• Record Label: Jive
  • Release Date: May 16, 2000
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 374 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 42 out of 374

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. RandyB
    Jul 19, 2005
    6
    Having the distinct displeasure of hearing the first putrid thing released by Ms. Spears, I have to say while it still could use some ingenuity, this second outing is certainly a better album. The title track is infectious, and an excellent pop song, but like many moments when there are attempts to make Oops! an ongoing story of sorts, it has a cheesy moment that ruins the song. Other Having the distinct displeasure of hearing the first putrid thing released by Ms. Spears, I have to say while it still could use some ingenuity, this second outing is certainly a better album. The title track is infectious, and an excellent pop song, but like many moments when there are attempts to make Oops! an ongoing story of sorts, it has a cheesy moment that ruins the song. Other highlights include the singles Expand
  2. EllenB
    Oct 23, 2005
    9
    ...Baby One More Time and Britney have two completely different sounds, and this is the transition album. A few of the tracks hit the line right between dance and 90s pop perfectly, like Oops!...I Did It Again, Stronger and Crush, but others like Don't Come Knocking On My Door are perfectly horrendous. One could do without this album, but it definitely wouldn't bother one's ears.
  3. MauroA
    Mar 13, 2005
    10
    Oops! it´s the best album of pop of the last decade!
  4. EnzoP.
    Oct 31, 2008
    7
    A nice europop record with a lot of sweet ballads. Better than the first one.
  5. MikeD.
    Aug 19, 2001
    9
    Pure Pop, but what can you say ? It's hard not to enjoy it. Even if you're not proud of it
  6. SaIroS
    Oct 25, 2005
    10
    Definitively one of the best pop albums of all time!
  7. ChrisE
    Oct 17, 2006
    9
    Britney Spears is a pop music superstar. Her debut album ...Baby One More Time showcased the singer as a formidable talent, but her second record Oops!...I Did It Again solidified the buxom blonde's status as THE female pop star to beat. The title track remains the biggest hit on here, and deservedly so--like its predecessor, the Grammy-nominated No. 1 Spears debut hit "...Baby One Britney Spears is a pop music superstar. Her debut album ...Baby One More Time showcased the singer as a formidable talent, but her second record Oops!...I Did It Again solidified the buxom blonde's status as THE female pop star to beat. The title track remains the biggest hit on here, and deservedly so--like its predecessor, the Grammy-nominated No. 1 Spears debut hit "...Baby One More Time," "Oops!...I Did It Again" is as superb as a pop single can get. The real problem here, aside from the horrific ballads that make up the latter half of the record, is Britney's once-decent singing abilities are so overproduced by the disc's hyped production it's almost hard to realize Britney is human by the vocals she has provided. The first half of Oops!...I Did It Again is great but the ballads (aside from "Don't" and "Lucky") are as sappy as most teenage love is. Whether or not you like her, one thing remains for sure: Britney Spears delivered one of the most solid pop discs ever recorded with Oops!...I Did It Again. Expand
  8. ZaneS.
    Aug 21, 2008
    9
    Definitely my fav. Britney album. The title track is great, the singles are good, but my favorite song here is "One Kiss From You." It's a typical pop song, but it's so catchy I can't get enough of it. The ballads don't stand out, but "Where Are You Now" is as good as Britney ballad will be, and "When Your Eyes Say It" is a catchy, slow, whispering little number.
  9. RuanH.
    Aug 12, 2007
    8
    An excellent pop album, but little credit goes to the artist... this is a thoroughly manufactured record by outstanding producers. Britney simply adds a little touch of golden dust and sweetness to it. Best track, "Stronger".
  10. WestB.
    Jun 16, 2009
    8
    A good album, but is cheesy at times. Lets go song by song. The starter track which is the same name of the album is one of her "iconic" tracks and is one of the best on the album. The next track is Stronger. Personally, this is the best Britney song ever. It talks about overcoming bad relationships. Don't go Knockin on my Door is kind of like Stronger Part 2 when the guy wants her A good album, but is cheesy at times. Lets go song by song. The starter track which is the same name of the album is one of her "iconic" tracks and is one of the best on the album. The next track is Stronger. Personally, this is the best Britney song ever. It talks about overcoming bad relationships. Don't go Knockin on my Door is kind of like Stronger Part 2 when the guy wants her back. At the end of the song Britney and her friend are discussing out she is never satisfied and fades into the cover of the Stones' hit (I Can't Get No) Satisfaction. This is one of the better songs on the album and seems to have a nice tune to it. Then comes the ballad "Don't Let Me Be the Last To Know". The song (written by Shania Twain) is just a good song and there really isn't much of another way to put it. Then comes What U See (Is What You Get). This song really hardly has a meaning but also has a phone call from Britney's boyfriend talking about how they saw a movie about a girl who had everything. But she wasn't happy. The next song, Lucky is exactly about that. Another great song on the album. One Kiss From You is an okay song. Where Are You Now is another one of the album's ballads. Which the song sounds like it should be at the end of a movie. Can't Make You Love Me is a simple song about a girl with a crush on a guy. When Your Eyes Say It, is also just one of the okay songs on the album. In the last song, Dear Diary the saying "Saved the best for last" definitely doesn't apply. This song is just... a big cheesy, bad song. Really makes the album not have a 9/10. Best song: Stronger Worst song: Dear Diary. Expand
  11. Oct 27, 2011
    10
    ...Baby One More Time made Britney a worldwide pop-star, but Oops!... I Did It Again made her the supreme Princess of Pop. Maybe is too similar to the previous album, but Britney stills can do great with pop music. The beats and the lyrics were great for those times (and they still good for these times). This album is one of her best works at all.
  12. Feb 20, 2013
    6
    Spears' sophomore album, which was critically one of her best, and featured the self-titled single that everyone and their mothers know. The album is headlined by such songs as Oops...I did it again, Stronger, and Lucky, with each one reaching the top 15 in the US Billboard 100 charts. Though those songs were popular, and I think they are catchy, the album does have its flaws. (I can't getSpears' sophomore album, which was critically one of her best, and featured the self-titled single that everyone and their mothers know. The album is headlined by such songs as Oops...I did it again, Stronger, and Lucky, with each one reaching the top 15 in the US Billboard 100 charts. Though those songs were popular, and I think they are catchy, the album does have its flaws. (I can't get no) Satisfaction is a word-for-word cover of the original Rolling Stones song, and it just comes off as awful personally. Also, the last track on the album, Dear Diary, is very, very stupid, in my opinion. Buy it to relive some nostalgia, but be aware this is the early 2000's, and bubblegum pop is just as cheesy as you thought it was. Expand
  13. Apr 10, 2016
    10
    Simplesmente o melhor álbum da Britney, não tem como não gostar dessa sonoridade pop do fim dos 90's início dos 00's. Além do mais as baladas dele são simplesmente perfeitas, o ritmo, as letras, a voz...
  14. Jun 21, 2014
    10
    O segundo álbum de estúdio da princesinha do Pop, impecável, faixas perfeitas, sendo algumas com uma bela mensagem, vários covers integram o álbum, todos muito bons, minha faixa favorita é Oops I Did IT Again, esse álbum é um dos melhores vale a pena ouvir.
  15. Apr 14, 2012
    10
    ...Baby One More Time and Britney have two completely different sounds, and this is the transition album. A few of the tracks hit the line right between dance and 90s pop perfectly, like Oops!...I Did It Again, Stronger and Crush, but others like Don't Come Knocking On My Door are perfectly horrendous. One could do without this album, but it definitely wouldn't bother one's ears.
  16. May 24, 2011
    6
    Britney's first two albums show just how manufactured she was. Britney was always great. She got amazing with In The Zone and then on... Although there are some gems on this album like 'Stronger' , 'Can't make you love me' , 'Dont Go Knocking On My Door' and 'What You See Is What U Get' it cant help but be dragged down by the filler.
  17. Mar 23, 2012
    10
    Nice album, a lot of beautiful balads, her most underrated album!
  18. andy
    Mar 30, 2006
    7
    so& so could have been better
  19. John
    Aug 18, 2004
    0
    HA! no
  20. tomb
    Oct 21, 2004
    1
    symptoms of a sick sick society
  21. HanaS
    Apr 23, 2004
    1
    Breaks new ground for horrible and saddens me so
  22. Vixi
    Aug 11, 2004
    5
    The best songs on this album all have exactly the same formula...basically the 2 verses then a different middle bit and then the end chorus which is the original chorus repeated about 3 times with the middle bit played under it. The rest is either too mushy or just not good enough.
  23. MelissaO
    Sep 24, 2005
    0
    She looks like a guy in drag
  24. CabinMan
    Mar 29, 2006
    0
    Britney Spears is a total pile, and so are her CD's... all of them. Now she's trailer trash, good for her.She's got humungous things... its disgusting. I swear I can hear them flapping at her concerts... I can hear them over her God awful music!
  25. luis
    Dec 23, 2004
    2
    2 if that. my god i hate pop
  26. May 4, 2015
    1
    Katy Perry bursts back onto the scene with her amazing second album that is full to the grim of the tongue-in-cheek atmosphere that got herkhkkjhjghjbnnnnn
  27. Jan 28, 2017
    7
    O Segundo album da Britney é um dos mais marcantes do pop, don't let me be the last to know é claramente minha faixa preferida, adoro stronger tambem.
  28. Sep 26, 2016
    10
    Absolutely incredible. Many influences, songs for dance and relax. A really great job. I think that 00's never be the same without this amazing pop album.
  29. anglrc
    Jan 3, 2004
    10
    yes britney is the best pop queen out there
  30. ericr
    Oct 4, 2004
    10
    oops i did it again is a great song!!! i have all briitneys albums I rate it a #10
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Spears' new album does sound exactly like her last one.
  2. It has the same combination of sweetly sentimental ballads and endearingly gaudy dance-pop that made One More Time.
  3. This time it's the cover of '(I Can't Get No) Satisfaction' that grabs the headlines. The surprisingly credible version limbers into life with Britney chatting away to her pals on the phone.