Opposites - Biffy Clyro
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Feb 15, 2013
    70
    Ultimately, Biffy Clyro's gift as a band is to craft songs that balance immediately catchy hooks with complex arrangements that only help to reinforce the drama of the pop moment. Thankfully, there are plenty of these dichotomous yet rapturous moments on Opposites.
  2. Mar 13, 2013
    60
    Fans of Biffy Clyro will dive headlong into these 20 new songs and embrace them as feverishly as anything the band have previously released, but that’s not to say that this record isn’t without its flaws.
  3. Feb 8, 2013
    80
    Their sixth album has everything you should want from a rock group: riffs, daring ambition, big choruses and a bit with bagpipes in it. [Mar 2013, p.103]
  4. Jan 24, 2013
    80
    Heartfelt and brilliantly executed, it's a creative peak. [Feb 2013, p.89]
  5. 70
    By the time you reach the halfway point and prepare for CD2, you realise Opposites is not, as feared, an unedited expanse of rock-band mind splurge, but two albums' worth of well-constructed songs.
  6. Feb 1, 2013
    70
    The double album is a difficult thing to pull off, but considering the anticipation before the release of Biffy Clyro’s sixth LP, the trio have done a fine job.
  7. Jan 24, 2013
    50
    What we get is Britain's best proper rock band doing what they do until we're numb to what makes them special.
  8. Jan 24, 2013
    60
    Opposites may not be the career-defining masterpiece it's intended as, but it's certainly not the pompous disaster it could have been: it has failings, but not the ones you might expect.
  9. Feb 26, 2013
    80
    It's the perfect addition to their ever idiosyncratic and unpredictable repertoire. [Apr 2013, p.86]
  10. Mar 6, 2013
    70
    Opposites is ultimately a surprisingly immediate and rewarding listen, compensating in consistency for what it lacks in depth.
  11. Jan 24, 2013
    70
    It's a solid, engaging and high-calibre Biffy Clyro album. And that's no bad thing.
  12. 40
    There's precious little of the experimentation or variety you might expect.
  13. Jan 28, 2013
    60
    Across 80 minutes there's the sense they might have spread themselves too thinly.
  14. Most of disc one consists of ponderous, blustering nonsense, with a black chandelier used as a metaphor for depression. Disc two shows more promise.
  15. Jan 25, 2013
    60
    If you're already a Biffy Clyro fan, Opposites might be your idea of a masterpiece. If you're new to Biffy, it'll just give you a headache.
  16. 90
    A bona fide, big, stadium-pleasing epic. [Mar 2013, p.95]
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 43 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 13
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 13
  3. Negative: 3 out of 13
  1. Feb 22, 2013
    10
    Every Biffy album has been a 'grower' for me and Opposites is no different.
    On first listen it was a good album, but not as good as their
    Every Biffy album has been a 'grower' for me and Opposites is no different.
    On first listen it was a good album, but not as good as their last, on second listen it was better than i first thought and probably on a par with their last. By the third i was hooked and it was easily their best album yet.

    Not one song do i skip when listening to this album, and i usually do find one or two on an album i tend to skip past. Each one i either find myself humming along to or, nobody is around, singing out loud.

    Easilymy favourite album right now.
    Full Review »
  2. Jan 29, 2013
    9
    This album shocked me. I like Biffy Clyro but they've never been among my favorite bands. I've always felt that their output has beenThis album shocked me. I like Biffy Clyro but they've never been among my favorite bands. I've always felt that their output has been inconsistent, ranging from fantastic (Infinity Land) to mediocre (Puzzle) to poor (Vertigo of Bliss). The thought of a double album from such a hit or miss band was frankly terrifying. I envisioned a bloated mess stuffed full of filler. Amazingly, Opposites is utterly brilliant! It's easily Biffy Clyro's best album in my opinion. Making a 22 track album with no bad songs is an almost impossible feat but the band totally knocked it out of the park. It's also one of the most emotionally stirring records I've heard for quite some time. Surprisingly excellent stuff for the Clyro! Full Review »
  3. Feb 2, 2013
    8
    Biffy Clyro was, from 2002 to 2004, a first-class alternative/progressive rock band. Even though their first three albums were very differentBiffy Clyro was, from 2002 to 2004, a first-class alternative/progressive rock band. Even though their first three albums were very different from each other, they could superbly express their sadness, anger and happiness with dull timbres, fast tone attacks, large timing variations, dissonant notes and impressive melodies. Nevertheless, as anyone can tell, such things hardly make a living for professional musicians. It is necessary to hide the sharp edges if you're aiming for sucess. Then, from 2007 until now, they turned out into a pop/rock band; and that's what "Opposites" is all about: a tender pop/rock album that may please FM radio listeners. But still Biffy Clyro shines: all the songs in this album are catchy and amazingly designed. Hands down, the second disc is the best thing they've made since "Puzzle" (2007). Neil Simon and the Johnston brothers are so talented that they can't make it go wrong. So, if you are already a Biffy fan, there's no way you're not going to love this album. On the other hand, "Opposites" feels like they're still spoiling their talent, and I'm still unsure if it is preferable to be on the top of the Billboard sellings rather than on the top of the best rock bands of all times given they're capable of both and, so far, it has been a dichotomy. Full Review »