(One)

  • Record Label: Capitol
  • Release Date: Aug 15, 2006
User Score
5.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 46 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 46
  2. Negative: 20 out of 46

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. frederikv.
    Sep 9, 2006
    7
    It's Good but it's not like a revelation or something. I hear 4 really good musicians, a good songwriter but probebly (and most important for rockbands) a great live act. The songs are all good and have that typical jane's add caché to it (wich was to be expected :) ) but the vocal is totally different. If they ever tour europe i'll go check em for sure..!
  2. JoachimH
    Aug 19, 2006
    8
    I like the album. Especially "Why Cry"
  3. Dessy
    Aug 28, 2006
    10
    Steve's voice is so, so sexy! When I firs heard Why Cry, I was thinking:
  4. toddj
    Aug 30, 2006
    10
    Like all other masterpieces of the 21st century The panic channel is both groundbreaking, and breath taking. Albums such as Kid A and Hotel Yankee Foxtrot are definately comparable. In many years to come this album will be referenced upon. An alternative rock touchstone
  5. funkygirl
    Aug 30, 2006
    10
    this album is great.i love their songs....panic chahhel rocks!
  6. NiceShoes
    Sep 10, 2006
    10
    I am sick of people putting this into a box before they actually use their ears. Jane's split up, get over it. New band, new concept, fresh ideas. Steve's voice is haunting. Only buy this album if you are actually going to LISTEN to it. By using your ears.
  7. AndrewL
    Sep 6, 2006
    8
    It dosn't deserve all this negativity at all. It's not the best album ever made but it's certainly not THAT bad.
  8. Chris
    Nov 11, 2006
    7
    When I saw this in Music Zone a few weeks ago, I wasn't sure if i wanted it or not. I had read the reviews of it; some good, but mostly bad. But I went for it, and afterwards I was pleased I had bought it. It's nowhere near as bad as everyone is making it out to be. OK, a few of the songs are c**p, but others, such as "Left To Lose" and "Said You'd Be" have a manic urgency When I saw this in Music Zone a few weeks ago, I wasn't sure if i wanted it or not. I had read the reviews of it; some good, but mostly bad. But I went for it, and afterwards I was pleased I had bought it. It's nowhere near as bad as everyone is making it out to be. OK, a few of the songs are c**p, but others, such as "Left To Lose" and "Said You'd Be" have a manic urgency about them that Jane's Addiction never had, except maybe for "Strays". For me, this is a continuation of Jane's last album, albeit with a different singer, who isn't as bad as everyone says, and a new, harder edge for the new millenium. It is definately not worth all the 0s that are on the user ratings board. Besides, JA was at their creative, experimental height in the late 80s/early 90s, so for TPC to be the same as JA would mean going back a good 15 years. And that would just be detrimental to the music. This is no doubt the breath of fresh air that Navarro sorely needs. Expand
  9. MartinS
    Dec 27, 2006
    7
    I think this is pretty good. "Teahouse of the spirits", "Left to Lose", "Bloody Mary", "Night One" and "Listen" are all good songs. "Why Cry" is pretty bad though. They should have left it off.
  10. TommyT.
    Feb 20, 2007
    9
    You people need to let JA go. Navarro's attempt to create something new here has succeeded despite your longings for past jaundra lost in time. Forget the rocker tracks and Issacs accapela tune for a moment. Tracks 4,6,9 all have big radio play potential. So what if they sound like something you have heard before. That is what makes it familiar and haunting at the same time .when you You people need to let JA go. Navarro's attempt to create something new here has succeeded despite your longings for past jaundra lost in time. Forget the rocker tracks and Issacs accapela tune for a moment. Tracks 4,6,9 all have big radio play potential. So what if they sound like something you have heard before. That is what makes it familiar and haunting at the same time .when you hear certain riffs and cord changes that move you to crank up the volume then something is working. After seeing PC in Portland I can assure they blew away skunk head and mr. Lee. I will be attending next time I can. You " rock critics" have heard so much crap at this point you have no idea what the listing public wants any more......get bent........ Expand
  11. RyleeS
    Apr 28, 2007
    8
    No one ever said an album had to be original to be good. In fact, Avril Lavigne's new album "The Best Damn Thing" is good proof of this. So, in this case, is The Panic Channel's debut, "(One)". In no way, shape or form does this album break any ground, but it sure stands the ground it's on. The riffs are driving and melodic, perfect for Top 40 radio...in 1997, not 2007. But No one ever said an album had to be original to be good. In fact, Avril Lavigne's new album "The Best Damn Thing" is good proof of this. So, in this case, is The Panic Channel's debut, "(One)". In no way, shape or form does this album break any ground, but it sure stands the ground it's on. The riffs are driving and melodic, perfect for Top 40 radio...in 1997, not 2007. But the combination of Steve Isaacs soaring vocals, lyrics that reach out to almost anyone of any age (especially the slower tune like "She Won't Last" and the single, "Why Cry") and the energy with which it is all executed make the fact that this album wouldn't have broken any ground 10 years ago perfectly alright. Expand
  12. AndrewB
    May 17, 2007
    10
    I saw them on both tours and they are without doubt one of the best rock bands to come out in the last decade.. I have seen Jane's Addiction live, I have seen RHCP live MANY times, Grateful Dead, etc.. I can honestly say that The Panic Channel is AMAZING live and if you didn't appreciate this album then you should probably go back and listen to it while inebriated with alot of I saw them on both tours and they are without doubt one of the best rock bands to come out in the last decade.. I have seen Jane's Addiction live, I have seen RHCP live MANY times, Grateful Dead, etc.. I can honestly say that The Panic Channel is AMAZING live and if you didn't appreciate this album then you should probably go back and listen to it while inebriated with alot of hot girls dancing around you.. lighten up people.. this music is incredible, I would challenge you to make something that can even come close to matching it's beautiful delicate and forceful nature.. --verylittledaylight. Expand
  13. AaronE
    Nov 16, 2006
    10
    I feel your soul through your music Dave...Keep rockin' bro'!!!!
  14. HervéH
    Aug 23, 2006
    10
    Good songs, beautifukk killer songs ( bloody mary and whyCry ) You keep it in mind once you've heared it. And I like mister Isaacs voice AND it's definitively not Jane's Addiction , Well Done, Dave!
  15. PedroC
    Aug 25, 2006
    10
    fucking band!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  16. Mike
    Sep 25, 2006
    9
    While some reviews may be average, I actually like like this album. It was written over quite a long period of time, which may explain in some part why is doesn't quite flow. I hate speculate but I think that songs like Go On and the old Bloody Mary (the hard rock, butt kicking version), may have be booted to insert radio friendly tunes instead with wider commercial appeal. While some reviews may be average, I actually like like this album. It was written over quite a long period of time, which may explain in some part why is doesn't quite flow. I hate speculate but I think that songs like Go On and the old Bloody Mary (the hard rock, butt kicking version), may have be booted to insert radio friendly tunes instead with wider commercial appeal. Don't underestimate the complexity of these songs, this is not 3 chord rock. Night ONe is genius, if entirely unlike most generic junk out there today. Expand
  17. BlakeD
    Jan 23, 2007
    10
    I love this album dave navarro is awsome
Metascore
39

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 14
  2. Negative: 4 out of 14
  1. For those listeners who pine for a world when Seven Mary Three received heavy rotation, this will satisfy, but anybody expecting the spark of Jane's Addiction or even a dose of Navarro's campy on-camera charm will be sorely disappointed.
  2. Alternative Press
    40
    The result: a CD without hooks, impressive guitar pyrotechnics, or anything else, really. [Sep 2006, p.226]
  3. It's hard to believe these men were once innovators.