• Record Label: Capitol
  • Release Date: Aug 15, 2006
Metascore
39

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 14
  2. Negative: 4 out of 14
  1. (One) is a good rock album that likely could have been great if not for lack of a solid lead single and anything resembling overall coherence in its thematic overtones.
  2. Entertainment Weekly
    50
    Surprisingly pedestrian. [18 Aug 2006, p.138]
  3. What this channel lacks is true feeling and originality.
  4. (ONe) isn’t the lightning we’ve been waiting for. Still, it may well be enough to convince us to keep watching.
  5. It's hard to believe these men were once innovators.
  6. For those listeners who pine for a world when Seven Mary Three received heavy rotation, this will satisfy, but anybody expecting the spark of Jane's Addiction or even a dose of Navarro's campy on-camera charm will be sorely disappointed.
  7. Alternative Press
    40
    The result: a CD without hooks, impressive guitar pyrotechnics, or anything else, really. [Sep 2006, p.226]
  8. (ONe) is decidedly safe and anything but experimental.
  9. New Musical Express (NME)
    40
    The Panic Channel... never quite click. [9 Sep 2006, p.37]
  10. Uncut
    40
    Distinctly average. [Oct 2006, p.119]
  11. 30
    Isaacs’s indistinct, flannel-waving wail doesn’t add anything to these titanic anthems of soul and struggle, which don’t say much beyond: Dave Navarro, still breathing, still taking meetings.
  12. Rolling Stone
    30
    Sounds a lot like a collection of rejected Foo Fighters tunes. [7 Sep 2006, p.107]
  13. Perhaps the worst aspect of ONe is how on autopilot the band sounds. Even the flat-out rockers – like the opener, 'Teahouse Of The Spirits' – contain no guitar pyrotechnics and come off sounding limp and perfunctory.
  14. Mojo
    20
    Could pass for a load of Stone Temple Pilots B-sides. [Sep 2006, p.106]
User Score
5.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 46 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 46
  2. Negative: 20 out of 46
  1. Jul 14, 2015
    0
    If the band kept the energy of the first single "Teahouse of Spirits" I might have given a rating of 7/10 perhaps. This was certainly not theIf the band kept the energy of the first single "Teahouse of Spirits" I might have given a rating of 7/10 perhaps. This was certainly not the case. When I got afterwards was some of the the most mundane rock songs that make concrete look like a live Led Zeppelin concert. There are few albums that make me this bored, but there is the redeemable quality that if you listen to this you don't have to buy zzzquil. I'm starting to think The Panic Channel was a band formed just to help people with insomnia. Staying awake while listening to this should be the next big Internet challenge. I might be an outsider for hating this, but I just can't conceive how this appeals to anyone. The band might has well have left most of the songs untitled because they all pretty much sound the same. Maybe The Panic Channel is just trying to compete with Nickelback. Said ou be is probably my second favorite track and even that song gets redundant. The only thing a really learned from this was where the actual creativity from Jane's Addiction comes from. Full Review »
  2. [Anonymous]
    Apr 22, 2008
    1
    Anyone who has to use 'Avril Lavigne' as why this album is good automatically has an invalid opinion. This album is disgusting.
  3. AndrewB
    May 17, 2007
    10
    I saw them on both tours and they are without doubt one of the best rock bands to come out in the last decade.. I have seen Jane's I saw them on both tours and they are without doubt one of the best rock bands to come out in the last decade.. I have seen Jane's Addiction live, I have seen RHCP live MANY times, Grateful Dead, etc.. I can honestly say that The Panic Channel is AMAZING live and if you didn't appreciate this album then you should probably go back and listen to it while inebriated with alot of hot girls dancing around you.. lighten up people.. this music is incredible, I would challenge you to make something that can even come close to matching it's beautiful delicate and forceful nature.. --verylittledaylight. Full Review »