Okonokos [Live]

  • Record Label: ATO
  • Release Date: Sep 26, 2006
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. 100
    As concert recordings go, this is one of the best.
  2. Entertainment Weekly
    91
    This is an impressive representation of the MMJ live experience. [29 Sep 2006, p.81]
  3. Filter
    91
    This is My Morning Jacket's shining moment. [#22, p.94]
  4. Uncut
    90
    It can take its place alongside Live At Leeds, Rock Of Ages and Wilco's more recent Kicking Television as a live classic. [Nov 2006, p.104]
  5. Rather than getting bogged down in concert-album fashion, Okonokos plays spanking new, almost re-studio recorded.
  6. "Okonokos" delivers as powerful a wake-up call to the ears as seeing MMJ in the flesh.
  7. With each passing year My Morning Jacket seem more like one of the most powerful live bands around. Okonokos does nothing but reinforce that impression.. or solidify it even.
  8. Couple the immaculate playing with a contagious, everlasting energy, and you have a true representation of My Morning Jacket on top of its game.
  9. While their performance is expansive and parts are definitely stretched out and rocked out, like on I Will Sing You Songs and Mahgeetah, this is just solid performing, not lame jam band shit.
  10. Spin
    80
    An aesthetic- and career-defining set, it's the album they were destined to make. [Nov 2006, p.103]
  11. As an introductory My Morning Jacket mixtape, Okonokos is top-shelf.
  12. Any live show will inevitably have crests and valleys, but besides these specific performances, Okonokos disappoints on a more general level: It too seldom sounds like an actual live album.
  13. This is a fans-only document, but it’s one of roaring, immutable spirit.
  14. Blender
    70
    Proves they can do just fine without the foggy-hollow reverb they've always used to make their meandering sound mysterious. [Oct 2006, p.139]
  15. Under The Radar
    70
    The featured songs, which are mostly from the band’s last two albums, are superb, and the band plays the hell out of them. [#15]
  16. New Musical Express (NME)
    70
    The only downside? You don't get to see the band's plentiful hair thrashing about. [30 Sep 2006, p.39]
  17. Q Magazine
    70
    A heroic performance. [Nov 2006, p.147]
  18. Staples like the roadhouse boogie “Dancefloors" take on new exuberance now that their tunes are not drowning in murk, and cuts such as “One Big Holiday" just sound like prime Crazy Horse.
  19. The band’s performance overall is agonizingly perfect and deserving of much praise.
  20. Mojo
    60
    The band's wild woolliness seems strangely AWOL. [Nov 2006, p.118]

Awards & Rankings

User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 26 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Jun 29, 2011
    7
    I agree with Pitchfork on this one. I expected more of a "jam" sound on this live set, similar to what they did in the "Austin" performance -I agree with Pitchfork on this one. I expected more of a "jam" sound on this live set, similar to what they did in the "Austin" performance - they rocked it far beyond any of their albums. This one sounds like a good album, but "live" -- well, a lot of the stuff one would expect live is absent. It only succeeds in thrilling towards the last 3 or 4 songs. Guess maybe it took them that long to warm up, but then the concert was over with. But overall, a great album -- it just could have been meatier (and I'm a vegetarian!). Full Review »
  2. SethW
    Dec 8, 2007
    10
    I love this band, but hate some of their production on their earlier albums (reverb is very much overdone). So I had to put up with I love this band, but hate some of their production on their earlier albums (reverb is very much overdone). So I had to put up with production that didn't heighten good songs. Z was different though, and hit everything right. To hear great sounding, expanded versions of "Run Thru" "Lowdown" "Dancefloors" and "One Big Holiday" being torn up by this band is a pleasure. Just like the last Wilco record, this gives me a different aspect to songs I already knew and gives them greater depth and appreciation. great live album from the greatest live band out there. Full Review »
  3. TomicaK
    Jan 14, 2007
    10
    Fantastic record, I'm not a huge fan, but this is one of the best live albums in the last 20 years.