One Of The Boys

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
One Of The Boys Image
Metascore
47

Mixed or average reviews - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 468 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Once upon a time a Christian rock singer, the now-pop singer releases her second album, produced by the likes of Butch Walker, Dr. Luke, Max Martin, Dave Stewart, and Greg Wells.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 18
  2. Negative: 3 out of 18
  1. 70
    Perry’s creative-writing-class punch lines don’t always justify her self-congratulatory drag-queen tone. But she hiccups quirkily enough, and myriad big-name producers (from Dr. Luke to Glen Ballard) keep the new-wave synth hooks hopping
  2. Uncut
    60
    Gwen Stefani should be nervous. [Oct 2008, p.105]
  3. Careering from tart-tongued vixen to rough-and-tumble tomboy to woeful lonelyheart may reflect her real life, but it makes for a thematically bumpy ride.
  4. The bulk of Boys is sufficiently well put together; the generally witty pop walks that tricky line between edginess and accessibility.
  5. The problem is not with Katy's gender-bending, it's that her heart isn't in it; she's just using it to get her places, so she sinks to crass, craven depths that turn One of the Boys into a grotesque emblem of all the wretched excesses of this decade.
  6. 'Mannequin' features some cleverly written lyrics, but Perry doesn't possess the grit or vocal prowess to follow through, and the title track is like No Doubt's 'Just a Girl' sans personality and conviction.
  7. While undeniably catchy, the hyper-produced songs have a familiar radio-ready quality that becomes infuriatingly mind-numbing over time, and Perry's vocals sound like a less-soulful Kelly Clarkson at best, a drunken, spurned sorority girl at worst.

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 79
  2. Negative: 13 out of 79
  1. Jul 23, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. One of The Boys is not a ordinary album.Is original,stronger and fun.One Of The Boys it's the perfect started.I Kissed a Girl it's the best song of the album.Waking Up In Vegas is good but not enough.Thinking Of U is the best ever ballad i hear.Mannequin it;s stronger and contagious.Ur So Gay is A Guilty Pleasure.You don't stop to listen the song cuz u sing:Ur so gay but you don't like the boys.Hot N Cold it's cool and fresh but not so original.A mix between I Kissed A Girl and Ur So Gay.If U Can Afford Me:One of the best song.Lost a perfect ballad but not good position in the track list.Self Inflicted:It's a normal song i can't remember nothing about the lyrics or instrumental after ten listen.I'm Still Breathing A Perfect Ballad.Fingerprints:Fun and contagious.Conclusion:Super Cd Expand
  2. Aug 29, 2015
    10
    This is a good album coming form the 2006-2008 Katy Perry. The rock influences are notable. Also has a wide range of songs. Rock and cathcyThis is a good album coming form the 2006-2008 Katy Perry. The rock influences are notable. Also has a wide range of songs. Rock and cathcy ones like "One of the Boys" and "I Kissed a Girl", meaningful songs like "I'm Still Breathing" and "Lost" and country-influenced ones like "Thinking of You" or "Mannequin". This album shows the Katy of that time. I don't really understand the bad critics. Her voice is unique, thats why Glen Ballard tell her that she was gonna triumph. Also her carisma. This album is good Expand
  3. MarieO
    May 23, 2009
    10
    My favorite album of 2008 and still waiting for another one that will match the quality and number of great songs that are on "One of the My favorite album of 2008 and still waiting for another one that will match the quality and number of great songs that are on "One of the boys". I can't understand the hate against Katy Perry who is a deserving artist... from a christian family, to church singer, waitress in LA, almost broke, to finally making it to the top because of her great music and songs. She's my hero! Her story is very touching. Expand
  4. Nov 27, 2010
    8
    I love the album's concept, the classic rock feel. I love how Katy Perry solely writes her song like "Thinking of You", "One of the Boys" andI love the album's concept, the classic rock feel. I love how Katy Perry solely writes her song like "Thinking of You", "One of the Boys" and "Mannequin." I also love her singles which are danceable and fun. But some songs are same sounding and kinda boring. But at least, I see the artistic value in the album. Expand
  5. Mar 24, 2013
    7
    Katy Perry did fairly well on her debut album as a pop artist. Tracks "I Kissed A Girl" and "Waking Up In Vegas" are home runs.
  6. Mar 25, 2012
    6
    "One of the Boys" is Perry's sophomore effort after her horrendous christian debut album "Katy Hudson". This one is clearly her attempt (and"One of the Boys" is Perry's sophomore effort after her horrendous christian debut album "Katy Hudson". This one is clearly her attempt (and success) into making her a place in the mainstream pop world. "One of the Boys" is an album with character, displaying Perry as a pin-up pop-rock-ish girl that writes her own songs. Back in 2008 she was quite fresh for the pop scene, even if the album was not that good. "I Kissed a Girl" and "Hot 'n' Cold" were the obvious hits she needed to achieve success but, even if the album has some other great songs in it, it is quite irregular and unfortunately doesn't maintain it's good level all through. Nonetheless I feel she could've been a great pop-rock artist, if she didn't transform her sound into the extreme bubblegum pop that her next effort ("Teenage Dream") is.

    Highlights: Thinking of You, Waking Up in Vegas, Lost, Fingerprints
    Expand
  7. CharlieM.
    Sep 3, 2008
    0
    This album sux. Her vocals are bad and just shows people don't have talent anymore. Aimee, plz ok Seriously, people like you no offense This album sux. Her vocals are bad and just shows people don't have talent anymore. Aimee, plz ok Seriously, people like you no offense just want some catchy song that just fulfills the moment, when there are so many better artists that never see the light of day. Such a disgrace. Expand

See all 79 User Reviews