Okonokos [Live]

  • Record Label: ATO
  • Release Date: Sep 26, 2006
User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 26 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 26
  2. Negative: 1 out of 26

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Gregg
    Sep 28, 2006
    9
    One of the best live albums from one of the best rock bands out there. Doesn't disappoint.
  2. JimR
    Dec 10, 2006
    10
    I'm really not a big fan of live albums, and i'm a new mmj fan. that being said along with... live at Filmore east, get your ya ya's and live at leeds this is one of the best live album;'s i've heard and having seen them live last week it does them justice.
  3. trimmm
    Oct 7, 2006
    8
    i give the cd an 8 because it is up there with the live wilco album. I was at this show and the show was a ten
  4. HeraldK
    Dec 6, 2006
    10
    Awe inspiring...this is what Rock n' Roll should be. Exciting, uplifting, emotional, energetic...this live album is far too good for me to describe in a few simple words. It is a must own, especially in this age of tired, rehashed, unspirited bands. My Morning Jacket are true originals, yet they write and play such old school rock..it just feels right. This is the best band in the Awe inspiring...this is what Rock n' Roll should be. Exciting, uplifting, emotional, energetic...this live album is far too good for me to describe in a few simple words. It is a must own, especially in this age of tired, rehashed, unspirited bands. My Morning Jacket are true originals, yet they write and play such old school rock..it just feels right. This is the best band in the world and Okonokos proves it. Expand
  5. TomicaK
    Jan 14, 2007
    10
    Fantastic record, I'm not a huge fan, but this is one of the best live albums in the last 20 years.
  6. SethW
    Dec 8, 2007
    10
    I love this band, but hate some of their production on their earlier albums (reverb is very much overdone). So I had to put up with production that didn't heighten good songs. Z was different though, and hit everything right. To hear great sounding, expanded versions of "Run Thru" "Lowdown" "Dancefloors" and "One Big Holiday" being torn up by this band is a pleasure. Just like the I love this band, but hate some of their production on their earlier albums (reverb is very much overdone). So I had to put up with production that didn't heighten good songs. Z was different though, and hit everything right. To hear great sounding, expanded versions of "Run Thru" "Lowdown" "Dancefloors" and "One Big Holiday" being torn up by this band is a pleasure. Just like the last Wilco record, this gives me a different aspect to songs I already knew and gives them greater depth and appreciation. great live album from the greatest live band out there. Expand
  7. JamesL
    Nov 28, 2006
    10
    I bought this cd on a whim after reading a good review in the minneapolis paper...man, i'm floored! honestly this is the most excited i've been about a cd in 10-15 years.
  8. Jun 29, 2011
    7
    I agree with Pitchfork on this one. I expected more of a "jam" sound on this live set, similar to what they did in the "Austin" performance - they rocked it far beyond any of their albums. This one sounds like a good album, but "live" -- well, a lot of the stuff one would expect live is absent. It only succeeds in thrilling towards the last 3 or 4 songs. Guess maybe it took them thatI agree with Pitchfork on this one. I expected more of a "jam" sound on this live set, similar to what they did in the "Austin" performance - they rocked it far beyond any of their albums. This one sounds like a good album, but "live" -- well, a lot of the stuff one would expect live is absent. It only succeeds in thrilling towards the last 3 or 4 songs. Guess maybe it took them that long to warm up, but then the concert was over with. But overall, a great album -- it just could have been meatier (and I'm a vegetarian!). Expand

Awards & Rankings

Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Rather than getting bogged down in concert-album fashion, Okonokos plays spanking new, almost re-studio recorded.
  2. "Okonokos" delivers as powerful a wake-up call to the ears as seeing MMJ in the flesh.
  3. Blender
    70
    Proves they can do just fine without the foggy-hollow reverb they've always used to make their meandering sound mysterious. [Oct 2006, p.139]