(One)

  • Record Label: Capitol
  • Release Date: Aug 15, 2006
User Score
5.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 46 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 46
  2. Negative: 20 out of 46

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. jerryb
    Aug 25, 2006
    2
    This is a very boring Channel!!! It is not easy to explain that 50% lets say 75% of Jane's Addiction is in this band... Because this Channel sounds like utter CRAP. I can't beleive the bandmembers themselves seriously thinks that only one of these songs is great.... Sorry for Dave and Steven to throw away their special talents on this, I hope, One MISTAKE.
  2. JJ
    Sep 1, 2006
    0
    The absolute worst of the worst. If it was possible to give this a negative score, I would.
  3. QWilson
    Oct 1, 2006
    1
    The reason people hate this album is NOTHING to do with it being 'different' to Jane's Addiction. If you totally ignore anyone's previous work and take this album at face value, fact is, it is BAD. It's simply BAD MUSIC. Avoid this tosh. It's the worst album I've ever bought. Generic as hell.
  4. SandraA
    Sep 2, 2006
    1
    Perhaps the worst release of 2006. Everyone involved with this should be embarrassed.
  5. sethd
    Sep 9, 2006
    0
    Jane's Addiction was a throbbing living organism of dangerous, psychocosmic rock. The best there ever was, as displayed on Ritual de lo Habitual. The Panic Channel is a dull, limp mass of wet fur on the side of rock and rolls most traveled highway. This may be the most unimportant album since that time the guys who sing the "Friends" theme song cut a record, if not ever.
  6. [Anonymous]
    Apr 22, 2008
    1
    Anyone who has to use 'Avril Lavigne' as why this album is good automatically has an invalid opinion. This album is disgusting.
  7. Nathan
    Oct 21, 2006
    1
    this album really lacks quality and depth
  8. SarahK.
    Aug 22, 2006
    1
    Poor lyric writing, boring songwriting, dated sound, etc. etc. Steve Isaacs is easily the weak link with this band. Why he was picked for this band, we may never know. Hopefully they will be (ONe) and done, so people will not have to put up with this kind of mediocrity in the future.
  9. timf
    Sep 13, 2006
    0
    Dave Navarro's new band asks Why Cry? with their new single. Why? Because your album is pop and awful. U have lost all originality
  10. MikeL
    Sep 7, 2006
    0
    This album is horrendous , I expect alot from Dave Navarro , who was so inovative in Jane's Addiction , is just doing not so great stuff with this album and Steve Isaac's(former Mtv V.J.) lacks intensity in his voice , he's not a bad singer just not really talented with the voice he could possible have!....This C.D. seems like it lasts forever because it's so damn This album is horrendous , I expect alot from Dave Navarro , who was so inovative in Jane's Addiction , is just doing not so great stuff with this album and Steve Isaac's(former Mtv V.J.) lacks intensity in his voice , he's not a bad singer just not really talented with the voice he could possible have!....This C.D. seems like it lasts forever because it's so damn boring , I don't care for any song on here!.....It's a perfect 0/10 Expand
  11. ChuckL
    Jan 19, 2007
    0
    This disc is so terrible. If I ever see Dave or Steve Isaacs walking around SLO, I'm going to KTFO of both of them for putting out this garbage.
  12. JoeB
    Feb 1, 2007
    2
    this cd is really bad. it shows what happens when you dumb down stephen perkins part and audition a chris cornell wannabe
  13. MadJack
    Apr 21, 2007
    0
    Navarro, though a good guitarist, is commercial cheese. This band is commercial cheese. Tailored to appeal to women that pine after bad boy rocker types. Anyone with a set below the belt will find it over-dramatic and contrived. Nothing new or original, visceral or inspiring here.
  14. BluceRee
    Apr 4, 2007
    0
    Took a road trip the other day and a friend of my girlfriend brought this disc with her. Holy hell is this thing awful. This disc is completely mediocre ( and at times worse ) and has zero replay value. Do yourself a favor and pass this up and don't look back. You'll be glad you did. The lead singer is a joke and the lyrics are goofy as hell at times. Even my girlfriend was Took a road trip the other day and a friend of my girlfriend brought this disc with her. Holy hell is this thing awful. This disc is completely mediocre ( and at times worse ) and has zero replay value. Do yourself a favor and pass this up and don't look back. You'll be glad you did. The lead singer is a joke and the lyrics are goofy as hell at times. Even my girlfriend was making fun of him for being such a whiny douche hahaha Expand
  15. ErikH
    Sep 12, 2006
    1
    Dear Todd J, please refrain from comparing this garbage to truly great albums like "Kid A" or "Yankee Hotel Foxtrot." This album is about as likely to go down as a "masterpiece of the 21st century" as Paris Hilton's debut... perhaps less likely. This album was only made for the purpose of money. Hopefully the former Addiction members will make enough off of this to buy back their Dear Todd J, please refrain from comparing this garbage to truly great albums like "Kid A" or "Yankee Hotel Foxtrot." This album is about as likely to go down as a "masterpiece of the 21st century" as Paris Hilton's debut... perhaps less likely. This album was only made for the purpose of money. Hopefully the former Addiction members will make enough off of this to buy back their credibility. Expand
  16. Ben
    Sep 13, 2006
    0
    Why would anyone ever listen to this. It is the worst album I have heard all year. They do a mediocre job of playing bad songs and they are so unoriginal that it could be elevator music. Bad elevator music.
  17. MattD.
    Sep 14, 2006
    2
    Not terrible. But fails to make you feel ANYTHING, which can be worse.
  18. cleopatraj
    Sep 25, 2006
    1
    shite.
  19. Jul 14, 2015
    0
    If the band kept the energy of the first single "Teahouse of Spirits" I might have given a rating of 7/10 perhaps. This was certainly not the case. When I got afterwards was some of the the most mundane rock songs that make concrete look like a live Led Zeppelin concert. There are few albums that make me this bored, but there is the redeemable quality that if you listen to this you don'tIf the band kept the energy of the first single "Teahouse of Spirits" I might have given a rating of 7/10 perhaps. This was certainly not the case. When I got afterwards was some of the the most mundane rock songs that make concrete look like a live Led Zeppelin concert. There are few albums that make me this bored, but there is the redeemable quality that if you listen to this you don't have to buy zzzquil. I'm starting to think The Panic Channel was a band formed just to help people with insomnia. Staying awake while listening to this should be the next big Internet challenge. I might be an outsider for hating this, but I just can't conceive how this appeals to anyone. The band might has well have left most of the songs untitled because they all pretty much sound the same. Maybe The Panic Channel is just trying to compete with Nickelback. Said ou be is probably my second favorite track and even that song gets redundant. The only thing a really learned from this was where the actual creativity from Jane's Addiction comes from. Expand
Metascore
39

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 14
  2. Negative: 4 out of 14
  1. For those listeners who pine for a world when Seven Mary Three received heavy rotation, this will satisfy, but anybody expecting the spark of Jane's Addiction or even a dose of Navarro's campy on-camera charm will be sorely disappointed.
  2. Alternative Press
    40
    The result: a CD without hooks, impressive guitar pyrotechnics, or anything else, really. [Sep 2006, p.226]
  3. It's hard to believe these men were once innovators.