Once Again

  • Record Label: Sony
  • Release Date: Oct 24, 2006
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 35 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 35
  2. Negative: 4 out of 35

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 22, 2012
    7
    A John Legend album that doesn't quite match up to his previous album "Get Lifted" but still has multiple areas of greatness. This album is full of songs that have soulful vibes that show why people enjoy john legend so much.
  2. BrookeC
    Feb 13, 2007
    9
    I lOVE this album better than the first! I think that he is really showing his diversity. My favorite is Another Again... but I wish I was Melanie in Stereo!
  3. ReubenF
    Dec 19, 2006
    8
    This guy is very talented. Unfortunately for him, his music is a little too adult contemporary jazz to be cool, but hopefully if he keeps on producing music of quality like on this album and Get Lifted, that won't matter and he will eventually get the popularity he deserves. I also like Common and Kayne West, who he has collaborated with. He needs perhaps to get a little more funk, This guy is very talented. Unfortunately for him, his music is a little too adult contemporary jazz to be cool, but hopefully if he keeps on producing music of quality like on this album and Get Lifted, that won't matter and he will eventually get the popularity he deserves. I also like Common and Kayne West, who he has collaborated with. He needs perhaps to get a little more funk, and a little less jazz, into his sound. Collapse
  4. RandyK
    Dec 11, 2006
    9
    This is better than "Get Lifted." It's new, it's fresh and it doesn't pander to the same syrupy sensibility that the majority of male "R&B" do. This is why it's distinct and will probably go down as one of his career bests.
  5. algunac
    Dec 8, 2006
    10
    The new album sounds totally different, yet it's still some of the best music out there. Once Again is a great CD. It shows his maturity in the music industry, which I believe is greatly needed.
  6. JordanD
    Dec 7, 2006
    10
    A perfect mix of sophisticated R&B/Soul with Pop. Deemed the new Marvin Gaye by many and justly so. Recommend PDA (We Just Dont Care) and Slow Dance.
  7. WayneF
    Nov 9, 2006
    10
    One of the most satisfying albums I've ever heard. John perfectly blends old and new-school to create an album with a sound that manages to satisfy the motown-crowd as well as the younger generation, while also managing to not sound monotonous.
  8. Vasya
    Oct 28, 2006
    8
    too smooth to be real soul/R&B, but perfect as popmusic
  9. PeterL
    Oct 27, 2006
    9
    Very good album with a lot of soulful and catchy songs. Personal favorites are Save Room, PDA (We Just Dont Care), and Where Did She Go. Definitely recommend this album!
  10. AlexZ.
    Oct 26, 2006
    10
    he has a unique sound and much more sophisticated style then alot of other r&b artists these days.
  11. TONYB
    Oct 25, 2006
    9
    Really smooth
  12. JC
    Oct 25, 2006
    9
    This album is great! Great singing and great use of instruments.
  13. reesem
    Oct 25, 2006
    5
    ...only three really good songs; the rest, although lyrically satisfying, don't follow through with enough creativity and popping vocal arrangements. the production on Get Lifted was 10 times better.
  14. TrexT
    Oct 24, 2006
    10
    Just Awesome. Again is so well done.
  15. LucaP
    Oct 24, 2006
    3
    the best is the first.i dont like this,only few tracks is good than nothing.
  16. SN
    Oct 23, 2006
    9
    Amazing album...absolutely amazing and timeless
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. What worked so profitably for him before also works now: his tunes are little Motown-ish symphonies, lit from within by his quiet-storm intensity, itself beholden to Smokey Robinson.
  2. Musically, the CD is satisfying enough to ensure further Grammy acclaim. Lyrically, it's damaged enough to require a top-flight couples therapist.
  3. A timeless, feel-good album that could easily slide into your papa's Sam Cooke and Percy Sledge collections, yet still sounds contemporary.