On the Impossible Past - The Menzingers
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 33 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 33
  2. Negative: 3 out of 33

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 5, 2012
    10
    Punk music as it should be. Great tunes one has a feeling know for always. And texts telling important stories. Inspirations heard everywhere, the most obvious being The Clash, Talking Heads and Nirvana. Smashing
  2. Mar 16, 2012
    10
    This is easily my favorite album of 2012 so far. The lyrics are vivid and thought provoking working in a beautiful harmony with the bombastic sound of the instrumentation and vocals.
  3. Feb 22, 2012
    9
    A great punk album. Lots of hooks and certainly lots of energy. They're very deserving of the early hype surrounding the release. People shouldn't expect more than a killer set of guitars and vocals. That's what a good punk record should be.
  4. Aug 26, 2012
    9
    I've always known about this band but finally gave them a proper listen just a few days ago. That being said, it's in my top 3 favorite albums this year. I've listened to it about 5 times already and it's not leaving my stereo anytime soon. It captured my attention the first time I listened to it, and for me that's rare. Takes me at least two or three spins to fully appreciate an album. The Menzingers are a fantastic punk band that should get more attention than they already have now. The lyrics are very well thought out and meaningful. This isn't your typical punk band that's very snappy and to the point, no. It's a punk band that incorporate deep lyrics and passion behind the words. It sounds like The Gaslight Anthem if Brian Fallon yelled a lot. Other than that, they're both very similar sounding. "Obituaries" is the standout track for me. All In All, On The Impossible Past is an incredible record. A- Expand
  5. Apr 5, 2012
    9
    I don't even usually listen to punk at all, but I still find myself liking this album a lot. The hooks are great, the lyrics are thought-provoking, and above all, it's just good music.
  6. Aug 3, 2013
    10
    Fantastic punk-rock all around. Lyrically, it's outstanding, but the vocals drive it home and the instrumentation keeps it there. The rest of this is padding.
  7. Mar 2, 2012
    9
    Been listening to album for last 10 days. Grows more on me with each go. Very well crafted punk album with a number of serious hooks. Best album I've heard since Nothington's last offering.
  8. May 10, 2012
    10
    I purchased this cd based solely on the reviews from this website and found it at first to be acceptable and then to be awesome. It has heart, a reoccuring, melonchaly theme of lost love, heartache, struggle about identity and self-worth, and being an american but not being sure if all of that embodies good, all combined with memorable choruses, hooks, and a sense of having gone through the dark and maybe seeing some light at the end of the tunnel. Having said all of that, it is some good, basic rock and roll - some may call it punk or independent or alternative, but, no, it is rock and roll. Has a real heart and is worthy of 93 or more. Love it. Expand
  9. Nov 29, 2012
    9
    "A"
    Play "Gates", then listen to "Lost in the Supermarket" by The Clash. This is just the most obvious case of The Menzingers influences, most are subtler, same with the references to classic novels.
    "from a rooftop in Brooklyn...", find the reference!
  10. Jan 25, 2013
    10
    The only other record from 2012 to renew Punk Rock to the state that it was besides Celebration Rock, Japandroids. The music is dense and rich, and greatly underrated.
  11. Aug 3, 2013
    10
    "Here's to you, the same chords that I stole from a song that I once heard, the same melody I borrowed from the void. I'd rather observe than structure a narrative, the characters are thin, the plot does not develop, it ends where it begins."
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Mar 12, 2012
    100
    On the evidence of their third full-length, this Scranton four-piece posses not one, but two examples [of good lyricists]. [19 Feb 2012, p.50]
  2. Feb 29, 2012
    90
    It might only be February, but you wouldn't look foolish calling this one of the albums of the year.
  3. Feb 27, 2012
    80
    On the Impossible Past is an impeccably crafted melodic hardcore record by a group ready for it's close-up.