On And On

User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 62 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 56 out of 62
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 62
  3. Negative: 6 out of 62

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. davidm
    Aug 20, 2003
    10
    it's been days since I've listened to anything else!
  2. JoelE.
    Jul 2, 2004
    10
    Jack kicks ass, best CD i own.
  3. IWo
    Mar 9, 2005
    10
    I don't know what the critics are smoking. The songs on this album blend together as good as the best of them. They way the album is mixed is refreshing and original. Lyrically amazing.
  4. AlexR
    Jul 6, 2007
    7
    I like listening this album but this isn t so original !!
  5. RH
    Oct 13, 2003
    10
    good old jackie rocks!!!
  6. JodieY
    Oct 2, 2003
    10
    I Love It !!!!!
  7. davidh
    Oct 5, 2003
    10
    cd was fantastic loved every song
  8. AnthonyE
    May 16, 2003
    10
    Jack is one of my favorite singer/songwriter/performer in the music industry right now. This cd illustrates his beautiful songwriting techniques!!! Can't get enough of this cd!!!
  9. StuartC
    May 18, 2003
    10
    totally awesome fully deserves 10 out of 10
  10. nickt
    May 19, 2003
    10
    An amazing album. As good as the first. His lyrics are about everyday things we don't think about, but makes a lot of sense once you sit down and ponder.
  11. dicksonH
    Aug 12, 2003
    10
    lickalisous
  12. KristinS
    Sep 9, 2003
    10
    Don't believe the bad reviews! This is an awesome album and if you listen to it with an open mind, you will not be sorry!
  13. MarkG
    Aug 28, 2005
    10
    The so called proffessional critics are talking bollocks. An excellent musician and song writer who's music is perfect for those lazy days in the sun
  14. RyanT
    Sep 23, 2005
    10
    Musical genius
  15. MikeH
    Oct 16, 2003
    9
    Excellent Album. One of my Favorites.
  16. LauraG
    May 14, 2003
    9
    Wicked CD! As good, if not better than Brushfire Fairytales which was incredible. Mellow, calming, happy music with his twisted lyrics all seem to blend into one fantastic CD.
  17. henryl
    Aug 2, 2003
    9
    brilliant but not as good as his first
  18. johanna
    Sep 29, 2003
    10
    i found it in my house a few days ago, listened to it, and haven't listened to anything else since!it's magic...
  19. matth
    Feb 25, 2004
    10
    I dont care what anyone says, Jack Johnson has and will always rule with his mad crazy chill style. Just he plays what he likes and enjoys himself, thats what its all about.
  20. jackson
    May 18, 2004
    10
    I'm goin' to the beach with my friends, my guitar, and a drink in my hand- awsomely mellow cd
  21. CodyR
    Sep 28, 2004
    10
    Perfect, so good
  22. RyanL
    Nov 7, 2005
    10
    This music is simply divine.
  23. Samantha
    Oct 7, 2005
    10
    I love to love it
  24. joyes
    May 19, 2005
    9
    Warm and inviting to the heart. I love it
  25. TimD
    Nov 22, 2006
    10
    The first Jack Johnson album I listened to. Needless to say I have bought the others since. The simplicity is the genius of it. Its brought some of my friendships to new heights by simply playing his music. It is fresh to have something that most anyone can enjoy. And most everyone who doesn't have some prejudice toward this album will listen to it and like it. Whether it be my The first Jack Johnson album I listened to. Needless to say I have bought the others since. The simplicity is the genius of it. Its brought some of my friendships to new heights by simply playing his music. It is fresh to have something that most anyone can enjoy. And most everyone who doesn't have some prejudice toward this album will listen to it and like it. Whether it be my metalhead friends who enjoy Cradle of Filth or my parents. Expand
  26. EbenF.
    Nov 10, 2007
    10
    If you haven't felt the sea flow through your mind, and the lazy sun bake on your soul, you haven't listened to this album....
  27. amberj
    Jun 23, 2003
    10
    Although it doesn't have the same catch that Brushfire Fairytales did, I still give it a 10 because it is still an amazing album. Maybe I'm just not used to the new album yet.
  28. Keri
    Sep 25, 2003
    10
    I can't quit listening to it!!
  29. graym.
    Apr 19, 2005
    10
    amazing, jack johnson is one of the greatest writers for chill out beach music... if not the best... all his cds are great, essential buys
  30. Luke
    Aug 23, 2007
    10
    Jack's tunes are perfect for easy listening but many also have a deeper meaning, just listen. This album has so many good messages in it. We need more artists like this guy!
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Blender
    80
    With On and On, Johnson pushes past those folk- and root-distressed interiors and glides into cool new musical areas. [#16, p.122]
  2. A sparkling sophomore effort, carefully designed to avoid any kind of critical slump.
  3. With On and On, this Hawaiian surfer's croon evokes the mellow-yellow moan of Donovan but without the weirdness that made that psychedelic folkie compelling.