Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 19
  2. Negative: 1 out of 19
  1. On On My Way To Absence Jurado provides far more satisfying moments than dubious ones, and that’s no small feat when trafficking in the kind of bottom of the barrel human emotion that Jurado has made his trademark.
  2. 90
    There's not a single weak link on this excellent record. [Aug 2005, p.100]
  3. The songs are bare as winter trees, built from brittle guitars and crackling percussion. [15 Apr 2005, p.77]
  4. On My Way to Absence offers many new areas of musical exploration, suggesting a more mature arranger.
  5. 80
    In some ways, ...Absence is his most diverse record yet, but it's at its brilliant best when spare and uncompromising. [May 2005, p.104]
  6. A prototypical Damien Jurado album, this is a quietly excellent, straightforward collection of songs performed without much muss or fuss but with great empathy and feeling.
  7. Another solid addition to Jurado’s commendable catalog.
  8. Jurado is back to doing what he does best-- pairing simple, sprightly arrangements with mobile vocal melodies.
  9. Arguably his most solid collection of folk-based tunes. [Apr 2005, p.116]
  10. There was just so much I loved about Damien in Absence and so much that disappointed me.
  11. 70
    Fans will find nothing to object to. [#67, p.102]
  12. Successfully bring[s] new features to familiar territory. [Jul 2005, p.115]
  13. It’s somewhat troubling to see Jurado abandoning the genre of folk that served him so well on his last album. More unsettling is the simultaneous presence of the mopey indulgence of some of Jurado’s faux-gothic breakup stories and the honed, spare excellence of tracks like “White Center,” “Lottery,” and “Fuel.”
  14. Jurado’s ambition seems to have outpaced his execution this time out.
  15. Moments of inspired darkness still abound, but for the first time--even counting past misfires--he retraces steps almost exactly, occasionally sounding bored in the process.
  16. The weakness of On My Way to Absence comes with the lack of dynamics. Jurado leaves the recording so restrained as to vault highs and lows. Because of this, it is a less compelling listen.
  17. On My Way to Absence could have been such a moving album, had Jurado employed some quality control.
  18. Ineffectual hippy grumblings that will make you want to sleep. [4 Jun 2005, p.58]
User Score
tbd

No user score yet- Awaiting 1 more rating

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. paulk
    Feb 22, 2007
    10
    There are some gorgeous songs on here. I am the Mountain, Simple Hello, Sucker and White Center are each incredible. I've been won over There are some gorgeous songs on here. I am the Mountain, Simple Hello, Sucker and White Center are each incredible. I've been won over listening to this album and Rehearsals for Departure and am a huge fan. I can't understand why he is so little appreciated, but I don't think the Nick Drake comparisons are really that helpful (although there is a great version of Pink Moon floating in the tubes of the Internet). Please do not put your faith in the views of Eurotrash. NME has been hyping Lost Prophets for years and they blow hugely. Jurado is a master songwriter in a clash with Leonard Cohen and Neil Young. I guarantee you will love this if you listen to it for a week. Full Review »
  2. DanL
    Dec 6, 2005
    9
    great album. the critics must take a vacation.
  3. MorganK
    Apr 29, 2005
    9
    I'd call this Jurado's best since 'Ghost of David' - it follows through on what 'I Break Chairs' promised I'd call this Jurado's best since 'Ghost of David' - it follows through on what 'I Break Chairs' promised without losing the narrative sense of 'Where Shall You Take Me' - I think the big name reviewers dropped the ball on this one - one of his best and one of the best of the year so far. Full Review »