2005
    6
    As a normal album by a band? Pretty damn good. As a Dandy Warhols album? Easily their weakest. Still contains (some) brilliant moments, like the pro-pot jam 'Smoke It' and the absolutely gorgeous 'Everyone is Totally Insane'. But 'There is Only This Time' may be the worst song the band has ever done, and some of the other songs just leave no general As a normal album by a band? Pretty damn good. As a Dandy Warhols album? Easily their weakest. Still contains (some) brilliant moments, like the pro-pot jam 'Smoke It' and the absolutely gorgeous 'Everyone is Totally Insane'. But 'There is Only This Time' may be the worst song the band has ever done, and some of the other songs just leave no general impression. 'Love is the New Feel Awful' opens up gorgeously, and it a fine song, until the long ending section of music that isn't either emotionally engaging nor interesting. Despite the ending, an alright song though. Another song that is enjoyable enough is the hoedown 'the New Country'. Get their other albums instead first though. Expand
  17. DaveB
    Sep 17, 2005
    9
    This is certainly more focused than the Dandy's last album, Welcome to the Monkey House, and as a result, much better. This album won't win any new fans, but for those who enjoy their music, will find this to be a return to early form for the Dandy's.
  18. RaulJulia
    Sep 19, 2005
    2
    Dandy Warhols bore me with their self-important, ultra-Fonzie approach to pop music. Those who don't know any better will eat this garbage up. So in other words, they'll sell the hell out of it. Way to go Arthur!
  19. Matt
    Sep 20, 2005
    2
    It has bad elements of both current and past music.
  20. Bradley
    Sep 21, 2005
    8
    While this is not their best album by a long short, this album shows that the Dandys are never satisfied in staying in one style. A few songs are sub-par, the album will grow on many people. People must approach the album with some patience and an open mind.
  21. TrishE
    Sep 20, 2005
    9
    I really dig this album. I've read some of the more negative reviews on metacritic, but I'm really not into what that 56-year-old fossil Barry Walters of Rolling Stone magazine has to say about this. This album has its share of self-indulgent moments (hello, its the Dandy Warhols!), but there are lot of great riffs to go along with it. I'm in love with "Down Like Disco," I really dig this album. I've read some of the more negative reviews on metacritic, but I'm really not into what that 56-year-old fossil Barry Walters of Rolling Stone magazine has to say about this. This album has its share of self-indulgent moments (hello, its the Dandy Warhols!), but there are lot of great riffs to go along with it. I'm in love with "Down Like Disco," and Courtney never sounded so cool and wasted as he does with "Holding Me Up." And for the gang at Metacriticm I'm assuming your not done adding fair minded reviews from the established likes of "QMagazine", "Mojo", "Spin" or papers like the UK's "The Independent" or Canada's "The Toronto Sun" to keep a more fair and balanced tally of the score. This album is definitely worth my hard earned cash. Keep rockin' Dandys!!! Expand
  22. SonT
    Sep 28, 2005
    1
    The Patrick Swayze album. Or is it David Hasselhoff. Whatever... I hear it is real popular in Germany.
  23. SabreN
    Nov 16, 2005
    5
    I've been with the Warhols since the beginning so I have witnessed the 'transformation' of their sound in real time. For me, its never been about the rock star posturing, glorification of hedonism, or the battle to not sell out while, in fact, selling out. Its always been about the music, which I was completely enthralled with through their first three albums. I initially I've been with the Warhols since the beginning so I have witnessed the 'transformation' of their sound in real time. For me, its never been about the rock star posturing, glorification of hedonism, or the battle to not sell out while, in fact, selling out. Its always been about the music, which I was completely enthralled with through their first three albums. I initially thought 'Monkey House' was a joke and then proceeded to wait for the real album to come out, only to realize that that kick-to-the-groin of a compilation was it. After that fiasco, I really had no expectations for 'Warlords' which was good. While not the terribly awful album its predecessor was, 'Warlords' is certainly not on par with the work we have seen from this band, namely '...Come Down.' My honest opinion is that there will likely be zero new DW fans from this album (I recognize this is hardly the point, however) and old-timers (such as myself) will once again be questioning our faith and commitment to all things Dandy. Some jewels ('Holding Me Up' and 'Down Like Disco') amidst their one signiture radio song per album ('Smoke It', coincidentally their weakest radio song of all the albums), Monkey-esque indulgences ('Love is the New Feel Awful' and 'Everyone is Totally Insane'), mixed in with throwaway tracks which are borderline insulting ('Colder than the Coldest Winter Was Cold' and 'Otis') does not a great effort make. While it appears that this albums seems to "grow" on many listeners, other than the aforementioned jewels saved to my iPod, the rest of the fodder--and I have listened to the album 30 to 40 times--will be placed on my Dandy junkpile, right on top of 'I Am A Scientist.' I am still a Dandy through and through (for better or worse), but I am more inclined to listen to members of the family tree these days: The Brian Jonestown Massacre, The Warlocks, Black Rebel Motorcycle Club, and the moring after girls. I hate saying this so much, but I'd rather recommend listening to those bands albums and DW's pre-Monkey efforts than this. Its a sad day when I have to admit that my rose-colored, Dandy Warhols 3-D glasses are coming off. Expand
  24. AdamW
    Nov 16, 2005
    0
    It's no sectret the Dandies love their drugs. Their first three albums are so good, they make bad highs good in an instant. But if you're high and you listen to this album, it actually makes you paranoid that you're spending too much money on garbage like this. It's reeally that bad.
  25. MackL
    Dec 11, 2005
    10
    Come on, man, the Pitchfork and Rolling Stone reviews are ridiculous. A 1.2, are you kidding me? Even if you find the self-indulgent moments like the intro and "The New Country" silly, and you think the songs go on too long, there are a number of great moments here, my favorites tunes being "Holding Me Up" and "Love is the New Feel Awful." Taylor-Taylor said he wanted to make an album Come on, man, the Pitchfork and Rolling Stone reviews are ridiculous. A 1.2, are you kidding me? Even if you find the self-indulgent moments like the intro and "The New Country" silly, and you think the songs go on too long, there are a number of great moments here, my favorites tunes being "Holding Me Up" and "Love is the New Feel Awful." Taylor-Taylor said he wanted to make an album that felt like it was teetering, that everything could fall apart at any moment, and he succeeded. This kind of wandering, loose approach left him a little vulnerable and a lot of the critics have really swooped in. If you don't like it, fine, but why attack the band for playing it loose? Sorry to be vulgar, but pull the stick out of your you-know-what. It's just rock n' roll. I would rather listen to an uneven but overall interesting record than ten three-minute boring, if well crafted, pop songs anyday. I'm not saying this album is for everyone, or even that it isn't a little pretentious at times, but it does have some merit for those of us that love pop but are bored with verse-chorus-verse Bon Jovi songs regurgitated by posers with highlighted hair and fake British accents. Expand
  26. NickZ
    Oct 22, 2005
    10
    This is easily the best record the Dandies have produced, even considering the first album, and ...Come Down. I was especially impressed with the album after the band's "Welcome to the Monkey House," which veered away from the band's "psychedlic" sound, to say the least. The reason this record is so good is the same reason the first two records are so good: there's simply This is easily the best record the Dandies have produced, even considering the first album, and ...Come Down. I was especially impressed with the album after the band's "Welcome to the Monkey House," which veered away from the band's "psychedlic" sound, to say the least. The reason this record is so good is the same reason the first two records are so good: there's simply tons of sound on this record. It's a fantastic thing to have a Dandys record that one can get lost in once again... Expand
  27. KingInk
    Sep 15, 2005
    8
    This is a great album. Closer to their original work than the last two, and more satisfying in the long run because of it. At times, exaggeratedly simplistic, and other times quite dense, it may take sometime getting used to but it's well-worth it. A very rewarding album to listen to.
  28. ChrisG
    Sep 15, 2005
    8
    An eclectic mix of pre and post "10 Tales" Dandys. Songs like "Love is the New Feel Awful" bring to mind the majestic sounds of "Godless" and "Mohammed." "Smoke It" Is a Dylan-esque song with an energetic beat and a positive groove. However, when push comes to shove, an album which includes a track of dogs barking is too post-modern for the average listener. Entertaining for the hardcore An eclectic mix of pre and post "10 Tales" Dandys. Songs like "Love is the New Feel Awful" bring to mind the majestic sounds of "Godless" and "Mohammed." "Smoke It" Is a Dylan-esque song with an energetic beat and a positive groove. However, when push comes to shove, an album which includes a track of dogs barking is too post-modern for the average listener. Entertaining for the hardcore Dandy's fan, and most likely puzzling for the casual music afficianado - but overall, a pleasing and fun album. Expand
  29. JontyV
    Sep 16, 2005
    6
    Some great and terrible movements make this album truly hypociritcal.
  30. AlexV
    Sep 21, 2005
    5
    The criticism is that the Dandy's are trying to hard to be taken seriously and while this is true the fact remains that this record released by any of the more fashionable critical darlings of the time would be greated by intermittent cries of greatness. This doesn't mean the record is any good but does shed some light on the politics of music.
  31. TinoS
    Sep 21, 2005
    4
    No direction. This was recorded and forgotten. Save your money for The New Lows.
  32. GlennF
    Sep 22, 2005
    4
    This album is a career killer from the only band who used to be worth listening to, what a shame.
  33. BenS
    Nov 27, 2005
    3
    Don't get me wrong there are fine moments to be had here but there is a distinct impression that jumped up artiness is more important than the music. There is a self indulgence that oozes from some of these largely pointless tracks. Oh and Tatlor is VERY arrogant, far more arrogant than telented
  34. MindBomb
    Dec 22, 2005
    10
    I agree with MackL and DylanC. " Love Is the New Feel Awful", "Holding Me Up" and "Everyone Is Insane", "All the Money or the Simple Life Honey" are classics. That's four more than most bands disks these days. Dylan C is exactly right. It needs to grow on you. When I first heard it I didn't know what to think and I almost believed the reviews. After hearing the album a couple I agree with MackL and DylanC. " Love Is the New Feel Awful", "Holding Me Up" and "Everyone Is Insane", "All the Money or the Simple Life Honey" are classics. That's four more than most bands disks these days. Dylan C is exactly right. It needs to grow on you. When I first heard it I didn't know what to think and I almost believed the reviews. After hearing the album a couple times, not only did I love it but several friends that knew nothing about The Dandys until Oddotorium, are now convinced they are brilliant.. Expand
  35. steved
    Dec 27, 2005
    0
    This album is some kind of pointless journey......As undugent as it is confusing, it lacks any ability to even come close to their usual and brilliant hook based formula.......The Warhols have had a profound effect on me, and have single handedly changed my ideas of what rock music is........But with Odditorium I was reminded of all the great bands that have faded into a blaze of oblivion This album is some kind of pointless journey......As undugent as it is confusing, it lacks any ability to even come close to their usual and brilliant hook based formula.......The Warhols have had a profound effect on me, and have single handedly changed my ideas of what rock music is........But with Odditorium I was reminded of all the great bands that have faded into a blaze of oblivion due to vain attempts at, (so called) musical growth......If your anything like me you will wish you never listened to the album......infact I wish I could unlisten to it......... Expand
  36. May 14, 2012
    7
    some people here pointed out that it is weaker than the first three.. well, yes, it definitely is..
    but it is still a great album.. wayyyy too long.. "love is the new..." should not be so long!! and a couple more songs are way to repetitive (but not in trance-rock dandy fashion, but in a horrible mess) but there are some real gems here.. some of it is really good, some of it is classics
    some people here pointed out that it is weaker than the first three.. well, yes, it definitely is..
    but it is still a great album.. wayyyy too long.. "love is the new..." should not be so long!! and a couple more songs are way to repetitive (but not in trance-rock dandy fashion, but in a horrible mess) but there are some real gems here.. some of it is really good, some of it is classics (all the money... brilliant number, on par with their best songs).. it suffices as a dandy album.. a band that keeps putting out great music.. not like their incredible early trilogy but still great
    Expand
  37. Apr 3, 2016
    0
    Oh Dandy Warhols why must you always come to me with the most pretentious and horrendous alternative music known in existence. It is almost impressive as how they manage to come up with innovate ways to make my ears vomit. Trust me it's that bad. In fact this review isn't going to be Easy, for even thinking about the noise this band produces brings back traumatic experiences. To begin withOh Dandy Warhols why must you always come to me with the most pretentious and horrendous alternative music known in existence. It is almost impressive as how they manage to come up with innovate ways to make my ears vomit. Trust me it's that bad. In fact this review isn't going to be Easy, for even thinking about the noise this band produces brings back traumatic experiences. To begin with Dandy Warhols open in the most pretentious way imaginable, literally the first track is called Colder Than The Coldest Winter Was Cold and it is just a 1950s radio broadcaster emphasizing that what I am about to hear is a revolutionary masterpiece. Within 10 minutes of listening to this my friend was Holding Me Up because of how sick I felt listening to whatever this is. This does not even deserve to be called an album, a 10 hour session of blasting white noise into my ears is more of an album than this. This is the classic "use to be good" type band that people talk about, but from listening to this I would say my cat would be a more qualified being in the music industry. Expand
Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 24
  2. Negative: 4 out of 24
  1. We'd rather watch the Dandys than listen to 'em.
  2. Whilst a complete reinvention of rock this may not be, a beautiful soaring record for messy nights and hungover Sundays, it most certainly is.
  3. Something this indulgent could only be a labor of love, but even die-hard Dandy Warhols fans might find embracing this album to be too much work.