Oops!... I Did It Again

  • Record Label: Jive
  • Release Date: May 16, 2000
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 364 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 42 out of 364

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. EllenB
    Oct 23, 2005
    9
    ...Baby One More Time and Britney have two completely different sounds, and this is the transition album. A few of the tracks hit the line right between dance and 90s pop perfectly, like Oops!...I Did It Again, Stronger and Crush, but others like Don't Come Knocking On My Door are perfectly horrendous. One could do without this album, but it definitely wouldn't bother one's ears.
  2. MauroA
    Mar 13, 2005
    10
    Oops! it´s the best album of pop of the last decade!
  3. EnzoP.
    Oct 31, 2008
    7
    A nice europop record with a lot of sweet ballads. Better than the first one.
  4. MikeD.
    Aug 19, 2001
    9
    Pure Pop, but what can you say ? It's hard not to enjoy it. Even if you're not proud of it
  5. SaIroS
    Oct 25, 2005
    10
    Definitively one of the best pop albums of all time!
  6. ChrisE
    Oct 17, 2006
    9
    Britney Spears is a pop music superstar. Her debut album ...Baby One More Time showcased the singer as a formidable talent, but her second record Oops!...I Did It Again solidified the buxom blonde's status as THE female pop star to beat. The title track remains the biggest hit on here, and deservedly so--like its predecessor, the Grammy-nominated No. 1 Spears debut hit "...Baby One Britney Spears is a pop music superstar. Her debut album ...Baby One More Time showcased the singer as a formidable talent, but her second record Oops!...I Did It Again solidified the buxom blonde's status as THE female pop star to beat. The title track remains the biggest hit on here, and deservedly so--like its predecessor, the Grammy-nominated No. 1 Spears debut hit "...Baby One More Time," "Oops!...I Did It Again" is as superb as a pop single can get. The real problem here, aside from the horrific ballads that make up the latter half of the record, is Britney's once-decent singing abilities are so overproduced by the disc's hyped production it's almost hard to realize Britney is human by the vocals she has provided. The first half of Oops!...I Did It Again is great but the ballads (aside from "Don't" and "Lucky") are as sappy as most teenage love is. Whether or not you like her, one thing remains for sure: Britney Spears delivered one of the most solid pop discs ever recorded with Oops!...I Did It Again. Expand
  7. ZaneS.
    Aug 21, 2008
    9
    Definitely my fav. Britney album. The title track is great, the singles are good, but my favorite song here is "One Kiss From You." It's a typical pop song, but it's so catchy I can't get enough of it. The ballads don't stand out, but "Where Are You Now" is as good as Britney ballad will be, and "When Your Eyes Say It" is a catchy, slow, whispering little number.
  8. RuanH.
    Aug 12, 2007
    8
    An excellent pop album, but little credit goes to the artist... this is a thoroughly manufactured record by outstanding producers. Britney simply adds a little touch of golden dust and sweetness to it. Best track, "Stronger".
  9. WestB.
    Jun 16, 2009
    8
    A good album, but is cheesy at times. Lets go song by song. The starter track which is the same name of the album is one of her "iconic" tracks and is one of the best on the album. The next track is Stronger. Personally, this is the best Britney song ever. It talks about overcoming bad relationships. Don't go Knockin on my Door is kind of like Stronger Part 2 when the guy wants her A good album, but is cheesy at times. Lets go song by song. The starter track which is the same name of the album is one of her "iconic" tracks and is one of the best on the album. The next track is Stronger. Personally, this is the best Britney song ever. It talks about overcoming bad relationships. Don't go Knockin on my Door is kind of like Stronger Part 2 when the guy wants her back. At the end of the song Britney and her friend are discussing out she is never satisfied and fades into the cover of the Stones' hit (I Can't Get No) Satisfaction. This is one of the better songs on the album and seems to have a nice tune to it. Then comes the ballad "Don't Let Me Be the Last To Know". The song (written by Shania Twain) is just a good song and there really isn't much of another way to put it. Then comes What U See (Is What You Get). This song really hardly has a meaning but also has a phone call from Britney's boyfriend talking about how they saw a movie about a girl who had everything. But she wasn't happy. The next song, Lucky is exactly about that. Another great song on the album. One Kiss From You is an okay song. Where Are You Now is another one of the album's ballads. Which the song sounds like it should be at the end of a movie. Can't Make You Love Me is a simple song about a girl with a crush on a guy. When Your Eyes Say It, is also just one of the okay songs on the album. In the last song, Dear Diary the saying "Saved the best for last" definitely doesn't apply. This song is just... a big cheesy, bad song. Really makes the album not have a 9/10. Best song: Stronger Worst song: Dear Diary. Expand
  10. Oct 27, 2011
    10
    ...Baby One More Time made Britney a worldwide pop-star, but Oops!... I Did It Again made her the supreme Princess of Pop. Maybe is too similar to the previous album, but Britney stills can do great with pop music. The beats and the lyrics were great for those times (and they still good for these times). This album is one of her best works at all.
  11. Apr 10, 2016
    10
    Simplesmente o melhor álbum da Britney, não tem como não gostar dessa sonoridade pop do fim dos 90's início dos 00's. Além do mais as baladas dele são simplesmente perfeitas, o ritmo, as letras, a voz...
  12. Jun 21, 2014
    10
    O segundo álbum de estúdio da princesinha do Pop, impecável, faixas perfeitas, sendo algumas com uma bela mensagem, vários covers integram o álbum, todos muito bons, minha faixa favorita é Oops I Did IT Again, esse álbum é um dos melhores vale a pena ouvir.
  13. Apr 14, 2012
    10
    ...Baby One More Time and Britney have two completely different sounds, and this is the transition album. A few of the tracks hit the line right between dance and 90s pop perfectly, like Oops!...I Did It Again, Stronger and Crush, but others like Don't Come Knocking On My Door are perfectly horrendous. One could do without this album, but it definitely wouldn't bother one's ears.
  14. Mar 23, 2012
    10
    Nice album, a lot of beautiful balads, her most underrated album!
  15. andy
    Mar 30, 2006
    7
    so& so could have been better
  16. Jan 28, 2017
    7
    O Segundo album da Britney é um dos mais marcantes do pop, don't let me be the last to know é claramente minha faixa preferida, adoro stronger tambem.
  17. Sep 26, 2016
    10
    Absolutely incredible. Many influences, songs for dance and relax. A really great job. I think that 00's never be the same without this amazing pop album.
  18. anglrc
    Jan 3, 2004
    10
    yes britney is the best pop queen out there
  19. ericr
    Oct 4, 2004
    10
    oops i did it again is a great song!!! i have all briitneys albums I rate it a #10
  20. J.M.
    Mar 24, 2009
    7
    Some strong tracks, but the weak ones drag it down.
  21. gusm
    Jun 18, 2004
    10
    i loved it, it really made me enjoy her work
  22. LuisE.
    Aug 16, 2007
    10
    a excelent HP
  23. Dec 23, 2011
    10
    Honestly This Is A OK Album! Most Of The Songs Are OK The Best Songs Are Ops... I Did It Again, Stronger, Dont Go Knocking On My Door, & Lucky...
  24. Sep 19, 2011
    9
    Possibly Britney's -- as well as the pop industry's -- most unforgettable album to date. While tracks such as "Oops... I Did It Again" and "Lucky" are undeniably cheesy, the cheese is almost what makes them so rich and irresistible. However, "Stronger" is certainly pop gold, with its self-empowerment lyrics and references to Britney's biggest song to date, "...Baby One More Time".
  25. Sep 10, 2011
    10
    Many 1990's kids childhood is in these sweet, well-produced catchy songs. This album is so inspiring and this was our Queen's best period. 1,319,000 copies in one week... not even Gaga selling her album for 99 cents could beat her. Hà!
  26. Jul 14, 2012
    8
    Sweet and smooth with a touch of teen pop, composed of several slow songs. With a beautiful voice on "Where Are You Now," one of the strongest songs on the album, highlights for "Stronger," "Lucky," "Where Are You Now", "Girl In The Mirror" and "Dear Diary".
  27. May 29, 2012
    8
    Pretty Good Album!
    About 4 Songs Stick Out The Rest I Can Trash!
  28. Jul 19, 2013
    10
    Un album lleno de hits, letras inocentes y buen ritmo. es gracias a este album que logra ser una de las artistas más influyentes de los últimos años..
  29. Nov 27, 2013
    9
    "OIDIA" defined what Pop music sounded in the 00s, really catchy songs and beautiful ballads. "Can't Make You Love Me" and "Don't Let Me Be The Last To Know" are songs that stand out on this album. Britney definitely did it again.
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Spears' new album does sound exactly like her last one.
  2. It has the same combination of sweetly sentimental ballads and endearingly gaudy dance-pop that made One More Time.
  3. This time it's the cover of '(I Can't Get No) Satisfaction' that grabs the headlines. The surprisingly credible version limbers into life with Britney chatting away to her pals on the phone.