One of Us Is the Killer - The Dillinger Escape Plan
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Jun 17, 2013
    60
    The fifth album from New Jersey's The Dillinger Escape Plan is another step back towards the math-metal that made their name. [Jul 2013, p.103]
  2. Jun 11, 2013
    80
    Taken on its own merits, this is still a stunning album from a band operating at the peak of their powers. [18 May 2013, p.52]
  3. 80
    For any fan, past or present, this is mandatory listening.
  4. May 22, 2013
    90
    Overall, since their formation in 1997, The Dillinger Escape Plan have seamlessly fused math metal with aspects of pop and jazz, a trend that wholeheartedly continues on One Of Us Is The Killer.
  5. May 20, 2013
    80
    There's a gulf between even At The Drive-In and how extreme Dillinger can be, but on One Of Us Is The Killer, they've finally written a record that bridges that gap while staying true to themselves.
  6. May 15, 2013
    70
    Functioning adults that they are, Dillinger Escape Plan have realized that tightly wound precision left to its own devices is about as much fun as orgasm denial. Welcoming the pleasures of melody's slow release, they've retained their desire to rage and contort.
  7. May 15, 2013
    80
    It contains more successful experiments than usual, and a few moments of genuine splendour.
  8. May 15, 2013
    82
    One Of Us Is the Killer is the explosion all of us were hoping it’d be, and yes, lethal as ever--now it’s just easier to pick up the pieces afterwards.
  9. May 15, 2013
    80
    This shift toward playing to the listener's gut rather than head gives the Dillinger Escape Plan a newfound level of accessibility without diminishing the impact of their punishing sound.
  10. May 15, 2013
    80
    On One of Us Is the Killer, everybody is firing on all cylinders and DEP sound just as urgent as ever. [Jun 2013, p.94]
User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 27 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Jun 2, 2013
    10
    I'm not sure whether or not to call this album perfect. I love this album. The Dillinger Escape Plan is one of the most controversial bands around, but regardless, they kick major ass. Nobody blows my mind quite like this band. Especially when it comes to their new album, One of Us Is the Killer. I mean, anybody who can go from mind boggling... insanity like When I Lost My Bet, to almost radio friendly music with the title track... it's just insane. Greg's vocals are incredible, Ben Weinman's guitar work, as always, is incredible, and Bill Rymer just wrecks the drum kit all throughout the album. This band just does not slaw down, and I love it. I hope this band keeps doing what they do 10 years from now. Full Review »
  2. Jun 13, 2013
    9
    Dillinger's latest album effort, "One Of Us Is The Killer", is definitely a step-up from their previous LP. DEP finally blends together what made Ire Works and Option work so well into one album that suits everyone's needs. Full Review »
  3. Jun 6, 2013
    8
    They are back, powerful as ever and with the melodic shenanigans, still influenced by mike patton’s past collaborations.
    This is one of my
    favorite albums of 2013 for now, it’s a go-to album when one needs a slap on his mind or a quick energy charge. Full Review »