Off the Record

  • Record Label: Bureau B
  • Release Date: Mar 19, 2013
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Jun 4, 2013
    80
    Clearly, Bartos carries the romance and self-aware humour of the “classic” Kraftwerk in his genetic code: the sweet, buoyant, dignified and melodious Nachtfahrt and Hausmusik, for example, breathe the same rarefied European air which rendered The Man Machine and Trans-Europe Express such heady and immaculate touchstones.
  2. Apr 9, 2013
    80
    The past, present and future collide in a sublime celebration of technology, history and humanity, in all its flawed and triumphant glory, filtered through one man's attempts to understand and explain his small but significant place in the interconnected, universal whole.
  3. The Wire
    Apr 5, 2013
    80
    Off The Record's off the cuff feel would probably appall his former comrades but it lends the music an appealing immediacy. [Mar 2013, p.48]
  4. Mar 20, 2013
    70
    Off the Record may be dated in some respects, but it still sounds like it's aimed at the future.
  5. Mar 19, 2013
    70
    Fanatics seeking that Ralf and Florian style of restraint will certainly be thrown. Others will find their respect for Bartos has grown after a listen, and once the revelations settle, Off the Record feels like an enjoyable journey back to "Ohm Sweet Ohm."
  6. Off the Record, despite a few promising tracks, never provides a strong enough reason for listeners to do anything but go back and admire what he accomplished with Kraftwerk.
User Score
tbd

No user score yet- Awaiting 2 more ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. Nov 28, 2015
    9
    Before i heard the album i thought it not will sound so good, but after some listenings i found it fantastic! The album was so good so iBefore i heard the album i thought it not will sound so good, but after some listenings i found it fantastic! The album was so good so i bought the CD. Full Review »