Onwards to the Wall [EP] - A Place to Bury Strangers
Onwards to the Wall [EP] Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics What's this?

User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 4 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The latest EP for A Place to Bury Strangers was mixed, recorded, and produced by the New York rock band.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. The placeholder EP is blunter and slighter than the album.
  2. 88
    Onwards is, at its heart, just one big suicide tease, which is what makes it so fantastic.
  3. Feb 10, 2012
    If you happen to like British-sounding bands that brood and are dissonant, Onwards to the Wall, as an extended play, is a near essential purchase, and one that will have you salivating as to where this band is going next.
  4. Feb 24, 2012
    The band manages throughout Onwards to the Wall to keep things just about as industrial as they can get. And without abandoning pop for metal by always maintaining a strict allegiance to simplicity.
  5. This new release does function better as a cohesive work, but oddly enough they seem to have restricted their musical vocabulary even further.
  6. Feb 7, 2012
    In its own way, Onwards to the Wall is just as exciting as Exploding Head was, managing to sum up the band's sound and move forward at the same time.
  7. Mar 8, 2012
    Softening their sound hasn't led to more fans, but to a blander, weaker and unsatisfying sound.

See all 15 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Apr 26, 2012
    Cosmic-punk "It'll Be Alright", a perfect combination of noise and melodic indie rock in "Onwards To The Wall", stadium-sounding "So Far Away" with distinctive choirs and two psychedelic songs: "I Lost You" and "Drill It Up" are components of A Place to Bury Strangers - "Onwards to the Wall" EP. Good one. Expand
  2. Apr 5, 2012
    Coming from someone that's been a fan since their first album, I was a bit disappointed with this release. I just felt it was ok. There are a few gems here and there. But none of the tracks can live up to the magic that is 'Exploding Head' and 'A Place to Bury Strangers'. Expand